We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy & friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cosy & friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have stayed here a number of times on business and so far they have got it right every time - it's in a fairly good location within walking distance of a few restaurants, with some car parking right outside and more parking just across a quiet side road. Reception are very efficient and friendly, and have been very helpful when I had to request a copy invoice several weeks after I'd stayed.
The rooms are very pleasant, with a decent selection of TV channels and the bathrooms are spotlessly clean with fluffy white towels. There are usually spare towels too - a nice touch.
The beds are great, with a choice of soft/firm pillows, and a little kit with aromatherapy spray to help you sleep which I think is marvellous.
Breakfast is great too - a lovely greeting from the staff, and a selection of everything you'd expect. Really good choice of juices/smoothies and most days 'infused' water - that is to say, ice cold water with mint or lime floating in it. Very refreshing!

OK now to the little gripes - there is constant piano music tinkling away in reception. It's supposed to make you think they have a live pianist, but actually it's a recording coming from underneath the piano. I'd be OK with this, but whoever was playing - they're rubbish. Lots of mistakes which really grate on the ear! Most of the time it just sounds like random keyboard faff.
Second gripe - the room service menu is very limited, and a number of times I've had to phone reception to place an order as nobody bothers to answer the phone in the restaurant. Very frustrating and a real shame. The food itself is usually delicious and delivered rapidly (once you manage to get your order in!!) and the one time they made a mistake it was rectified very quickly which was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Travelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
I was really glad to see that you had a good stay at the hotel and regularly stay with us!

The piano can get a bit annoying but we have updated the tracks, we have some guests that love the novelty of it and some that prefer a bit of piece and quite! We try and balance it and now don't have it on all the time!

I will look into the room service issue and see why the phone isn't getting answered promptly as it should divert to reception if it is not picked up and they can take the order, we are changing the menu in April with a new Summer menu so let us know what you think!

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    343
    132
    44
    31
See reviews for
132
377
47
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

my boyfriend and I have stayed at the this hotel and we really enjoyed our weekend, the room was nice and clean, it was a nice size with, my boyfriend loved it, we will visit again. the service was excellent.
dora

Room Tip: we stayed in room 161 the bed was brilliant the first floor is very quiet, very quiet A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eudora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Dora,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review on The Crowne Plaza Reading it is always lovely to get such reviews and I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I have just checked in and received a room that is like an ice box. Changed rooms and this one is little better. I've contacted reception and e-mailed the General Manager but despite the hotel being supposedly 'Full' yet the lounge and bar are actually empty the response has been none existent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJSGILLAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
I was sorry that you found your room cold and that the response from myself and the hotel was not quick enough to resolve the issues in a timely manner.

We have since corresponded since your stay and I hope we have now gone some way to restore your faith and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

The hotel is located 0.7 miles to the train station and 1-1.5 miles to the center. The hotel staff was nice and friendly. The room had one king size bed, nice bathroom, a television, a fridge, a wardrobe, a table and a chair (must if you want to work). I believe there were enough television channels as there was always something to watch. The room was very clean and tidy, so no problem with that. The room was quite big in relation the hotels I stayed in London.

The breakfast was typical English breakfast, the cornflakes are ready for the customer as well as cheese, 2 types of eggs, bacon, and other stuff. The river side garden was actually really nice, but because of the weather the doors were closed.

The gym was not so big, there were couple of walking machines, elliptical machines, bicycles. Other than that there weren't enough exercise machines, during the rush hour, probably you will wait. The gym was quite small and you have wait for your turn to get some place to train.

To be able to get to the center, you need to get a taxi from the hotel, I think it is fix price which is 6 GBP.

If I visit reading again, I would re-visit the hotel as it was really clean and tidy.

Room Tip: I got room 101, it was near the elevator which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herosemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on the hotel I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Have stayed in Crowne Plaza several times over the last couple of years as it is very handy for my husband and I and normally have enjoyed the experience. The staff are very polite and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and very clean. Normally I have had a good night's sleep at the hotel until this last weekend. We stayed in room 103 and I desperately needed a good night's sleep. This was not to be, I was woken at 2.30 am in the morning with incredibly noisy cranking and chugging sound. I couldn't work out what it was at first, it then stopped and I was just going back to sleep when it started again. It was very erratic and quite frankly I gave up trying to sleep. When I mentioned it at reception in the morning I was told it was the air conditioning/heating system and they were aware of it and having it fixed. Thanked me for telling them but that was it! My lack of sleep really impaired the enjoyment of the purpose of my visit to the area and I must admit I feel very cheated by the situation. I will be very cautious staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
I was very sorry to learn that your nights sleep was disturbed, we did have a problem with the air conditioning in this room and it was resolved the following after you bought it to our attention, it was a fan that was catching and making the noise.

I do hope that you will stay with us again as you will know this is not our normal standard and the fact we have climate controlled rooms is a big benefit normally.

Next time you are planning to stay in the area please drop me a line and I will ensure a pleasent and hopefully restful stay for you.

Regards

Daniel Loosley
dloosley@redefinehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Good location and had an excellent room, with balcony overlooking the river. Priority club lounge provided good selection of canapés and drinks, which was just as well as we gave up at the bar, the 'bar man' could not pour a pint - he explained that it was his first day and he had been up since 5am. Hardly my problem. We gave up after 5 minutes of waiting and went to a nearby pub for a drink. My biggest gripe though was been woken up at 9:03am by 'housekeeping' seeing if the room was ready to clean. Totally unacceptable. And my Sunday lay in ruined. I felt as tired as the barman later in the day. Poor show for what is usually a good hotel chain.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Realtrueopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
I was very sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your stay this time and please accept my apologies.

I was sorry that you were woken on a Sunday morning part of staying away at the weekend is the lie in and we should not be waking you with the housekeeping staff knocking on the door, I have spoken at length with the team and this will not re-occur as we have put a new system in place, next time you stay just to make absolutely sure you are not disturbed all rooms have a do not disturb hanger just pop it out and you can rest easy!

We take staff training very seriously and I am sorry that a trainee served you in the bar and he was unsure of what to do this is not our normal standard.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review the hotel

Regards

Daniel Loosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

This hotel is not too far from station or shops , although may need to take taxi if loaded down. Close to a roundabout but once inside its lovely. Quiet and calm Breakfast and bar area lead out onto the river.
Staff very helpful and prompt service.
Would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thanks for writing such a nice review on the hotel we are delighted that you found the hotel to your liking and we look forward to seeing you back at The Crowne Plaza Reading in the near future

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#7 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Address: Caversham Bridge Richfield Avenue, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#8 Business Hotel in Reading
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel in the heart of Reading on the banks of the River Thames provides a tranquil venue easily accessible from the M4, London Heathrow Airport and London Paddington Station. We offer 200 complimentary parking spaces on site. The local area offers the Oracle shopping centre and Vue Cinema, an array of restaurants, the Thames Valley Business Park, Green Park and Madjeski Football Stadium (home of Reading Football Club).As a guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Reading you have full access to the Revive Health Club and Spa with indoor pool. The modern spa offers a wide selection of Elemis treatments. Bedrooms at the Crowne Plaza Reading are spacious with soft and earthy decor, seriously comfy beds with work desks and high speed internet access. Our Acqua Restaurant serves modern British cuisine sourced from local suppliers. You can also enjoy a lighter or healthier meal in the lobby bar or terrace overlooking the River Thames. 24HR Room Service is also available for those guests arriving late or departing early The Caversham Business Suite is a self contained Meeting Centre for conferences and private dining. All rooms offer natural daylight and a private terrace overlooking the River Thames. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading is an ideal wedding venue licensed for Civil Ceremonies and can cater for banqueting or private parties in Reading for up to 180 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Reading Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing