We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusted with the way they treat children as second class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disgusted with the way they treat children as second class”
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Okay so this hotel is quite nice in most ways but the way children are excluded is particularly annoying. The health club only allows kids in at certain times, which incidentally coincide with times that they would be doing legoland or thorpe or a day trip to London.

This isn't published until you get to the health club, so guess what, crying child.

These kids are paying guests and should be granted access like any other guest. The hotel doesn't discriminate on colour, race or sex so why is it allowed to do so on age? This could only be fair if non-accompanied adults where barred from the facility during kids swim times

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah-lancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEILFMUIR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hotel. My apologises that you were so disappointed with the Children's opening times in the Leisure.

As we operate a club that not only is open to Hotel residents but also nearly 1000 paying members we have to take into account all requirements and therefore are obliged to restict times for children through the week. However children are able to visit the pool at what we have established, through concensus, are at the most popular times - I am so sorry these times did not suit your family on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    356
    135
    47
    31
See reviews for
137
394
49
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here on a weekend. Hotel was very nice. Standard double room, not the biggest. The mini bar was empty on arrival. As a suprise my girlfriend ordered a champagne breakfast for us both in the morning to our room. In the morning it arrived earlier than we were told, and half my girlfriends breakfast was missing, also they forgot to bring the champagne up. After calling reception to complain they brought the rest of the food and champagne 20 minutes later after we had finished our breakfast. The food was very poor and very cold. So i would'nt recommend ordering room service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trueyid85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEILFMUIR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Thank you for reviewing the Hotel.

I was pleased that overall your were pleased with your stay. However please accept my apologises for the disappointment over the Room Service Breakfast. I have spoken to our Restaurant Manager to ensure such shortfalls are not repeated in the future - certainly this is not reflective of our normal levels of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I paid for my daughter and her husband to stay here for their 2nd anniversary. I wrote this on 'special requirements'. I was horrified when my child called the next morning heartbroken and in tears telling of staff rudeness plus a host of other problems. They were booking into the executive club which turned out to be farce. The executive lounge has only 6 tables in a tiny room seating 6 couples. At breakfast they waited 15mins to be seated but when they decided to seat themselves were shouted at by a cleaner and humiliated in from of other guests. This is only fraction of the problems they encountered

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mscwhite3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEILFMUIR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Thank you for your review.

Please accept my sincere apologises for the problems experienced by your daughter during their recent stay. Please be assured these shortfalls in service in no way reflect the high levels of service normally offered by this Hotel. Neverthereless I have spoken to the respective Departmental Managers in order that the appropriate corrective training can be completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We have Platinum status with Holiday Inn, so we get upgraded to the club room upon arrival. Very efficient check-in & check-out, polite staffs. Modern-stylish room, comfortable bed, funky bathroom. Especially loved the "Sleep" aromatherapy kit.

Club Lounge was great for working on the laptop. The room temperature was a little cold though. Didn't have the chance to try the snacks, self-service drinks station was good, we had hot chocolates, teas and coffees.

Bar/restaurant was good. Great service, tasty food, tried the local beer that was quite good.

Overall it was a luxurious experience, exactly what we expected for a hotel of that class. We've been recommending the hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kucing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lreading, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to us, and for your positive comments. I am that the levels of service you received met your expectations, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
225 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed 3 nights here in 'executive' room over a long weekend in order primarily to visit Farnborough Air Show.

Although one might not normally visit Reading for leisure purposes, found all this just fine and excellent value for money.

Thames-side location is delightful; so is Caversham village-like situation too.

All in all, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lreading, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay during your visit to Farnborough.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in Reading and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel should you be in the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Only stayed one night when we attended the Water Aid charity raft race on the Thames but it was really nice. We booked 4 executive rooms (room 151 - 154) which overlooked the river to the rear of the hotel and all had nice balconies. Rooms were a bit tight for space but this was manily down to the size of the large bed. Bathrooms were compact but well equpped. We dined there in the evening and although at first the menu didn't appear very appetising the meals we had were lovely. Buffet style breakfast which again was lovely. Didn't use the facilities but the gym and the pool looked a decent size.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JocastaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lreading, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a positive experience.

I hope that should you be in the Reading area in future you would choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

This is a lovely hotel and the staff are mostly excellent. We stayed 2 nights and on the second night were unfortunately located just above the courtyard where a wedding on until 1am. We complained and although could not be moved the situation was resolved amiably afterwards thanks to the very professional team of staff. We loved the spa facilities, they are clearly newly refurbished and well looked after. The room was spacious and comfortable.

I would recommend that unless you are with the wedding party/ party ask to be located away from the courtyard if such an event is on. Otherwise enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raomame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lreading, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience of noise yo experienced during your stay however am pleased that overall you had a pleasant stay with us.

It is possible to request rooms away from function suites which we will endeavour to accommodate.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza in Reading for any future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,791 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.6 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Address: Caversham Bridge Richfield Avenue, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#8 Business Hotel in Reading
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel in the heart of Reading on the banks of the River Thames provides a tranquil venue easily accessible from the M4, London Heathrow Airport and London Paddington Station. We offer 200 complimentary parking spaces on site. The local area offers the Oracle shopping centre and Vue Cinema, an array of restaurants, the Thames Valley Business Park, Green Park and Madjeski Football Stadium (home of Reading Football Club).As a guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Reading you have full access to the Revive Health Club and Spa with indoor pool. The modern spa offers a wide selection of Elemis treatments. Bedrooms at the Crowne Plaza Reading are spacious with soft and earthy decor, seriously comfy beds with work desks and high speed internet access. Our Acqua Restaurant serves modern British cuisine sourced from local suppliers. You can also enjoy a lighter or healthier meal in the lobby bar or terrace overlooking the River Thames. 24HR Room Service is also available for those guests arriving late or departing early The Caversham Business Suite is a self contained Meeting Centre for conferences and private dining. All rooms offer natural daylight and a private terrace overlooking the River Thames. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading is an ideal wedding venue licensed for Civil Ceremonies and can cater for banqueting or private parties in Reading for up to 180 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Reading Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing