We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff are breath of fresh air.”
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff are breath of fresh air.”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

2 night stay in July, 3rd stay in the hotel and still great, unassuming, efficient, friendly service.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, I recommend getting a room on the opposite side to the IDR, sometimes th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracksuitdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    789
    327
    132
    62
See reviews for
159
638
111
973
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed one night. Room spacious and clean but thought the decor and lighting was garish and not relaxing in the slightest. Huge bed but a little soft for me. Hated the texture of the bottom sheet - rough brushed cotton.The pillows were absolutely awful - no support and I had a dreadful night as a result. I suggest Penta follow Travel Lodge Express' excellent example of providing a selection of soft and firm pillows to cater for individual preference.The duvets were rather too warm for this time of year even with the aircon on. Good shower and toiletries. Would have appreciated two bottles of water rather than one as not enough for a couple. Iron and ironing board brought up promptly from reception.
Reception staff pleasant but again the decor in reception put me off - awful uncomfortable chairs covered in material which looked as if they should have been on the set of Toy Story!! I love modern design but this was not stylish. Good variety at breakfast including lovely breads and fresh croissants. Would have liked Earl Grey tea and I thought the cooked breakfast looked greasy so didn't have it which meant the £14 paid not good value. Checkout very slow.

Room Tip: Quieter out the back not overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed with 4 friends for trip to Royal Ascot. Although check-in not usually until 2pm, the receptionist got one of the two rooms we had booked sorted when we arrived at about 11am, which was great because we could get ready in time to get to station. Room lovely, although it was facing the ring-road, which I have to say was a little noisy (we actually thought a window was open but it wasn't). The room itself was lovely with massive bed, bathroom and shower perfect. We had a fantastic meal in the evening, the food was excellent and a very reasonable price. We had booked bed and breakfast and on arrival back late at hotel checked on the t.v. what time breakfast was. It said at weekends it was served until 11a.m. We arranged to meet down there just after 10am only to be told that they had finished serving at 10. We advised that the tv had said it was 11 only to be told that was wrong and the key card we had received on check-in stated it ended at 10. However the reception had not pointed this out when we checked in (maybe we should have looked at it more closely but we were in a bit of a rush to get ready and out). We asked if we could just have toast or cereals etc but the Duty Manager said this wasn't possible as they had to get ready for lunch. We were also told that we hadn't actually got breakfast included. Luckily I had a copy of the confirmation with me which stated that I had booked a weekend package which included breakfast (booked and paid for, I hasten to add, in April). So I would advise that you take your confirmation of your booking with you! After a bit of deliberating we were able to have some breakfast, albeit from the cold buffet - which again was very good - can only imagine what the hot buffet would have been like!! Anyway, the situation was resolved more than adequately. We all agreed we would stay again. Oh, car park across the road and you get a discounted rate when staying at the hotel, but DON'T go over the 24hrs because it reverts to the proper rate, we went 5 mins over!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankieStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Went here my first time for a single night stay, travelling for businness.
The hotel is really in central Reading, at 5 minutes walk from the Stationa and close to the shopes, restaurants, pubs etc.
Arrived at the reception and the environment was noisy due to high volume music, so it was difficult to understand the receptionist.
The room is ultra-simple, minimalist, with no mini-bar, no iron, nothing but a very confortable bed and a big HD tv. There is a 30 minutes free wifi internet connection available.
Bathroom is ok, nice soap and foam present.
Used the restaurant in the evening, open until 10pm. Had a good Fish'n'Chips and a Cider for 19 GBP.
Since there's no bar in the room, you can take beverages/snacks from the machines, but have coins with you.
Breakfast is excellent with a huge variety of any juice, english and american breakfast, cereals, and everything you can think to.
Fast checkout.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrado C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Stayed there couple of weeks ago and i loved the place!!! Funnky and relaxed ,friendly and very helpful staff...would stay there definately again,enjoyed the restaurant food,heard new menu is coming aswell so looking foward of coming back and breakfast was just beautiful!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlet1111_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I liked the style and the music in the lounge!
The stuff is helpful, the rooms are clean and cool!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamMarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Had an absolute nightmare on my first night here. All is forgiven following the manager Andrew contacting me and resolving the issues.
I stayed on a Friday, the atmosphere was great in the lobby and the male receptionist was excellent and very good at his job.
The only disappointment is the room. The design is very Ikea, very shiny and this removes from the comfort of the stay. Bright orange hangers and huge paisley prints do feel like a bit 'argos'. In a hotel I always feel you want to be comfortable and relaxed not blinded by the furniture.
The room service is only 6pm to 11pm which I found a little disappointing. This is not a cheap hotel and considering the price charged for a room normally I would have expected longer hours of room service and also a mini bar.
however, the place serves a purpose well.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverlohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Property: pentahotel Reading
Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing