We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Review of The Reading Hotel

The Reading Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Reading Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Reading B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Bathroom window broken would not close meaning the room was freezing cold.
No towels provided had to ask and received one hand towel between two people.
If you want a shower you have to duck due to the way it's built. I'm a 5ft5 and I had to watch my head. The shower was as powerful as a water pistol.
Beds gave us chronic back pain. Kettle when used smelt like it was burning so could not make a drink, No English people work here. Beds make you itch and I caught an eye infection.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Collette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for The Reading Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

i stayed for a couple of nights to see family nearby.

i checked in at around 8:30pm on the friday night- they guy at the desk was very welcoming and friendly- even showed me to my room and showed me round the room.
it was a good size for a single room and very clean- the bathroom had a shower with good space.
it even had secure parking and wifi in the rooms,
i had a fantastic nights sleep and the area was quiet too-

saturday morning i went downstairs for breakfast -7:30- 9:30 breakfast was served- i went down at 7:30- there was no sign of anyone- reception was shut even though its ment to be a 24 hour reception- i waited around in the dining room and about 8:am the man from reception came down and i said i would like breakfast- not a great choice of cereal and brought out in tuppaware tubes too- i didnt have the full engish but had some toast- it was just a buttered piece of toast (no jams).
anyway- i went out for the day- found a lovely pub by the hotel for tea- picked up some cereal bars as i saw that breakfast for the next day wasnt served till 9am. (there is a morrisons just round the corner)
got back to the hotel round 7:30pm to find the gates were locked. parked my car out the front and about 8:00 i saw the gates were open so i moved my car.

sunday - after another fantastic nights sleep. i was all set for my journey home- got all packed up- wnet downstairs around 8am to get something form the car- i found the gates locked and couldnot access my car (no one around in reception either even though its ment to be 24 hour reception)- went down again about 8:30 and the gate was open so i loaded my car up ready to come home after breakfast.
breakfast is between 9am and 10 am- i go to the dining room at 9:00 to have a quick breakfast but find yet again no one there. i wait around and a 9:30 i am still waiting for someone to open the breakfast bar- breakfast only served till 10am so thank goodness i didnt want a cooked breakfast. so i decide after 30 mins of waiting to abandon breakfast and try to check out-
there was no one in reception to hand my keys to and noone around either- anyway around 9:40 a guy comes in and i ask him who i hand the key to for checking out and about breakfast- he tell me to hang on for another 10mins and says its only 9am- i point out its 9:40 am and the breakfast bar its yet to be opened. he rings the manager - i speak to him on the phone and he tells me to leave the keys on the side- to which i do- then i leave..

this is a good hotel to stay in but i would advise it you have children or get hungry in the morning to take you own breakfast to have in the room as breakfast and mornings arn't this hotels strength.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I arrived really late (11pm), but the reception was open and I got in. The room was clean, and the ensuite there and in full working order. The room had tea and coffee making facilities. The biscuits were nice the tea not the best, so if staying for a while you might want your own. The hotel was quite and comfortable and I slept really well. The curtains and carpet looked new, so it is possible it has been upgraded since some of the bad reviews. The staff were really helpful and the price a real bargain. I would definately stay again. The hotel has strict rules on alcohol consumption etc, this means that rowdy people don't stay there and you get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I was received by a guy wearing pijamas at 3PM; the room had no toillete (they advertise en suite luxury rooms!!!); terrible english! Although the employee was not rude, it seemed that he was there by accident. It was probably the worst hotel I had ever stayed in my life. Oh, and I don't think they change the sheets for every new customer (I slept with my clothes on, without using the sheets)

Room Tip: Don't!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NunoGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Absolutely Terrible customer service, manager was Incredibly rude when we phoned to complain, stayed 2 nights & now covered in bites!!! Bed Bugs??!!! Very untidy, no apology from rude management & no refund.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Magicman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukeworldview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.5 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,862 reviews
1.2 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reading Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Hotel

Address: 93-95 Basingstoke Road, Reading RG2 0HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Hotel Class:3 star — The Reading Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Reading Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing