We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel - food and drink overpriced”
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Reading
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely modern hotel - food and drink overpriced”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a lovely stay, room was great. Spa - small and a little disappointing, massages were ok, glad we managed to get 25% on the day. Food - overpriced extremely, £7 for a malibu and coke!!! Also took 45 mins for a pizza to arrive. We were going to ask for money off, but they brought crisps before it arrived and cake afterwards, we were stuffed but felt we should eat it to get our monies worth (as silly as it sounds) The room was very pleasant though and I would stay here again despite the food and spa flaws.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Annie M

Thank you for posting a review on the hotel and for leaving positive comments.

In terms of the pricing and the not so positive, I appreciate your honesty and kindly assure you that comments will be looked at by colleagues with the view of making changes where possible. Should I be able to help with further specifics, please drop me a line on aimee.louiseash@hilton.com, when I will be delighted to investigate and respond further to you.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.

With kind regards

Aimee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    621
    140
    52
    38
See reviews for
298
606
76
542
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel.

Check in was easy, the concierge took my bag to the room which was great as I was laden down with luggage.

Room was clean, bed comfortable and proper feather pillows, always a bonus. Bathroom was modern and clean.

The only meal I ate was breakfast. Good selection and the porridge was really nice which makes a change.

All in all a good hotel for Business travellers looking for some comfort while away.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheScottishCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear TheScottishCat

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel, your comments were a pleasure to read. We are pleased to see your stay was a pleasant one.

I look forward to another opportunity when we can welcome you back once more.

If I can assist you further before then I'd be happy to hear from you and ask that you contact me on the below e-mail address.

In the meantime, I wish you a pleasant week and remain for now with kind regards

Aimee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Reading or Henley. Very good location, great accommodation and certainly best service. We had to move room at 9pm because we could hear the music coming from the restaurant area where a birthday party was taking place, and the staff was extremely helpful, friendly and patient. this make the transition into the new room very easy and seamless.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Simpleviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Simpleviva

Thank you for your review on the Hilton Reading and for your kind words. Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I was delighted to read that you found our team members to be helpful and patient, and were able to assist you with your request.

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.


With kind regards

Aimee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Easily accessible and quiet location. Secure covered parking. Comfortable fully equipped rooms and good facilities but excessive charge for wifi connection. Nice restaurant and good food but slightly slow service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Hugh B

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts and experiences of your recent stay at the Hilton Reading.

In terms of the pricing and the not so positive, I appreciate your honesty and kindly assure you that comments will be looked at by colleagues with the view of making changes where possible. Should I be able to help with further specifics, please drop me a line on aimee.louiseash@hilton.com, when I will be delighted to investigate and respond further to you.

With kind regards
Aimee Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a very good new hotel with lovely comfortable rooms. The breakfast is also very good (one of the best I have experienced). The only issues is that it is a bit out of town, but you can get to town very easily and the main stadium is very close by. If you can get a nice deal then it is good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_scot_in_exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear a_scot_in_exile

Thank you for posting such a positive comment following your stay at the Hilton Reading.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your Hilton Breakfast, and that it was in your opinion, one of the best you have had.

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Fab rooms, free parking, you need a car as no where close to walk to.
Good breakfast
Room was made up as double when we arrived, given complimentary bar drinks whilst housekeeping made up as a twin.
Best night sleep my mum has had for ages, mattresses, linen and pillows excellent

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvados1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Calvados1

Thank you for your review on the Hilton Reading.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read.

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Booked afternoon tea and spa . Tea fine and really appreciated the added attraction and large spider complete with giant web between the light and window! As for the spa - 2 seats for the entire spa - changing rooms dirty - hairdryers melted. Overall left a lot to be desired but no doubt will get the usual platitudes in reply from management

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elliott56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Elliott56

Thank you for posting a review on the hotel.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion and it is very regrettable that we did not have the opportunity to speak with you before you left us.

I am of the understanding that a letter will be sent to shortly regarding your recent visit.

Should I be able to help with further specifics, please drop me a line on aimee.louiseash@hilton.com, when I will be delighted to investigate and respond further to you.

With kind regards

Aimee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
507 reviews
1.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
984 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
1.8 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Property: Hilton Reading
Address: Lundy House Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reading
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing