We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and not so cheerfull” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of pentahotel Reading

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Cheap and not so cheerfull”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I booked an executive room and requested a bath online in advance but when it came to checking in, there was no bath and no breakfast included like it said when I made the booking, so not off to a great start although we sorted the breakfast mix up out later.

I have to say that the pictures on the website are a little miss leading because they depict a funky modern classy hotel and the reality is different. It's not terrible, but it has a cheap feel to it. I know I didn't pay the earth for this, about £85 but by comparison the Holiday in Reading J10 is only a few pounds more but there is a world of difference.

The hotel is also in quite a rough part of town. We saw lot's of drunks trying to get into the hotel for a late drink and we were told that they quite often have to call the police. The hotel had a bouncer on the door!!! The hotel has no parking so you have to haul your bags from the car-park along the streets to the hotel or drop them off first, which is not ideal.

The room was just OK. The view was of neighboring office roofs so not amazing and we down graded to have a room with a bath as the executive room did not have one. The room looked tired.

Breakfast is not great either. It was a buffet style which is fine but the cooked breakfast items were terrible. You can tell that the hotel uses the cheapest ingredients to cut costs. I actually could not eat my bacon and scrambled eggs and sausage so had cereal instead. The coffee is good though.

The one saving grace about this hotel is the staff. They are great, especially Terry who is the duty Manager (I think) She went out of her way to make things right and she is a real asset to this hotel as are the rest of the staff.

This hotel has potential to be good. I am sure that by making some minor improvements to the rooms and using better ingredients for breakfast, it could be quite nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi David. Thank you for writing your review about us. I am sorry for the few initial challenges but I’m glad they were quickly resolved for you. Reading is a vibrant town with a great party vibe about it at the weekends which is great for anyone looking for a civilized dinner or some serious clubbing. We do have a great relationship with our local force as any good business should in a busy town. We don’t have a need for a security guard on the door unless a specific event requires one and manage our property with our trained Duty Managers 24 / 7. The very secure and pleasant Qpark adjacent to us is a great asset to have near us for our guest parking so centrally. We are always more than happy to help with any luggage so just let us know when you pull up on our large front drive. I am sorry to hear that you felt your room was tired. This point is being investigated and the room in question stepped up in our planned, preventative maintenance programme to make sure it’s perfect. I am very surprised by your comments about breakfast as this is a key area of our business and we only provide the best. From Prosecco to smoked salmon to fine quality classic hot dishes I am sorry to hear this didn’t work for you. I would welcome more detailed feedback if at all possible as we want to ensure every single guest enjoys their most important meal of the day! Brilliant feedback about our staff and in particular Teri and I have ensured your praise has been passed on. Thank you again for your feedback. I do hope you get the opportunity to visit us again and am sure you will have a great time when you do.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    748
    315
    130
    61
See reviews for
151
610
109
935
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights on business after my booking at another hotel was cancelled at they last minute. Located just off St Mary's Butts it's easy to get to. Check in was quick, my booking said breakfast included but this was not what the hotel had but was honoured anyway. Room was nice, well furnished and clean. Bathroom was clean if a little small but could have done with a towel rail. Free movies included I the rate was a nice touch. Breakfast was okay, decent choice but very crowded around the buffet area. Will use this hotel again as central location makes it easy to go out for dinner.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi Jez. Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that circumstance lead to you staying with us! I have dropped you a note off-line and hope that we see lot’s more of you in the future. Thanks again.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed on a saturday night last week. Great decor and style which makes a change from the normal hotel chain. Room was nice, bed sheets were slightly stained and with quite a few little holes dotted around. The bed was huge and very comfy. Shower was good but little annoyances were, having to put toilet seat down to flush the loo and not enough places to put wet towels. Overall it is was good. We decided to have a siesta before hitting town but struggled with noise from the lifts (thankfully at night this was not a problem), and a door that shook constantly! I solved that problem by wedging paper around the door frame!
We had a drink in the bar before heading out. I asked for a gin and tonic and a beer. I was not offered a choice of gin but was given the dearest option which was very expensive even for a hotel bar in Reading! As my wife is not a fan of Tanquery gin it was a waste anyway, my fault for not checking! Felt ripped off !! Another gripe was some of the swearing from other customers who were watching the live football being shown in the bar. A sign of the times perhaps, but not very nice.
We decided to pass on the breakfast at £16 each and went outside to the nearest Pret!
We did enjoy our stay but probably will not return. Also, parking in a multi story car park, (extra cost) is not ideal. Shame, because quite a bit of what they do is good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am sorry to see there were a few niggles with your room which I have actioned the relevant members of the team to address. Also my apologies for the issue with the Gin which I can only put down to a misunderstanding. The team are certainly not targeted with upselling a certain brand over another – we just want you to have what you want from our awesome drinks selection and most importantly of all, enjoy yourself! With the selection and variety we have, our breakfast’s represent great value at £15 but we also have a special deal on check-in which makes it even more outstanding value! I strongly urge you to give it a whirl next time! Our local car park is some of the best quality, secure parking in Reading and worth every penny of the discounted rate we offer our guests. I do hope you get another chance to stay with us. If and when you do, if there is anything you would like to see, just speak to one of the friendly team on duty and they will do everything they can to make sure your stay is exceptional.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Pentahotel in Reading and was quite happy with the overall experience - the location is great. It is right in the center of the town and walkable distance from the train station (not if you have to haul luggage). The rooms and the hotel is clean, well maintained and I found the staff quite helpful with a no-nonsense attitude.

Bathrooms are the usual disappointments in UK hotels (for international travelers) but this hotel had a "full-sized" shower rather than the typical "cage" that you find in other hotels. However, I am yet to find the reason as to why hotels in the UK don't believe in the concept of shower curtains (this one doesn't have one either).

I believe UK tourism will see a double digit increase if they put good sized shower areas with curtains in their hotels/B&B with curtains.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted you had a great time with us. Thanks for the feedback on the showers; something I am sure we will consider in our future plans. Hope to see you again soon for more of the same great, no-nonsense good times!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and i wanted a night away, i must say what a stunning hotel,spotlessly clean,decor beautiful,massive bed shame about our neighbours that were very loud all night that we did not get much sleep but they were on a fun weekend and not the hotels fault as i am sure if we did complained they would have sorted something but we did not want to spoil any ones fun,bar was not too expensive,loved having a vending machine on our floor by the lifts so we could get a drink in the middle of the night also well priced,breakfast,well what a choice need to go back to experience the breakfast food i never had.if i had one fault for us the restaurant for evening meal was too expensive for us to eat in as we were on a budget night but if we did have money to burn we would of ate there.Been to a few hotels in reading now and i do not think you can beat this one.see you very soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review! I am very pleased you had a great time with us. I am sorry that you experienced some disturbance during your time with us; with our 24 hour duty managers always at hand just let us know if this happens again and we will tactfully deal with it. I am also sorry you didn’t get chance to eat dinner with us. We do have some extremely competitively valued items on our menu’s which you may not have spotted so please do give our menu another scan next time you’re with us and I’m sure we’ll be able to tempt you. Delighted you’ve found the best in town and we can’t wait to see you again soon!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

I was a bit dubious as to how a budget hotel could impress so many reviewers, but I wasn't disappointed.
The hotel is on the edge of Reading's main shopping area and has a young vibe, with an impressively large bar/lounge/reception area. Staff were friendly and efficient and everywhere was spotlessly clean.
The room was streamlined but well designed, with a huge (and very comfortable) bed. The bathroom was gorgeous, and the packaged toiletries 'to use or take home' were a nice touch. The room included free wifi and digiTV, as well as 10 free movie channels. Noise levels were acceptable - I didn't hear the traffic outside, but I was woken a couple of times by slamming doors and noisy guests in the corridor.
Overall a great hotel, and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for your extremely complimentary review! I am delighted you like all the cool things we do here because that’s what we’re all about! Looking forward to seeing you again next time.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have stayed here on business a number of times. The hotel is in a great location within Reading, lots of places to eat close by if you don't fancy the hotel for eating. All of the staff are friendly and attentive, cannot do enough for you.

The rooms are pretty big, very clean and the bed is really comfy. Try and get a room away from the main road that runs just to the right of the hotel as it can get a little noisy.

As a business guest I use the WiFi, the connection quality is really good in the room and the common areas of the hotel, the price is great for the quality of service it provides.

Plenty of businesses use the hotel for meetings and for Christmas parties as well, it's a very popular place with plenty of guests, for the price they charge you it is very well worth the price, especially compared to other hotels which are not as good quality in my opinion.

In summary, a great hotel, I spend a lot of time here for business so I will be coming back for many more visits.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road or higher up when they have parties, it can get a bit loud, not ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartynCoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi Martyn. Thank you for your great review. I am delighted to see you like so much about what we do here at pentahotel Reading. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#7 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Property: pentahotel Reading
Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the city centre, pentahotel Reading is the perfect choice no matter if you are travelling for leisure or for business. The four-star hotel has 11 meeting and event spaces for up to 250 people. European cuisine is served in the onsite restaurant which is open for breakfast lunch and dinner. Your room has air conditioning free on-demand pay TV and a private bathroom. Free Wifi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing