We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Reading
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
taffsontour
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

booked overnight stay for short break - excellent staff make you feel welcome. clean rooms with good facilties - shame i couldnt stay longer!!!! will book again and recommend to anyone looking for a hotel in the reading area

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freelander15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely

Aimee Ash
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    598
    135
    51
    33
See reviews for
282
579
72
515
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melksham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is of a high standard, very popular with local companies. The bedrooms are of a hi standard, very comfortable and well maintained. My only gripe would be that you do not benefit from free wifi in your room. You do in the up bloc areas, but there is a significant charge to connect in your room, which in this day and age I feel is pretty poor especially when you are paying over £100 for a room. Everything else would lead me to recommend the hotel though

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I note your comments regarding complimentary internet access and have passed this onto our Front of House Manager.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely

Aimee Ash
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Good rooms, comfortable bed and bed linen. The room and en suit were very clean and the air con worked a treat for both hot and cold. Decent room facilities and a plus to have a decent iron and full sized ironing board permanantly in the room. Good channel availability on tv. Bar food ok but restaurant meal a little disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hunt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I have noted your comments about your meal in the Larder Restaurant and will address this with our food and beverage team to ensure this is rectified in the future.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Aimee Ash
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed one night on Saturday 13th April 2013. Two adults and our five year old son.
As soon as we got to the hotel we knew our stay would be great.
Greated by a very friendly female member of staff at the desk who made a real fuss over our son which he loved especially as he was given an activity pack, cookies and a drink . Very polite and helpful. Just what we wanted from our first Hilton stay.
From the off the Hotel was so well presented, well decorated and spacious.
Our room was extremely clean and tidy, tried to find a fault but couldn't.
We were complemented with a free film which was fantastic customer service.
We had a bit of a fight with the in room mini bar and were immediately contacted by reception who informed us that our bill was racking up due to moving things around haha (partner was putting some of our food in the fridge). Reception saw the funny side and there was no additions to our bill.
The bed was very comfortable, so was my son's single bed which they had put in our room.
Complementey tea/coffee was well stocked.
The bathroom was clean and tidy, no problems at all.
Plenty of storage room for our things.
Iron and board supplied in the room which is a great plus.
A very quite, peaceful nights sleep. No noise watsoever. Bed and pillows comfy.
We woke early (7:30) for breakfast and were suprised that we were three of only 10 people eating at the time even though there is room for a couple of hundred i would guess.
The breakfast was far superior to any hotel I have stayed in before.
Where do I start, fruit, cereal, pastries, bread/toast etc etc (and I mean etc). Juices, tea, coffee. Waiters on hand to top up as soon as you were empty.
Then there was the cooked breakfast. There was soooo much. Bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs (not the powdered rubbish) fried eggs, mushrooms, black pudding, beans ..... the list goes on.
Check out was quick and simple.
Oh yeah... parking was free and plentiful.
I must say, without a shadow of a doubt, the best hotel I have ever stayed in.
If we are in this area again we will not be looking at any other hotel because they would not be able to compete with HILTON READING.
Ideal for Legoland.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ma070379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff to be polite, friendly and helpful. I am also very pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast here at the hotel, and that you found the selection to be plentifull.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
Aimee Ash
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Great service, we were given free champagne at dinner for my boyfriend's birthday. Good breakfast and really nice room. Very weird location (in a new residential area 2 miles out of reading). We had a 3 course evening meal and 2 free movies included in our deal and the dinner completely superseded expectations, although I wouldn't have paid full price. Great choice of movies too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
Aimee Ash
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my family so we could visit Legoland, Windsor. Got a fabulous deal for a two night stay and tickets for park entry on the Saturday. The hotel was everything you'd expect from Hilton. The room was spacious to comfortably house the three of us, one double bed and a single roll away bed. This hotel is brand new and built adjacent to a very attractive new housing estate called 'Kennet Island'. There is a piazza in the middle of the housing estate (2min walk) with a mini-market, gym etc. It is handy for the motorway links to windsor, probably about a 30 min drive to legoland but we had no problem with this. If you're not planning on taking your car I wouldn't recommend it. We got to legoland for 9am and missed all the queues to get in. The gates to the park opened at 9:30 and you could have a wander round the shops. Rides don't start till 10am. The hotel has parking underneath, free for guests. Your children get a welcome pack which is a nice touch. All in all, we had a lovely stay here and I would definately go there again if I was visiting the area. Legoland was brilliant too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Trinity_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
Aimee Ash
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Lovely Hotel, checked in reception welcoming us back, 'nice touch' but Hilton Honours between their hotels welcome customers differently? Other Hiltons offer complimentary water in your room,free paper of your choice, complimentary drink as a welcome but not here? But mustn't complain. Hotel spotlessly clean.
Went to book evening meal and use our Tastecard because on the website it says it's available Sat nights, only to be advised that the Hilton is trying to change the website information and it's not available anymore, so cancelled reservation and drove into Reading which is 4 mins away,
Easy parking in Reading and plenty of restaurants to choose from.
Cannot fault the hotel, easy parking, great breakfast with staff being very helpful and lovely room with toiletries it's a good location for getting around, have booked a return in July for 2 nights, would recommend a stay. Booked 2 duck down pillows in advance and that made our sleep a lot better.

Room Tip: Just be aware if there is a wedding party, noise from event travels and can impare your sleep. unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I have noted your comments, particularly about the HHonors benefits, and will ensure that both our Front of House Manager and our Food and Beverage Manager are aware of them.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
Aimee Ash
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Property: Hilton Reading
Address: Lundy House Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reading
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing