We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Reading
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed there with my daughter and we loved it. The hotel has fee parking for guests which is very handy in the UK. It's about 6 mins drive to town center. The hotel staff is very friendly. Breakfast was good and the gym was also good. It's has everything you need and it's clean! And note dated. Only downside is that it's far away from center and there is nothing around excerpt for residential area. We enjoyed it and really liked the place and consider its a good value for money!

Stayed: September 2014
Thank Valentin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valentin S

Thank you for posting such a positive comment following your stay at the Hilton Reading.

We are pleased to see your stay was a pleasant one and that you found the hotel to be great.

We look forward to another opportunity when we can welcome you back once more.

Regards


Sally Allen
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,885 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

I am not a fan of the big chains but was very impressed with this hotel. We only stayed one night and my daughter and I travelled separately to meet my husband who was returning from an overseas business trip. On arrival there were no issues with the check in and on seeing that my daughter was checking in with me she was given a cookie, drink and an activity pack which she was delighted with. She was also asked to complete her own reservation card which was a lovely touch.

We arrived in our room and her bed was made up with extra towels and extra toiletries - this latter part is so often forgotten when there are extra people in rooms.

At breakfast the next morning we were extremely well looked after and I must complement all the staff we met at the hotel. They were all very friendly and welcoming both to us as adults and our daughter.

Thoroughly impressed with this hotel - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyDizzy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashraf N, General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

Dear LizzyDizzy_11

Thank you for the great review regarding your most recent experience. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay.

It is testament to the efforts the team has made to provide exceptional service throughout your stay. It also illustrates the hotel's commitment towards excellence and providing state of the art amenities.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.


With Kind Regards.

Ashraf Nabih

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This was my first trip to a Hilton and maybe I was expecting something better than b&b service, I must say it did not make it that far, arrived just after check in time to be told my room was not ready, so I gave it about an hour and asked if my room was ready only to be told that it still was not ready, I explained I had been on the road for 5 hours and needed to freshen up and change for an engagement only to be asked if I could not do this in another's couples room in our party, no I can NOT I paid for a room of my own, eventually got a room an hour and a half after book in time, just time to change and go with no time to rest, very poor

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Andy C

Thank you for posting a review on the hotel. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion and it is very regrettable that we did not have the opportunity to speak with you before you left us.

As thoughts and experiences from our guests are very much appreciated and are used to rectify any shortfalls highlighted to us, your time permitting, would you kindly contact me on sallyanne.allen@hilton.com, so that I can further investigate your comments. I would like to reassure you, such issues are not at all indicative of the high service standards we usually demonstrate and I would offer our unreserved apologies.

Regards

Sally Allen
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Everything about this Hilton was as you would expect, other than the bed! Checked in, went out for dinner and returned later in the evening. Upon laying down, could feel springs! Terrible night for wife and myself. In the morning, found that mattress was sagging over sides of bed rails and was scalloped. Complained during checkout and was asked why I had not called down at midnight to complain and have maintenance resolve issue! I did receive 20% off the bill, but won't stay there again. Room 123 also suffers from some road noise from the nearby A33, but only from the sirens.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Richard T

I am sorry to read about your dilemma with the matress. We pride ourselves on our customer service and any complaint is taken very seriously.

Can I ask that you please contact me on sallyanne.allen@hilton.com to discuss this issue.

Regards


Sally Allen
PA to the General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed for one night at the property. Everything was pretty good. The staff was very friendly. F&B was excellent. The room air conditioning needs to have a look.
Looking forward to visiting again
Good luck
Shovan
HHonors Diamond Member

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Shovan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Shovan S

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Hilton Reading. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and can assure you the air conditioning will be checked out by maintenance.

I look forward to another opportunity when we can welcome you back once more.

Regards


Sally Allen
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I booked an advance dinner, bed and breakfast rate directly with the hotel as I had booked a TravelZoo experience in the spa. Unfortunately the spa treatments were cancelled (They are separate to the hotel) and I was understandably upset that the I was now left with an unrefundable booking with no spa for what was supposed to be a girly spa weekend.

However, Hilton to the rescue! The managers at the Hilton were superb - prime examples of brilliant customer service. My booking was changed (with the difference refunded) to their shopper package, which included wifi, parking and a voucher for use at the Oracle. We were also offered a discount off any bar purchases and late checkout should we need it.

Check in was smooth and the twin room was lovely, clean and bright. The TV has lots of channels and radio and the bathroom was modern and bright. We had dinner at the hotel and opted for a la carte not buffet. The food was really good. There's a Costa in the lobby area and a lobby bar as well.

We came back to our room to find a bottle of wine, which was a lovely touch and very much appreciated. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and kept refreshed right up until the end of service. We also used the pool and sauna/steam room which although small are perfectly serviceable and well-kept.

All-in-all a great stay, with wonderful staff and true Hilton service. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: We were on a corner so it was quiet. I think it may be noisier by the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hac07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear hh07

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Hilton Reading. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and I am pleased to see that your comments supports this.

I look forward to another opportunity when we can welcome you back once more.

Regards

Sally Allen
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed here for one night when I attended the Reading Festival. The staff were very friendly and even took our bag up to our room whilst we were at the festival. It was a bit out of the town and a little while from the festival grounds so we had to catch taxi to and from the hotel. It was great to come back to a lovely clean and confortable room after being at the festival.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cassmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Cassmf

Thank you for your positive comment of the Hilton Reading.

We are pleased to see your stay was a pleasant one and look forward to another opportunity when we can welcome you back once more.

Regards

Sally Allen
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
1.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Address: Lundy House Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reading
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £73 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing