We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian, best in area by long chalk”
Review of Cinnamon Tree

Cinnamon Tree
Ranked #171 of 623 Restaurants in Reading
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Have eaten here many times with work colleagues and family since it opened a few years back. Owner is very friendly, food is consistently excellent and we are yet to have anything which is anything other than very tasty. The mushroom bajhi side dish is exceptional and our favourite dish. Took some work colleagues there a few days ago and one was suprised by the bill compared to London prices and thought it would be double based on quality and quantity of food.

Date of visit: October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bhrdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have been here twice before and ate a la carte, but on Sundays they do a buffet. This is my review of this Sunday night.

Having booked by phone, we arrived, were greeted and passed to another waiter who just ignored us, left us standing around while he carried on with something behind the counter. Eventually, without making any eye contact at all, he showed us to a table. We were then asked for a drink order and asked if we wanted Poppadums, which we ordered. They came, then nothing. The waiters just ignored us and we got up to get our buffet, having to put our dirty Poppadum plates on an empty table next to us. The buffet was very good, fresh and topped up regularly, but the waiters seemed bored, tired and disinterested. Perhaps, as they are open all day Sundays for the buffet, they just get worn out, but for all of us, it was a very poor service experience. We might as well have ordered a takeaway for all the service we got.

Date of visit: September 2013
3  Thank BandD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

First time I have been here - great, great food.

I had some kind of souped-up off-piste chicken vindaloo type thing using different spices to the norm and it was really good. From the poppadoms through to the chocolate mints at the end - all the food ordered was excellent, including a number of vegetarian options.

Patchy service but this might have been because we were plonked upstairs (party of 10) and so the waiters had to keep coming up and down.....probably tiring them out.

Overall - will definitely go back and try some other stuff.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAR1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Often passed by but never been until tonight. Large, open feeling restaurant. Not a typical Indian. Greeted as we arrived, the service was excellent and friendly throughout and complimentary drinks at the end. Lovely food, nice atmosphere, not overly cheap but well worth it. Will be back!

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We have been here so many times. I can't fault it.
All dishes are incredibly tasty, from the mild ones (lamb rosuni) to the hot (naga masala). I am fairly picky abouty naan breads but there's are delicious, most places are too dry but the cinnamon trees are perfect. I would recommend it to anyone.
I must mention the staff. They are always so pleasant, polite and smiley. Never rude or abrupt and are very attentive.
I look forward to our next time here next month.

Thank you everyone at the cinnamon tree!!

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank B19MTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cinnamon Tree also viewed

 

Been to Cinnamon Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.