We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is this really Crowne Plaza?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Is this really Crowne Plaza?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I was looking forward to stay at this hotel, as I stayed in Crowne Plaza hotels(not this one) before.
Perfect sorround nad Crowne Plaza.
I was shocked when I visit my bathroom for first time. The floor looked like it was cleaned after a very long time.
Unfortunately my enthusiasm from great surround went off after I looked from my window.
How Is possible then in a 4* hotel (and for that amount of money) a guest can get a room with a view on a hotels garbage and A/C system???
The worst came on next day breakfast. I wanted to eat a ham, unfortunately the ham was rotten.
Is this really normal for 4* CP Hotel? I don't think so.
Next day the same, even when day before manager was told about this problem, he did obviously nothing about that; rotten ham. That was last time a visited the restaurant during my stay.
The A/C is very noisy.

The gym & spa were perfect, but it would be better if gym personal would not reset clients locker password.
I loved the "Good Night" spray.

My recomendation: If you want stomach problems or have a like garbage this is the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
I was very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay, we are currently working very hard to improve standards and the breakfast has a new look since your visit.

If you were to be in the area again please let me know and I would be happy to personally ensure your stay was a more pleasant one

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    349
    133
    45
    31
See reviews for
133
388
48
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Have just returned from two very enjoyable nights at this hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly, the swimming pool excellent and kept at just the right temperature, the location right beside the Thames allowed us to enjoy a walk along the river bank. The room was quite small but clean and the bed was comfortable. The restaurant was a little expensive but we enjoyed dinner and breakfast on the first night. Unfortunately we had to dine elsewhere on the second night as we were joined by other family members including two young chidren aged 2 and 4. We felt that the main menu was unsuitable for young children and there was no children's menu. We plan another visit to this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review of The Crowne Plaza Reading, it is always a pleasure to get such nice feedback about the hotel.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Reading soon

Regards and thanks

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

What a terrible hotel for a four star! Our room had water stains on the wall - not a small amount either, there was cigarette ash on the window sill where the previous occupant had smoked and the bathroom door didn't shut. Absolutely awful and certainly not a hotel that I would go back to. When we booked in the receptionist didn't tell us that we needed our room card to use the lift - or that it needed putting in the slot to make the lights work. They also didn't bother telling us how to access the locked car park. All in all - crap. I certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamph68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
I was sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and the room was not up to standard, I have now put this room out of order and the issues mentioned will be fixed before we re-let it.
Also I have taken on board your comments regarding the reception staff and have spoken to them regarding the instructions for the lift and car park barrier as it can be very frustrating.

I see that you did not want to come back to the hotel, but if you change your mind please let me know and I will ensure you have a very different experience!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here with Mrs Mightyshepherd as we had a wedding to go to nearby. Admittedly we didn't show up till 1am (so we were mighty glad our room was still available) but having booked a double, we were surprised to have two single beds, each made up with single bedding and pushed together.

The walls are thin at the Crowne Plaza and Mrs Mightyshepherd was woken up / entertained by the sounds of the couple next door having a 'special moment'. Surely in a modern building they could have worked in some kind of soundproofing?

The breakfast lounge had spectacular views but breakfast was not great. Some hotels give the impression that they are instilled with a spirit of generosity, others seem to offer the bare minimum. The Crowne Plaza was the latter. Maybe my expectations were high, but I wanted to be shown to a table and offered coffee. Neither of these happened. Nothing on the breakfast buffet looked fresh and friends of ours joked that no one has ever eaten the potatoes and every morning the same ones are put back out again.

On the plus side, the room was very dark so once the lovemaking next door stopped, we had a bit of a lie in.

Premier Inn rooms are cheaper and this felt inferior to Premier Inn standard and service for considerably more money. We're big fans of PI's but wanted something that felt more special - sadly the Crowne Plaza Reading didn't deliver it.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the hotel, I am sorry that your stay was not completely to your satisfaction and I have taken on board your constructive comments.

We are constantly trying to improve and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here on business - this is a nice property, allowed me to work and rest efficiently. Fairly consistent quality of a Crown Plaza in Europe - well maintained, nice rooms fronting the river if you can get them, reasonable fitness center. Not sure I'd go out of the way for the food but there are pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Heating/cooling system functional but took a long time to respond. A little too far from the rail station to walk, but a short ride most hours.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms fronting the main road - ask for courtyard or river facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and I am glad your stay met your expectations, and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

It would be great if you could try our new menu and let us know what you think rather than venturing out of the hotel

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed here a couple of times whilst visiting family. Rooms excellent and breakfast in the Club Lounge is very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
I was glad to see you had a nice stay at The Crowne Plaza Reading and in particular you enjoyed our club lounge!

We have recently upgraded our offering in the lounge and it is great value for money and it is good to see you liked it!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed just the one night but had lovely room with balcony overlooking river - breakfast was in private room and was brilliant as it was free - easy walk into town and to the train station

Room Tip: Ask for one with balcony overlooking river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Crowne Plaza Reading, it is always nice to get good feedback about the hotel and the great service you had.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Reading soon!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Address: Caversham Bridge Richfield Avenue, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#8 Business Hotel in Reading
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel in the heart of Reading on the banks of the River Thames provides a tranquil venue easily accessible from the M4, London Heathrow Airport and London Paddington Station. We offer 200 complimentary parking spaces on site. The local area offers the Oracle shopping centre and Vue Cinema, an array of restaurants, the Thames Valley Business Park, Green Park and Madjeski Football Stadium (home of Reading Football Club).As a guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Reading you have full access to the Revive Health Club and Spa with indoor pool. The modern spa offers a wide selection of Elemis treatments. Bedrooms at the Crowne Plaza Reading are spacious with soft and earthy decor, seriously comfy beds with work desks and high speed internet access. Our Acqua Restaurant serves modern British cuisine sourced from local suppliers. You can also enjoy a lighter or healthier meal in the lobby bar or terrace overlooking the River Thames. 24HR Room Service is also available for those guests arriving late or departing early The Caversham Business Suite is a self contained Meeting Centre for conferences and private dining. All rooms offer natural daylight and a private terrace overlooking the River Thames. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading is an ideal wedding venue licensed for Civil Ceremonies and can cater for banqueting or private parties in Reading for up to 180 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Reading Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing