We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel - and the management listen!”
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Reading
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A great hotel - and the management listen!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here for one night towards the end of March due to a special rate found via Hotels.com (Bed and breakfast in a double room for £69!). It is easy to find and parking is underneath the hotel with plenty of space.

The front of house staff were very welcoming into their spacious hotel, explaining the facilities etc. The standard double room was of a decent size and had everything we might need, including a desk chair and a small armchair. Unfortunately, one of the bedside lamps seemed to have a tear in the shade which I didn't think was great (so why have I given it a high rating? Read on...). But I suppose it's in use most days.

The bar is quite a large area which didn't have many customers. Not a problem for us as we just wanted a relaxing drink. The member of staff taking drinks orders seemed to ignore us, but the barman was super friendly and very jovial, remembering our drinks order. Breakfast is a buffet affair and was plentiful with stacks of choice.

So, why did I give the hotel a high rating, despite these shortcomings? Soon after arriving home, I received a normal customer satisfaction survey from Hilton which I never believed anyone read before now. I mentioned all of the above quibbles and in return, I received a personal reply from a member of the management team addressing the concerns and explaining how they'd been dealt with. For this I think that many other hotels etc could learn a lesson.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The Teacher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and although you had a few shortfalls during your stay, these were rectified by our personal touch to ensure your next visit is better.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    624
    141
    53
    38
See reviews for
302
612
77
551
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here the night before a friends wedding.. I was at first annoyed, not with the hotel but with the satnav as the postcode given took us through a housing estate to the back of the hotel which you are unable to enter though, however we eventually found our way to the front and on arriving into the lobby it was a stunning and pleasant place to be. (I have to say though that the location was not as expected being on the edge of a housing estate.)

My normal choice of hotel when simply taking a quick break with the wife is the Premier Inns which I love. The room at the Hilton was lovely and clean but a bit to 'business' like (cold feeling) if that makes sense, for a trip with the wife. What I love about the Premier Inns is the coziness of the rooms.. I put this down to the different markets that each of the hotels are aimed at I suppose.. Other than that the room was immaculate and as someone with o.c.d with cleanliness I was impressed..

The food we had in Bar K was lovely with the only criticism being the price.. Again aimed at a different clientele but something that would unfortunately make me think before booking again at a Hilton hotel as felt a little priced out..

The room price was great though at £81 for bed and breakfast in one of their queen rooms.. The breakfast was beautiful...

A great hotel with friendly professional staff.. If on a business trip or on some other professional level I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I was pleased to read that you and your wife had a lovely stay. We do appreciate your comments about the price of food in our Bar K and this is something we will endeavour to look into.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast,Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here for a trip to Legoland and felt that this was the friendliest Hilton we have ever stayed in. The Front of house team were particularly excellent, especially Rabin, who took a genuiene interest in our stay and was very keen to assist in any way possible. Throughout the hotel you were acknowledged as a guest by every staff member you met. The hotel is very modern and stylish and all the facilites and services work well and it is also spotlessly clean throughout. As we were staying here for leisure, reception offered us a family upgrade which we availed of on our 2nd night - a pizza, movie, popcorn and drinks in your room for £20 which was well received and good value. Breakfast also offered a great selection and my 10 year especially enjoyed the self-service fresh pancake machine which I haven't come across before! If you are on a room-only basis you also purchase pre-paid breakfast vouchers at check-in which saved us £6 per adult per day, so worth considering. Large free underground park and although a little bit out of the city centre its fine if you have your own car or taxi and its just a few minutes off the M4. We also took the train into London and these are very regular from Reading station, ours only took 25 minutes to Paddington, however would recommend taking a taxi to the station as station parking seems to be as expensive as Heathrow! Would certainly recommend and return here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I was pleased to read that you and your family had a lovely stay with us. We appreciate you acknowledging a member of staff, I will be sure to pass on your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The best stay I had in Reading. The property is two years old and provides modern facilities. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. The restaurant is very good. Service and courtesy tops this hotel. We are moving our corporate business to this hotel. Location is admittedly not ideal to center of town but everything else overshadow this minor thing.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed for 2 days as I came to run the Reading Half Marathon. Lovely clean hotel - spotless accommodation.All the staff are very well trained- polite & cheerful.
Food is crisp - & tasty & healthy. The only gripe - why no Free WiFi all around the hotel ?. £15 to connect is excessive. My guests at www.badhamfarm.co.uk - holiday cottages in Cornwall get free WiFi & we area minnow compared to Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadhamJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

We appreciate your comments about supplying free Wi-Fi to our guests and this is something we are currently looking into.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey-england
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Heard good things of this hotel, so thought we would try it out as a stopover to cheltenham.
We arrived early, but there was no problem with checking in. The room was spacious & bright & clean, & the whole Hotel still has that newness about it. Even though they had 2 coachloads in for dinner there was no problem with our dlning arrangements & the food & the service was excellent. Very friendly staff especially in the restaurant. The pool is not massive but very clean.
Overall a very pleasant experience & will definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for high floor away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terreus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Just returned from my 4th stay at this hotel. Used it as a base for going to London and also went to Oxford.

The management are really doing something good here when nearly all the staff go out of their way to say 'hello' to you. Something many other hotels could learn to do.

Nice to see the person on the door again too - he even gets the lift for you and always with a smile.

Certainly will return. The breakfast is excellent, it really is.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Sussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to to once again complete a review on Tripadvisor for the Hilton Reading.

I am delighted to see that we continue to exceed your expectations during your frequent stays with us at the Hilton Reading and I am certain that over the coming months we will continue this trend.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,274 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
524 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
985 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0.6 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Property: Hilton Reading
Address: Lundy House Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reading
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing