We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless”
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Reading
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Mu husband and I had to stay in Reading for a few days and based on the reviews for the Hilton on Kennett Island we checked in there. The experience was quite faultless. Staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant was really good value. I can't say more - just a great all round experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Vic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Vic S

Thank you for posting such a positive comment following your stay at the Hilton Reading.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read.I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be faultless and will be sure to pass your comments onto the team.

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    612
    138
    52
    37
See reviews for
289
595
76
535
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hilton provincial hotels can he hit and miss, but this Reading hotel is relatively modern and very pleasant.

The rooms are big and airy (I have only stayed in a deluxe room), have very effective and controllable heading, with a good shower. The internet connection was relatively fast, at least 1 Mbps and generally running at 3-8 Mbps.

The bar is always busy with plenty of chatter which is a nice change from the dead bars you sometimes get at hotels and the food in the restaurant has always been varied and really tasty in my experience.

However, the location requires a taxi to get to most places and so I haven't given 5 stars on that basis. However, it does have a pedal cycle shed if you want to cycle into town (I might do that come the Summer!).

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear KirkbyTraveller

Thank you for your review on Hilton Reading.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I was delighted to read that you enjoy your visits to our hotel outlets.

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Amazing one night spa break, staff were welcoming friendly and helpful, customer service was top class. Rooms were pleasant and clean, food was beautiful. I am often away in hotels on at least a monthly basis but this has to be the best in a long long time.
I thought it was superb value for money but if I had had to pay full price then I think I would be writing a slightly different review.

But for now 5*****

Room Tip: Make the most of the facilities and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Clare C

Thank you for posting such a positive comment following your stay at the Hilton Reading.

We are pleased to see your stay was a pleasant one and look forward to another opportunity when we can welcome you back once more.

I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable visit and that you found it to be such great value for money.

With kind regards

Ashraf Nabih
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A very warm and friendly welcome, all hotel staff were first class, food was top quality and would recommend to anyone. Spa was a little disappointing but the rest of the hotel totally made up for it. Customer service is hard for a lot of people but this hotel is spot on.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Claire C

Thank you for your review on Hilton Reading.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read.

Thank you for your comments in relation to the Escape Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Amazing one night spa break, clean relaxed hotel, helpful staff, fab rooms.. Great food and drink.. Hotel in great location for rugby stadium and reading town centre not far .. Lovely pool steam n sauna

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Yolanda K

Thank you for posting such a positive comment following your stay at the Hilton Reading.

We are pleased to see your stay was a pleasant one and look forward to another opportunity when we can welcome you back once more.

If I can assist you further before then I'd be happy to hear from you and ask that you contact me on the below e-mail address.

In the meantime, I wish you a pleasant week and remain for now with kind regards

Ashraf Nabih
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have stayed here numerous times and its always been very good. Over the xmas period it became almost unbearable. The restaurant was closed and the food was not very good. I understand that there was a xmas party etc but we were left feeling forgotten. However it usually is very good and wouldn't prevent me going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womblefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear womblefur

Thank you for posting a review on the hotel and for leaving positive comments.

In terms of thenot so positive, I appreciate your honesty and kindly assure you that comments will be looked at by colleagues with the view of making changes where possible. I was extremely disappointed to read that you left the hotel feeling forgotten.

Should I be able to help with further specifics, please drop me a line on aimee.louiseash@hilton.com, when I will be delighted to investigate and respond further to you.

I look forward to having another opportunity hopefully, to welcome you back to the Hilton Reading hotel and until then remain with kind regards.

Aimee Louise Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Visited the Hilton Reading on Saturday 25th January as a birthday present for my mum.
On arrival we were made aware that there was a party taking place downstairs that was likely to go on until 1.30/2am however if we were to experience any noise to contact reception. We explained to the receptionist that we would prefer a quiet room to start with to avoid any moving around later in the evening, and were immediately moved.
The room was to a very high standard and very comfortable. Breakfast which was served until 11am was also lovely. The hotel was spotlessly clean and I will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineSarah8191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear NadineSarah8191

Thank you for your review on Hilton Reading.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I do hope that your mum enjoyed her birthday treat!

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.

Kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Property: Hilton Reading
Address: Lundy House Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reading
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing