We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position but average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Reading
South West France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great position but average hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2009

You can't fault this hotel's position, slap bang on the River Thames and within easy distance of the town centre. My room had a balcony overlooking the river but as nice as the view was the balcony itself was looking a little tired and was not as pleasant a place to relax as it could have been. I don't know what it was but despite it being difficult to fault anything, the hotel never really caught my imagination. It was all borderline fine but characterless and slightly downmarket, feeling more Holiday Inn than Crowne Plaza. Maybe I was just tired but I will be looking for somewhere more interesting and upmarket for my future stays in Reading.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    356
    135
    47
    31
See reviews for
137
394
49
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Nice comfortable hotel on the Thames. Easy walk into Caversham for bars and restaurants. Rooms a bit on the small side but well decorated, comfortable and good quality toiletries in the bathroom. Club Lounge a bit of a let down - but was the weekend so perhaps not trying so hard - coffee machine not working in the morning and ran out after one weak expresso in the evening. Having said that, helpful staff brought a pot when asked in the morning. Overall, staff were very helpful and welcoming. Good value for what you get at weekends.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2009

stayed at this hotel the weekend 23rd of may.all about this hotel is great.the location on the thames.the rooms the staff the breakfast even the pool.the gym looked good also but used the bar instead.only paid 55 pound a night on a super saver.absolutley brilliant cant wait for next stay.phil and tina skewen.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, Kent UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night on 3rd May. The package was given to me as a birthday present. We arrived at midday and were told that the room was not ready. This was fair enough, It was obvious that the night before had been a 'full house' so we went for a very pleasant walk along the Thames Path.

We returned at 3pm to be told that the room still wasn't ready and it would be another 40 minutes. To be fair, the guy on reception did arrange for us to have complimentary drink at the bar and we read the papers while we waited. We were only staying one night and so we did feet a bit miffed at this inconvenience.

The room booked for us was a suite on the second floor. Once we were inside the wait which we had had was forgotten. The rooms were stunning. Sitting/dining area with french doors out onto a large balcony complete with furniture, very nice to sit, have a drink and watch the world go by, (or the swans and ducks!). Bedroom with huge double bed, soft pillows and duvet. Bathroom with walk in shower and seperate bath. Lots of towels, robes and quality tioletries.

The menu at dinner offered meat, fish and vegetarian dishes, prices fairly high, but ours was paid for and so we didn't have to worry on this occasion! The mussels, Thai style with coconut, corriander and lemon grass were to die for, I could have carried on eating them all night. We both chose Lamb Dhansak for main, but this was not the best choice. The meat was tender enough but it wasn't in the least spicy, more like a casserole served with rice and naan bread. We made a mental note to leave curries to the Indians! The restaurant setting was very pleasant, tables beautifully laid up, with views of the river.

Breakfast was excellent! This offered something for everyone. In addition to the buffet there was a menu on the table with certain items available to order. Certain items like smoked salmon with scrambled eggs carried a £3.00 supplement charge but not all the options did.

Overall, this hotel is excellent. We found the whole place spotless. Staff in all areas couldn't do enough for us. They all have a good balance of professionalism and friendliness. Would most certainly visit again. One night was certainly not long enough to explore, We saw many attractive eating places within a few minutes walk which we would have loved to try.

Good Point, free car park!

Liked ,everything!

Disliked, sadly we had to leave!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S7ARJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

We booked this through Last Minute for £49. It was a great location on the Thames and close to town. Free parking would stay again

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill_lotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamworth, staffs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Me my wife and 9 year old daughter stayed at the Crowne plaza over the Easter weekend. The location is great right next to the Thames and several bars restaurants within walking distance such as TGI fridays and the Griffin just over the Caversham Bridge. The hotel is very nice, staff all friendly and polite and it is very clean. We used the swimming pool which is one of the best I have used at such hotels clean and secure.
The drinks are expensive but we had a bottle of wine kept in the fridge in the bedroom. The breakfast was fantastic great choice best i've had!. We used the hotel as a base for some shopping and sightseeing in Windsor which is a 25 minute drive away. Our room was the only gripe number 127 which was cramped for the 3 of us but apart from that great hotel and stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markjoolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

My sister and I stayed here for a weekend leisure break for walking/shopping/sightseeing, but this hotel would make a good base for all sorts of activities. We were disappointed not to be allocated a river view or balcony (I did ask, but received the impression that Leisure Break guests didn't qualify, and we did get a quiet room at the far end of a corridor) and surprised to find the room relatively small (for instance, our room at the nearby Crowne Plaza, Marlow, was bigger, as was our room at the Holiday Inn, Peartree Roundabout, Oxford), but it was OK for a short stay and given that we were out most of the time. We managed to pack a lot in, and the hotel is particularly good for walkers as the Thames Path runs along the rear and there is fabulous walking country just across the bridge in South Oxfordshire. We both spent the whole of Saturday out walking, so I missed breakfast that day, but was able to try it on the Sunday and it was relaxed even though quite busy. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings as although the menu was very attractive, we needed more vegetarian options. The reception staff were particularly friendly, polite and helpful. I was surprised and disappointed to find no text on the tv (vital for weather info), but staff offered to check this on the internet and willingly did so. Inconvenient also to have no ventilation/extraction in the bathroom, but overall we enjoyed our stay, felt the staff made every effort to meet our needs and would like to return.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supergirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lreading, Lindsay Whitehead, Resident Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 14 April 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I am pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel convenient for the many activities in the surrounding areas.

Room upgrades to river view rooms are available subject to availability, however without specific dates of stay I am unable to check specific reasons for an upgrade not being available.

Guest feedback is very important accross the hotel including the restaurant I have noted your comments regarding the menu and we will be reviewing our Restaurant menu shortly.

I hope that you will return to the Crowne Plaza in Reading in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,791 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.6 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Address: Caversham Bridge Richfield Avenue, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#8 Business Hotel in Reading
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel in the heart of Reading on the banks of the River Thames provides a tranquil venue easily accessible from the M4, London Heathrow Airport and London Paddington Station. We offer 200 complimentary parking spaces on site. The local area offers the Oracle shopping centre and Vue Cinema, an array of restaurants, the Thames Valley Business Park, Green Park and Madjeski Football Stadium (home of Reading Football Club).As a guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Reading you have full access to the Revive Health Club and Spa with indoor pool. The modern spa offers a wide selection of Elemis treatments. Bedrooms at the Crowne Plaza Reading are spacious with soft and earthy decor, seriously comfy beds with work desks and high speed internet access. Our Acqua Restaurant serves modern British cuisine sourced from local suppliers. You can also enjoy a lighter or healthier meal in the lobby bar or terrace overlooking the River Thames. 24HR Room Service is also available for those guests arriving late or departing early The Caversham Business Suite is a self contained Meeting Centre for conferences and private dining. All rooms offer natural daylight and a private terrace overlooking the River Thames. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading is an ideal wedding venue licensed for Civil Ceremonies and can cater for banqueting or private parties in Reading for up to 180 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Reading Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing