We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near perfect for us. .”
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed here nov sat 24th. . Went to the heaxagon theatre to watch a band. 3minute walk to the hexagon.-perfect. Reception. So spacious, modern, and clean. . Great well priced bar. Cool place to chill and unwind. Service perfect as they let us book in 4hours early as our room empty.. Fantastic. Polite, professiönal efficient service . And room , well perfect again. Clean. Good size. Fantastic huge comfy bed. Great powerful hot shower. And didnt have to book out till 3pm. Perfect, . . So a great relaxing stay for us. Ok my one and only negative, i refused to pay £15 per person for breakfast. £30 for a couple of breakfasts Slightly out of our price range, We ate out in a nice breakfast bar we found 5mins walk away and we had a huge full english for £6 per head,. Would we stay again? Absolutly.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burnel054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,251 - 2,257 of 2,537 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

this is the best nights sleep ive had in ages and the shower was amazing, it was a nice central location and staff were all really helpful in getting taxis and telling us where to go. bar man was v polite and friendly,lovely decor everywhere round bar too with nice pool table. would def recommend

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holly23Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Going to Reading to see friends I looked for a budget hotel and was pleasantly surprised by the Penta. Very specious and modern rooms, very clean and great bathrooms, sadly no bath, but still very nice. The rest of the hotel was comfortable with a bar and drinks list that impressed and wasn't too pricy. So a comfortable place to spend an evening after work or the weekends.

Location wise it was 10 minutes walk from the train station and less to the main street so perfect for spending time in reading.

Only mentionable negative was the slightly pricy 15 pound charge for breakfast, however seeing it, it looked appetizing.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room if possible, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrettyflyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
READING
1
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel for a conference. Arrived and was pleasantly surprised by the reception.The staff were friendly and very helpful. In going up to my room again I was pleasantly surprised - clean and spacious. I ate in the bar and the food was very good - well presented and tasty and more importantly value for money. By far the best part of my stay was that I had the best night's sleep in ages. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. Woke up feeling great even though I only had 6 hours sleep. Thoroughly recommend. Thanks for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed here in July and although hotel looks a bit jaded from the outside - the inside is great. Welcoming, stylish and comfortable. Room was great and the beds were huge. General feel of the hotel was good fun and good service. Loved the WII in the bar area. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank softemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Stay here for 4 nights can not fault this hotel , does not take much to update a hotel that looks grim from the outside , however this hotel manages it , jazzy rooms modern smellies , hotel staff in tshirts and lovely continental breakfasts , the decor may not be to everyone's taste as you do feel you are in a nightclub and if you can survive the waft of bad aftershave from all the men in shiny suits that seem to book in
No complaints room service lovely and th Wii big bonus when travelling with a 5 year old .... This hotel gets a big thumbs up great location for shops and eating out ..... Please please build a swimming pool and I will return

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendywisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

The hotel has been modernised and is stylish, comfortable and spacious. Rooms are great with enormous beds. The bar is well stocked and service is good. The town centre location makes it a handy place to stay. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 31 in Reading
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £69 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Penta Hotels Germany GmbH, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing