We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fishy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bull Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bull Inn
Ranked #243 of 610 Restaurants in Reading
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fishy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely little pub in Berkshire off the beaten track which is decorated very tastefully and has a lovely ambience. The staff are friendly and attentive. Food was very good (pricey for what it is) and portion sizes were just right. A very extensive menu but mainly fish with only 3 meat choices (one of which had sold out). I always think it's a slight let down when there isn't a varied selection but weighted towards one type of food source. I eat fish but didn't fancy it on this particular night. The others in my party did opt for the fish and it looked very nice and they all thoroughly enjoyed their meals. 4 stars on this occasion.

Helpful?
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice quiet rural location good for low key lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Visited on hot summer day and sat outside. Nice sandwiches etc. snack type food. Nice location. Probably return but not necessarily in rush to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very good quality and costumer service. Reasonable price with decent menu variety to choose from. Worth a visit!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I live quite near, but this feels like a holiday to come to this adorable village.

Customer service was off the chart. Very very friendly to me and my dog.

Food is pricey but lovely. I didn't mean to nom down the whole of my main course as it was just a lunch, but I had no choice! It was gorgeous and generous.

The staff were incredible professional changing another customer's meal, next to me.

Would definitely revisit. Maybe for dinner as I would like to try more a la carte but it's probably a bit much for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank JemimaRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford Na Postal Cod
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food And Very Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wanted a good pub to take a visiting American friend for lunch and needed to be near Reading. Found this on internet. The food, main course and pud', were very good and the staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull Inn also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Stanford Dingley, Berkshire
 
Beenham, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing