We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds aren't up to Hilton Standards”
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Reading
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is nice and clean and the staff are very friendly. The location is ok unless you need to be in Central London as the M4 morning and evening traffic is pretty bad. The worst thing was the bed. It was not good by any standard much less Hilton. I much prefer the Bracknell Hilton over this one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear shawtech

Thank you for posting a review on the hotel and for leaving positive comments.

In terms of the not so positive, your time permitting, would you kindly advise me of your date of stay and room number if indeed you can recall it which will aid me in identifying the room occupied.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post a review, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise
aimee.louiseash@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,862)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Reading
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,862 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed two nights last weekend. Very new and modern, if you like modern. My wife and I do. Room and food very good. Staff very attentive and friendly. Lovely bar area and drinks not too pricey considering it is a Hilton. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear P R

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Hilton Reading. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and I am pleased to see that your comments supports this.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again!


With kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here because work selected this hotel as their standard hotels for visitors. It is very nice and I highly recommend it It is a very well appointed, modern (not a chintz, stereotypical British), spacious hotel. After staying in London where the rooms are small, this was a great find. The rooms are very spacious (I had a king as a single person). The bathrooms are gorgeous with lots of counter space. Good internet connection for multiple devices. Hair dryer was great.

The good in the hotel was excellent. The included breakfast was a full breakfast with lots of options. The hotel staff was very nice and often greeted me by name.

My only wish is that this hotel was closer to a town so you could walk to other eating options, sites, or stores. There is a Reading city bus that leaves from right next to the hotel. It was cheap (1.5 pounds), clean and safe but did not always run when I wanted to go into town. You can get a cab but that was about 8 pounds. Quite a difference.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Jenifer R

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Hilton Reading. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delighted that you noted how keen our team members were. We strive to make the hotel experience as effortless and comfortable to our guests as possible, therefore, your comments are truly appreciated.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again!

With kind regards

Aimee Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Spa treatments were very good, helped me to relax! facial was very nice made my skin feel soft and refreshed! The service is great, kind and friendly staff always there to help fix any issues. Food in restaurant is delicious! but they could do with a bit more variety on the menu.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Devi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Devi S

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and writing such a positive review, I am pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay at The Hilton Reading!

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable meal in the Larder Restaurant, and I will be sure to pass on your comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was a Diamond reward stay, and we choose it for minimal point impact, and to avoid the expense of London for several nights, whilst doing the Cotswold's and Stonehenge. We were pleasantly surprised by the modern, spacious room, quality furnishings, nicely appointed bath, easy free parking, and hands down- the best breakfast we have enjoyed anywhere- for three mornings!

I also highly recommend this easy-to-get-to place as ideal for an American coming from Heathrow Airport and relearning to drive on the left.

We were unpleasantly surprised by a wee-hour false fire alarm our first night- but these kind of things happen and it just happens to remind us of an otherwise extremely uneventful and good stay.

When we return to this corner of the world, the Hilton Reading with be our stay of choice. Since we messed up timing on visiting Downton Abbey, we likely will be back soon!

Room Tip: Better views are up higher!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPooleMWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear DPooleMWIS

It was a pleasure to read your review regarding our hotel. Thank you for posting it!

I was so happy to read that your experience at the hotel has been so positive throughout, starting from the very beginning until the very end. I was also delighted to read that you enjoyed your Hilton breakfast, I will be sure to pass your compliments to the chef!

Once again a big thank you for your review and for recommending us! I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again!

With kind regards

Aimee Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Fantastic hotel both for events, rooms and service. Would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent location very close to the M4 Jct 11. Friendly staff that were willing to help out on numerous things. Top Quality hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank 290sandrag2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear 290sandrag2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! It is so great to know that you've had a wonderful time while staying with us, and that the service provided by the staff and the hotel's location was to your liking!

We are very happy to read that you would recommend us, and are looking forward to your next visit!

with kind regards

Aimee Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this as a part of Legoland trip so for a family of 3 it was only 104£ for 1 day Legoland pass, stay and Morning breakfast- Cracker of a deal it was.
Heated pool, with steam and sauna. Kid got a surprise welcome pack with a pirate jigsaw puzzle !!
Decently surprised with a value.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Sid G

Thank you for posting such a positive comment following your stay at the Hilton Reading.

We are pleased to see your stay was a pleasant one and look forward to another opportunity when we can welcome you back once more.

If I can assist you further before then I'd be happy to hear from you and ask that you contact me on the below e-mail address.

In the meantime, I wish you a pleasant week and remain for now with kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
543 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,022 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
1.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Address: Lundy House Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reading
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £72 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing