We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Reading
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hotel was excellent. Quite new - facilities were good. Awesome 30mbit internet. Highly recommended. The only thing I didn't like was that you can't open the windows at all - which seems to be a trend in hotels now.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Chrolm

Thank you for posting such a positive comment following your stay at the Hilton Reading.

We are pleased to see your stay was a pleasant one and look forward to another opportunity when we can welcome you back once more.

If I can assist you further before then I'd be happy to hear from you and ask that you contact me on the below e-mail address.

In the meantime, I wish you a pleasant week and remain for now with kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,265 - 1,271 of 1,944 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hilton reading 2nd time on a legoland deal this time. Breakfast lovely as usual. Didn't go for dinner because I had a taste card which they no longer accept but other hilton hotels accept? Staff helpful as usual . Will def return

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Sike A

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor following your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable return visit, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Should you need anything, please do not hesitate to contact me on the below.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is a new Hilton, very modern and with the room facilities you would expect. The menu in-room and restaurant is also very typical Hilton - not that that is a bad thing, it pretty much covers all the bases with regards diet and courses. There is not a gym in the Hotel but there is one attached that is available for guests to use. All in all a nice hotel with good staff/customer service levels all around.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, although rooms towards the rear of the hotel (away from the dual carriageway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Martin S

Thank you for your review on Hilton Reading.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read.

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.

With kindest regards

Aimee Louise Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Hilton as a group from 9-11 May. The hotel is modern, friendly and clean with great facilities. We had a hot buffet booked in one of the meeting rooms on Saturday night as there were 17 of us and the staff were so efficient and accommodating especially with our last minute change of plans. The food we were served was delicious. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone and I will certainly be staying here again in the future. I would just like to thank you again for the surprise bottles of bubbly - it was a really lovely gesture which we all greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Bosweet

Thank you for posting such a positive comment following your stay at the Hilton Reading.

We are pleased to see your stay was a pleasant one and look forward to another opportunity when we can welcome you back once more.

If I can assist you further before then I'd be happy to hear from you and ask that you contact me on the below e-mail address.

In the meantime, I wish you a pleasant week and remain for now with kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Spent one night here following a Eurovision party.

Arrived and parked in the underground car park without too much trouble. As with all underground car parks the biggest problem you'll encounter are the pillars and as such, some of the spaces are tight even for an family saloon. Space is limited and some of them were blocked off further limiting space.

Reception is bright and airy and we were checked in with minimal fuss. We were given a room on the first floor looking out over the front of the hotel. This is the quieter side as the back overlooks the A33 so there will some traffic noise.

The room itself was bright and the floor to celling windows help make the room larger than it was. Being new, the room was very clean and not a sign of the usual signs of wear hotels inevitably gather. The bed was comfy and meant a good nights sleep. The bed is also open underneath which encouraged proper cleaning and also means that if you drop anything you can see where it rolls/bounces to... The A/C disappointed slightly as it didn't go low enough, meaning the room got too warm to sleep later.

Our bathroom was again spotless with a combined bath/shower. Here there was a letdown. While the water was hot, the shower head was more of a mist than a spray. As such rinsing off shampoo or shower gel. I'm all for saving water but the guest should drive this, not the hotel. It reminds me too much of the California low-flo heads of the late 90's.

Our rate also included breakfast. As with most hotels it falls into the all-you-can-eat buffet made up of usual sausage, bacon, eggs etc along with a more continental style with cold cuts, cheese, fruits. There is also cereal and unusually, porridge all made up along with sultanas to mix in. Makes a change from packets of Quakers. The hot food was hot and cooked properly. The pastries were fresh and actually looked like what they should, again most unusual.

Overall a good stay but the shower heads need to be improved.

Room Tip: The quieter room face east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Darren WH

I was delighted to read your review, following your recent visit to the Hilton Reading.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read.

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Yes it's clean. We have only just checked in and are discourage to learn breakfast isn't included (£12 extra per person per day) and there's no free Wi-Fi in the room (and extra £14). The room hadn't been checked before we came in and we're wishing we'd booked somewhere else.

Room Tip: Sorry, only a partial review of initial impressions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJA100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear LJA100

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor.

I would really appreciate it if you could contact me on either 0118 916 9004 or aimee.louiseash@hilton.com to discuss your review.

Thank you in advance.

Aimee Louise Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here too many times to count, always clean, courteous staff who get to know you, good location for driving into Reading or M4 Corridor. Good modern rooms with wifi, but mobile phone signal seems really bad and non-existent in some rooms. Pool, sauna, steam room and small gym, also used by local members, but never too busy when I've been.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdp77361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear MDP7761

Thank you for your review on Hilton Reading.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read.

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback and I look forwared to welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again.

Kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 31 in Reading
576 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
1.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#7 of 31 in Reading
2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Address: Lundy House Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reading
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £72 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing