We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

At the Crowned Plaza again last week. There pretty much every month with work.

Another good stay. As always, Sebastian in the conferencing team looked after us all very well. Coffees, good wifi and lunch all good.

The hotel has good views over the Thames, quiet plus easy to get to other restaurants in Caversham.

Back again in two weeks......

(I just wish the hotel would put back the little "help you sleep lotions" in the rooms! They always help me sleep better in hotels)

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    356
    135
    47
    31
See reviews for
137
394
49
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I booked and arranged this venue for a 50th Birthday party for my big sis and it was a fantastic venue. Well located, great car parking, fantastic facilities and friendly helpful staff who really made the difference. In particular Beata and Sebastian were really accomodating to make sure the night was successful and the bedrooms were fantastic - I would certainly recommend this venue to anyone without hestitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
I was so glad that you enjoyed the party held here at The Crowne Plaza Reading it was great to hear that we looked after you and everyone had a great time, we look forward to seeing back next time you have something to celebrate!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed here because visiting clients in Reading and some of the clients were also staying here. It's basically a great hotel- nice inside with nice restaurant and bar area, friendly staff, good check in, decent rooms, nice decor, good breakfast and very good health club. The only downsides are it is a ten minute walk from the centre and my room only had a standard double bed- that would be too small for me if I was with my wife but was fine for me on my own,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakeywarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Crowne Plaza Reading I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Regards and best wishes

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Firstly I live in Reading about 2 miles away from the hotel, which you may think odd, but it was a short stagger back from my 40th birthday party location and i wanted a treat.
This is a very friendly hotel, the reception staff were fantastic and efficient. The room was very spacious and the shower out of this world. Also thank you for my late check out I really needed it. Thanks to all the staff, who made our visit a memorable one.

Room Tip: 2nd floor better views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toottoot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
It is so nice that a local has taken the time to write a review and I was delighted that your stay turned out to be a treat!

I will pass on your thanks to the staff as requested and I am sure they will be as delighted as me that you enjoyed your stay so much!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to your next visit to The Crowne Plaza Reading and there is no excuse being so close!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I booked this Hotel as wanted a relaxing weekend away and to be close to Reading City centre which was only a 10/15min walk away. Our room was amazing as we stayed in the Executive suite room which over looked the Thames and had everything in the room that you needed including our own dressing gowns!!. The food in the evening was average, however the pudding was really nice and the breakfast was good in the morning. Had a very good night sleep in the bed as it was very comfortable. The swimming pool was lovely and warm and the Sauna & steam room was great felt totally relaxed after. The staff were very friendly upon check in especially 'Mark' who was very helpful and which made our stay very memorable. Would definitely stay again, was a lovely clean Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time out to write such a positive review of The Crowne Plaza Reading it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay!

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future when hopefully the weather will be a bit warmer and you can enjoy our outside space by The Thames!

Thanks again

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level Contributor
224 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hotel is ideally located because it's accessible without getting caught up in Reading town centre traffic. It has secure parking, and the hotel is around 15 mins. walk from the station or 20 mins. to where everything is. We've stayed here three times, with Platinum status. We've always been given an exec room, once with river view, twice with club access, and once with a complementary massage (this was several years ago). The exec rooms are not big, but we have always had a good night's sleep, which is the main point for us. The TVs have recently been upgraded to larger screens (32"?) and the towels and linens were very good quality. Breakfast was well cooked, but rather dull in its offerings. The only bread available is sliced for toasting; there were no bread rolls, but the usual croissants and two pastries were available as were very large (i.e. very high in calories and fat) muffins. Cereal in boxes, thank goodness! This is fine for a short stay, as ours tend to be. All in all, a good example of the Crowne Plaza brand, although I was rather put out on the occasion that I wasn't given discretionary use of the club lounge (even though I don't really use it for the free drinks and canapes, I just like to know I can).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leisure-traveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel I was pleased to learn that you enjoy your stays with us and in particular the location and facilities of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have stayed here a number of times on business and so far they have got it right every time - it's in a fairly good location within walking distance of a few restaurants, with some car parking right outside and more parking just across a quiet side road. Reception are very efficient and friendly, and have been very helpful when I had to request a copy invoice several weeks after I'd stayed.
The rooms are very pleasant, with a decent selection of TV channels and the bathrooms are spotlessly clean with fluffy white towels. There are usually spare towels too - a nice touch.
The beds are great, with a choice of soft/firm pillows, and a little kit with aromatherapy spray to help you sleep which I think is marvellous.
Breakfast is great too - a lovely greeting from the staff, and a selection of everything you'd expect. Really good choice of juices/smoothies and most days 'infused' water - that is to say, ice cold water with mint or lime floating in it. Very refreshing!

OK now to the little gripes - there is constant piano music tinkling away in reception. It's supposed to make you think they have a live pianist, but actually it's a recording coming from underneath the piano. I'd be OK with this, but whoever was playing - they're rubbish. Lots of mistakes which really grate on the ear! Most of the time it just sounds like random keyboard faff.
Second gripe - the room service menu is very limited, and a number of times I've had to phone reception to place an order as nobody bothers to answer the phone in the restaurant. Very frustrating and a real shame. The food itself is usually delicious and delivered rapidly (once you manage to get your order in!!) and the one time they made a mistake it was rectified very quickly which was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Travelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
I was really glad to see that you had a good stay at the hotel and regularly stay with us!

The piano can get a bit annoying but we have updated the tracks, we have some guests that love the novelty of it and some that prefer a bit of piece and quite! We try and balance it and now don't have it on all the time!

I will look into the room service issue and see why the phone isn't getting answered promptly as it should divert to reception if it is not picked up and they can take the order, we are changing the menu in April with a new Summer menu so let us know what you think!

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,791 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
971 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.6 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Address: Caversham Bridge Richfield Avenue, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#8 Business Hotel in Reading
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel in the heart of Reading on the banks of the River Thames provides a tranquil venue easily accessible from the M4, London Heathrow Airport and London Paddington Station. We offer 200 complimentary parking spaces on site. The local area offers the Oracle shopping centre and Vue Cinema, an array of restaurants, the Thames Valley Business Park, Green Park and Madjeski Football Stadium (home of Reading Football Club).As a guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Reading you have full access to the Revive Health Club and Spa with indoor pool. The modern spa offers a wide selection of Elemis treatments. Bedrooms at the Crowne Plaza Reading are spacious with soft and earthy decor, seriously comfy beds with work desks and high speed internet access. Our Acqua Restaurant serves modern British cuisine sourced from local suppliers. You can also enjoy a lighter or healthier meal in the lobby bar or terrace overlooking the River Thames. 24HR Room Service is also available for those guests arriving late or departing early The Caversham Business Suite is a self contained Meeting Centre for conferences and private dining. All rooms offer natural daylight and a private terrace overlooking the River Thames. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading is an ideal wedding venue licensed for Civil Ceremonies and can cater for banqueting or private parties in Reading for up to 180 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Reading Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing