We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Upside -very  clean rooms and comfortable beds. Large fluffy bath towels. Effective, quiet air con. Pleasant decor. Free, good wifi in rooms. Pleasant lobby/dining area overlooking river. Free fruit, tea /coffee in lobby. Secure free car park. Location 15 min walk to town. If not having breakfast there, try Aromas at Tameside hotel  nearby for excellently freshly cooked breakfas. Also Indian restaurant close by (River Spice) is good.
Downside -rooms quite small and bathroom tiny. Great for 1 person. No walk in shower and shower curtain over bath. Double, not kingsize bed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LgrUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the tips re restaurants in the local area were very valid!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Having stayed here on several occasions I was sad to stay this weekend and see the changes in service at this hotel.
Breakfast used to be a treat, well organised and high quality.
Gone is the efficient and courteous matre De and been replaced by young girls who chat to each other a lot.
Having to ask for refills of tea and coffee served in mugs and making your own toast is not great service.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 600Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

I was very disappointed to learn that you felt the hotel was going downhill and the staff had changed. We have not changed any staff over the past 18 months and have a very stable team.

I will now go back to the Food and Beverage team and ensure that we do maintain standards and your experience although rare in my opinion is not acceptable.

Please accept my apologies and I hope you will give us another try in the near future

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Booked a staff Xmas party here with my work colleagues on a shared night. Food was excellent and accommodation very good, everyone enjoyed it. We had a lovely view over the river. Real Value for money, think we may be back next year.

Room Tip: over looking the river thames is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

I was so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your Xmas party and stay at The Crowne Plaza Reaing, we have had a very busy period over the past month or two and it is very pleasing to get such nice feedback.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for an xmas party and chose the turkey dinner. The roast potatoes were boiled and were anaemic. The gravy had a funny taste. The service was good but what a waste of money the food was. It is not that difficult to provide a decent meal for people and I think the chef should be sacked thinking it was ok to serve food to the lowest standard that he did. Even the starter was poor. Others on the table thought the tart was tasteless. When you charge the money you do and provide a meal like you did, you need to ask yourself why was there so much wastage.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2480mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

I was most upset and disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your Christmas meal with us, please accept my apologies.

During the past 2 months we have served over 4000 meals and have received excellent feedback so I am very surprised to learn that you felt it was not up to standard.

During the night you mentioned the service was excellent so I am again confused that you did not raise your dissatisfaction on the night when we could have done something about it, writing about it some time later on a public forum gives us absolutely no chance recover the situation and comments such as sack the chef are very unfair and hurtful.

We pride ourselves in the service and product we provide and we are very sorry that on this occasion we did not at the very least meet your expectation.

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This has to be one of the best new year breaks we have had. Excellent food over the two days. Great views of the river. Brilliant gym & leisure facility's. Great DJ both nights. Hosted by Daniel the Manager. The room was very comfy with a huge bed. All the staff were very nice all in all 10/10

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbleBlowerEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

It was so nice to see so many friendly faces over New Year and we are delighted that you had a fantastic time here at The Crowne Plaza Reading.

We have next New Year penciled in for your group so book early and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here over xmas while working in reading, second visit here and to say it was xmas no standards were dropped.the staff were so helpful they were a credit to the hotel.very good hotel highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnydave38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at The Crowne Plaza Reading and many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were attending a friend's party on nearby Fry's Island and stayed here for a second time. The room was lovely, modern and probably the comfiest mattress I have slept on! The special mention though goes to the great staff who went out of their way to provide fantastic customer service! Thank you for the Cosmo cocktail! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna_s_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you so much for such a nice review of The Crowne Plaza Reading, indeed our Cosmo's have gone down a storm during the festive period!

It is always nice to get feedback about the team and the hotel from someone that has stayed more than once and even nicer when it is positive!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Address: Caversham Bridge Richfield Avenue, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#8 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £71 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel in the heart of Reading on the banks of the River Thames provides a tranquil venue easily accessible from the M4, London Heathrow Airport and London Paddington Station. We offer 200 complimentary parking spaces on site. The local area offers the Oracle shopping centre and Vue Cinema, an array of restaurants, the Thames Valley Business Park, Green Park and Madjeski Football Stadium (home of Reading Football Club).As a guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Reading you have full access to the Revive Health Club and Spa with indoor pool. The modern spa offers a wide selection of Elemis treatments. Bedrooms at the Crowne Plaza Reading are spacious with soft and earthy decor, seriously comfy beds with work desks and high speed internet access. Our Acqua Restaurant serves modern British cuisine sourced from local suppliers. You can also enjoy a lighter or healthier meal in the lobby bar or terrace overlooking the River Thames. 24HR Room Service is also available for those guests arriving late or departing early The Caversham Business Suite is a self contained Meeting Centre for conferences and private dining. All rooms offer natural daylight and a private terrace overlooking the River Thames. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading is an ideal wedding venue licensed for Civil Ceremonies and can cater for banqueting or private parties in Reading for up to 180 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Reading Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing