We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic in Reading”
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Pentahotel is a great hotel in the heart of Reading. Very close to the shops, bars and restaurants, we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel.

The hotel has a very arty feel to it from the moment you walk in to reception. The staff were great, especially Inga who answered every query quickly and was very friendly and helpful.
The staff at this hotel were all super friendly. As we were leaving before breakfast was served, they prepared a take away bag for us with ample pastries, yoghurt and fruit which were a nice touch.

The Room was not huge small but has plenty of space to hang clothes etc. Bed was nice, big and comfortable.

The bar in the lobby area has every drink you could want. The lounge area had a great ambience.

Parking is available a couple of streets away (few minutes walk) in a secure car park so be aware of this if you are carrying lots of luggage from the car.

As others have mentioned, the AC in the room had a loud humming noise all night and didn't really work. The room was quite hot at night.

Apart from the AC issue, I am looking forward to staying at Pentahotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,372)
There are newer reviews for pentahotel Reading
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,122 - 2,128 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Went to the Reading Festival as a Sunday Guest, was within easy reach by foot.about 15 minutes walk away.
On arrival we were greeted by the reception staff who were very friendly. As we were too early to check in, our bags were put in a save place until we returned.
The decor of the hotel was very modern, with comfy sofas in the reception area. Our room was a very spacious, with a large king size bed with 2 plump duvets, with soft pillows, the was also a complimentary bottle of water in the room. In bathroom was a walking shower, a hair dryer and a complimentary wash pack that contained shower gel, shampoo, body lotion & soap, which wash a lovely touch.
The breakfast was a buffet, which catered for everyone, there was cakes, pastries, fresh fruit an assortment of breads, cereal & of course a full english. Plenty of choice of juices & hot drinks.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Arrived after 3pm and initially were unable to check-in as they were unable to get the rooms cleaned due to Reading Festival... Very unhelpful woman could not give us an estimate for when the room would be ready only some time between 30 minutes and 5 hours. Luckily, another lady on the check-in desk had the common sense to give us a room that was ready so we were able to check in after complaining. Room was reasonable size but air con didn't work so it was very hot. Positives - good central location and breakfast was amazing. Best buffet-style breakfast I've had.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackandwhite23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I was disappointed with my stay. I was traveling for business and my stay was dependent on work. I had booked my stay online which did not seem to matter when I asked to extend my stay. However, after a second night I wanted to leave, now the issue of my booking online became an issue.
The Hotel staff seemed to be a hit or miss. Internet was slow even the "broadband". Air Condition was not working. Noisy and forgot to make the Wake-up call.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccawii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

A brilliant hotel with nice decorations and well styled rooms. Not the largest of bathrooms but they gave everything you need and free designer toileteries. The best breakfast selection i have ever had. The receptionist was very helpful with sorting out the room and even printing airport details

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lottieandbarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This hotel was a bit of a "stretch of the legs" from the Reading Train station. We hired a cab to take our luggage to the hotel, 5 pounds. Then after we moved in we walked every time we wanted to go into London. The hotel reception was posh, modern decor, very large, and tasteful. The room was large, the beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was very chic. There are many ports for your electronics and worked with our converter we used in France. A hairdryer is in the room along with a tea kettle, bags, sugar, and cups. This hotel would get an excellent rating except our AC really wasn't kicking in and the windows are locked shut. You can request the window open, which we did. Our friends room was just as warm...seems they have an AC issue. Front desk staff was helpful, and they do have safes for your Passports. The neighborhood was ok, a little dodgy but plenty of shopping, and restaurants-bars, we were 4 woman traveling together and never had any problems.

Room Tip: call and check on the ac
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyntasticmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

So, the Wife and I stayed in the PentaHotel in Reading last night. Its not a bad hotel at all !!

Firstly, dont follow the postcode from the website on your TomTom, Satnav, Computerised Losing System ... it'll take you to the back end of a random shop. Follow the road name instead and all will be well with the World.

Secondly, the parking is an issue. The hotel do not have a car park nearby and so you will have to stay in the Q carpark nearby, which for the 24hours (with the discount the hotel give you) will cost around £10. It's really the only issue we found.

Away from this th hotel is lovely. The staff are very welcoming and when you walk in you are welcomed by a large bar which joins the reception desk.

Check in was quick and easy and then we were up to our room. First floor, so no real view, but a very large bed, big powerful shower and somewhere to get our head down. It was clean and tidy and I dont have anything negative to say about the room at all.

In the evening, after going out for a meal we went back to the bar. The staff were friendly and knew their stuff about the different wines and whiskeys available which always shows a love for the job. Prices werent too bad, £15 for two glasses of red, a beer and a whiskey.

Overall the hotel was very good indeed, with only the parking issue knocking it. For somewhere central to Reading town centre, but clean, tidy and quiet, I'd go back there again !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TristanBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
543 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £66 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing