We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights, was a great location right on the river Thames. Hotel very clean and staff friendly. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

980 - 986 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2010

This is my favorite when I have one of my regular stays in for Business in Reading. Although hotels of this categorie are somewhat old fashioned (lets call it british traditionell) it has all you need for a short 1-3 night stay.

Rooms are right sized and clean. They have a nice Flat TV set with international SAT TV for a small extra fee.

Breakfast is mixed english and continental ok but not great. Service is at breakfast is slow. Plan extra time.

Check in and out takes time as well.
Over all, the best value I can get in this area

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jweiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Our first visit to this hotel, having usually stayed at their sister hotel in Marlow, We were not disappointed,a lovely clean hotel and what looked like a recently refurbished room.
Staff were pleasant and HAPPY in their roles.

We enjoyed the location of the hotel right on the river and with easy acess to caversham restaurants.

Breakfast was a well-organized and delightful affair, we look forward to visting again very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Midway between Henley and Reading this was perfect for a wedding stopover of one night. We got a £60 rate which proved to be great value when taking into account the free parking, really good breakfast buffet and the spa (which we didn't use, but would next time we're there).
Rooms are comfortable and clean with good sound-proofing. Everything we needed was in there and we had a good breakfast the next morning which rounded off the overnight visit nicely.
Would definitely recommend this for the service we received as well, which was attentive and very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jez200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lreading, Resident Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I am pleased that we were able to provide an ideal base for you when attending a Wedding at the weekend.

Thank you for your positive feedback which I shall ensure is forwarded to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back when next in Reading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

This must be the best hotel we have stayed in not only in reading but in the whole of london,The staff cant do enough for you, The rooms are 1st class,The food is outstanding,And the location is well you cant get closer to the riverside or the town centre all in walking space.We have booked again for the summer to take our grandaughter with the indoor pool,Windsor and legoland just down the road we cant wait.

Thank dontgetrippedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Fabulous location, but ask for a room that overlooks the water, and make sure it does as this is wonderful, watching the boats on the river and watching thebeautiful swans swans. Balance having a fantastic view with the noise that you might hear from below on a hot night.(I heard nothing!) Go for the view everytime! Bathroom well equipped, well lit and it has a magnifying mirror! TV annoying to use and TV menu should be made much more simple to use.Very comfortable beds and a brilliant room service lady. I would recommend this hotel anytime based on my stay, BUT I was disappointed that when I pointed out a number of plates that were not washed properly at the self service buffet and I put them in a pile, I noticed that they were deliberately put back on the pile of plates waiting to be used as soon as the waiter thought I was not looking. This is something for management to watch.I have therefore given this hotel 4 out of 5 stars for this one reason. Food was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lreading, Resident Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit. I am delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have noted your comments regarding the TV menus and shall certainly be looking into seeing if there is anyway to make them easier to navigate. I am disapointed to see your comments regarding the dirty plates at breakfast and would like to assure you that this is certainly not a standard we aim to attain. I shall be addressing this with the Restaurant Manager to ensure that plates are clean before going to the buffet and if in any instance they are not that they are certainly not replaced.

Thank you highlighting these problems but also for your positive comments, I hope that you would consider staying with us again should you be back in the Reading area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

My dearth of reviews aside; i travel a lot. I am Platinum Ambassador in the Priority Club scheme. The reason for relating that information is from the moment I checked in the staff at the Crowne Plaza Reading, treated me far better than most hotels in the IC Group have ever done.

I was in Reading to do a course at Microsoft and so booked into a standard room to reduce cost. On discovering my status the reception staff jiggled rooms around for a few minutes to find me a better room - eventually upgrading me to a club room with a great view of the river outside; so good that a waitress delivering room service even commented on it. The room had a balcony which was relaxing on the cool evenings watching the local rowing club training on the river; and the volcanic ash enhanced sun set down the river. The room itself was immaculate; and bar some noise from the air conditioner as it powered up and down was very quiet. There was a draft from the balcony doors which in winter may be unpleasant; on spring evenings it didn't bother me much and the curtains contained most of it.

The desk was a good size and the desk-chair was comfortable to sit and work at; the power sockets were above the counter which is where the ought to be; but so often aren't. The hotel had wireless and wired internet available (as well as a dial up socket should you need it.) i found my t-mobile 3g data stick worked excellently as you would expect in a city centre.

The Club Lounge was very well maintained; the furniture; desks and sofa type seating looked and was very comfortable and there was a Large TV and a computer available too. There is a good coffee machine available at all times; and the Lounge happy hour was between 6 and 8pm. It is usually busy in hotels that have it; but was pretty much the only one to take advantage of it. During happy hour there were canapes, wine, beer and soft drinks available.

The food in the restaurant was very good; though if you are staying for a long period then you will be eating out a lot as the menu was very brief. The room service menu follows the restaurant menu; as does the bar itself which means you are limited to a single menu choice which is a bit of a shame.

One Tip - don't park under a tree there are a lot of water birds about !

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u07ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lreading, Resident Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that we were able to offer you an updgraded room on arrival.

I appreciate the feedback regarding the draught from the balcony doors which will now be rectified. Following the feedback from yourself and other guest we have reviewed our menus in order to offer more choice for our guests, along side our seasonal menu we have also introduced a menu that changes on a weekly basis for those guests that stay with us regularly or for a longer period of time again in order to offer a wider choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,905 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,046 reviews
3.0 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Address: Caversham Bridge Richfield Avenue, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#8 Business Hotel in Reading
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £70 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel in the heart of Reading on the banks of the River Thames provides a tranquil venue easily accessible from the M4, London Heathrow Airport and London Paddington Station. We offer 200 complimentary parking spaces on site. The local area offers the Oracle shopping centre and Vue Cinema, an array of restaurants, the Thames Valley Business Park, Green Park and Madjeski Football Stadium (home of Reading Football Club).As a guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Reading you have full access to the Revive Health Club and Spa with indoor pool. The modern spa offers a wide selection of Elemis treatments. Bedrooms at the Crowne Plaza Reading are spacious with soft and earthy decor, seriously comfy beds with work desks and high speed internet access. Our Acqua Restaurant serves modern British cuisine sourced from local suppliers. You can also enjoy a lighter or healthier meal in the lobby bar or terrace overlooking the River Thames. 24HR Room Service is also available for those guests arriving late or departing early The Caversham Business Suite is a self contained Meeting Centre for conferences and private dining. All rooms offer natural daylight and a private terrace overlooking the River Thames. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading is an ideal wedding venue licensed for Civil Ceremonies and can cater for banqueting or private parties in Reading for up to 180 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Reading Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing