We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great breakfast”
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great breakfast”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here and we'll definitely be back. We stayed Friday and Saturday night and didn't have to check out until 3.00pm on the Sunday, and could take breakfast up until 2.00pm (10.00am the rest of the week). Lovely buffet breakfast with a huge choice and plenty of everything. As other have said the beds are huge and very comfortable, the bathrooms are smart and modern. Used a price comparison website to get the best deal - well worth doing as we saved quite a lot of money. My tip would be to take a small mirror if you're going to use tongs or straighteners as we didn't have a mirror anywhere near a plug socket - a hair dryer is provided in the bathroom.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carrie074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    803
    338
    134
    65
See reviews for
161
650
113
997
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Room was disabled so everythin a bit too low for comfort, otherwise a nice room. Checkin took an eternety and breakfast was cold and very dry. No hot water for a cup of tea either!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fysmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed just one night, as we had a family do in Reading, and chose this hotel initially because of the great deal we got on the rooms: £60 per room, so one night cost us £120 for a family of four.
The hotel is modern and very stylish, a true boutique hotel, the service is professional yet friendly, and it was the comfiest bed I've slept in in a hotel! The room was classed as king size, but the bed was far larger than that : all four of us could have fitted in!
Breakfast was included in the price (unbelievable!) and to be honest, we weren't expecting much, but it was superb: fresh muesli, cereals, fresh fruits, posh yoghurt, Danish pastries, smoked salmon, cured meats, hams and cheeses, full English (and the bacon and sausage were good quality, not cheap and fatty), fruit juices, coffee........... (apologies, Penta, if I've left anything out!)
We have a long drive (minimum 3.5 hours) when we go down to Reading, but knowing that we can stay at the Penta makes it worthwhile - it's clean, comfortable and excellent value. We will definitely stay there again!
ps - my husband travels to Paris occasionally with work, and says he would put it on a par with a 4* hotel there, easily.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggiesfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2011

A budget hotel but yet gorgeous and stylish. It may a bit IKEA but you will love it. I would have go say it's far more better than Travel Lodge and Premier Inn.

Everything was perfect. The staffs were totally welcoming. The food and service was excellent.

I would definitely stay over there if I go around Reading. But to be honest, I really don't like the name Penta. And also, I think the parking area is a bit far from the hotel as I had trouble with my suitcase.

And, beware of their vending machine, it ate my pound.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Just stayed here for one night after Reading Festival. Special £60 rate for a twin room including breakfast and reduced tariff on parking at the Q Car Park across the road. Very good room. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philiusfogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Well I wasn't expecting this..it's years since I stayed in Reading and we checked in here befor our flight from Heathrow tomorrow...sorry London forget those high priced hotels...this is the perfect place to stay...I can't believe I am even writing a review...the room is funky and the two girls love it...the movies are free...the plug (american adapter) was free the room service was fantastic and reasonable after we had ventured out to ASK which was not so good!! I can't believe it ...it's truly awesome why would you go and stay in London??? Well done to the staff and management at the Penta Hotel I wish you had been here years ago when I worked for YELL, 10 out of 10 well maybe we will take .1% off for the room being a bit too warm...otherwise can't wait to come back maybe shopping at Christmas...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colstonview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, West Yorkshire.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Just ask for a quiet room. Everything else is fine.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
998 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Property: pentahotel Reading
Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing