We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Stow-on-the-Wold
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel is one of the smartest I have stayed in. The reception are is absolutely gorgeous. I stayed in a twin room with my Mum and the beds were the comfiest I've ever slept in. (Not single but not quite double)

Although breakfast was a veritable feast it was a bit of a kerfuffle! They ran out of plates, bowls, glasses and mugs (I had to ask someone for all of these!) and breakfast items needed to be replenished more often. Mum had a cooked breakfast with no scrambled egg and I had no hash browns. The coffee machines both broke and when they had been 'fixed' only served hot chocolate as there were no coffee beans!

It was great to have a checkout time of 2pm rather than the usual 12pm. It meant after going shopping we were able to go back up to our room, rest our feet and have a drink before checking out and going home.

All staff were very friendly and my only issue was with breakfast.

I would very much recommend this hotel. I just hope that next time I come, breakfast is a bit more organised!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thanks for your review Jess. I am delighted that overall you had a great stay with us and will be back. We had an unexpected peak of demand during the breakfast you described that should not have affected you. Very sorry for that; we have put measures in place and won’t happen next time. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future for 100% perfection!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    745
    312
    130
    61
See reviews for
151
608
109
930
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a very memorable stay at the hotel. We were very surprised to find a hotel like this existed in Reading. London style Boutique Chic. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The beds are huge and the breakfast is a buffet style one, with every choice of food you can imagine. The staff were all very helpful and hospitable. We also attended the Back to Love party with the Legendary Paul Trouble Anderson. We have to say it was the best night that we have ever had in Reading. What an amazing crowd of people. The soulful music was second to none. We are definitely coming back to this event and staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDavis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thanks for your glowing review Peter. I am delighted you had such a great time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel has a lovely feel to it really stylish and spacious, all the staff are only to happy to help and friendly, top marks Penta! Great food, a well stocked bar, rooms very clean and everything you need in them.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pentahotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had such a great time with us and enjoyed everything we do! Thanks again and see you again soon!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed at the Pentahotel, Reading on 8th March for an event being held "Back to Love". From check in to check out, I had the most amazing stay. The reception staff were fantastic and only too happy to help. Check in was speedy with no request being too much. My room was fantastic. Very funky decor. The most comfy bed I've ever slept in in a hotel and fabulous rain forest style shower. A real luxury experience for a fraction of a luxury hotel price!

After the best night of soulful house music and dancing (the monthly event being headlined by DJ Paul "trouble" Anderson..I'd also highly recommend anyone going to this event the next time its held), I was glad of the buffet style breakfast in the morning......this was really really tasty with a perfect selection of both hot and cold breakfast options. Well done to the chefs! Couldn't fault the food.

Check out on a Sunday is 3pm so loads of time to relax and recover after the heavy night before. A genius idea!

I will definitely stay at the Pentahotel again in the very near future!

P.S - the disco ball in the bar/reception area is a brilliant idea. Really sets the mood! Well done to all the staff at Pentahotel for making my stay so comfortable.

Room Tip: 6th floor is a smoking floor if you are after a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamamayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks so much for your fantastic review! I am delighted you had such a great time with us and hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I attended ''Back to Love'' featuring Paul Trouble Anderson on Saturday 8th March. I had the best night ever in Reading, the music along with great people on the night. The organiser's did an amazing job and the Hotel experience from staff to room quality was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parham Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Parham. Thanks so much for your fantastic review. It was a great night and I am pleased you enjoyed it too. Thanks for the compliments and hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The overall experience was OK but very noisy.
The room was lovely and the bed was massive and comfortable
Which is a bonus as were kept awake until 4.30 am by a ”female based party" which took place in one of the rooms.
Called reception but were told it was a hotel for everybody.
I don't like to complain as the building was loverly and great location to all of reading itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrina232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Corrina. Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that overall you had a positive stay with us. I am sorry for any disturbance from other guests. This is something that we would pick up on our regular patrols of the hotel and deal with or resolve when we are made aware. Apologies if this was not addressed quickly enough for you. That aside I am delighted you loved our hotel and location and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Having stayed here before, we were delighted to have a free weekend to spend a weekend in Reading. On arriving to the hotel, your greeted with a lovely ambience. Queuing up, it took an unusual long time to be checked in. Once settled. We went out to reading and enjoyed shopping and some food and decided to spend our night in the hotel bar. We got back to our room to get ready and ventured down to reception. We were then horrified to see a dating night was taking place and was advised we could not go to the back area of the bar. This was not advised to us on entrance to the hotel. There was nowhere to sit so unhappily went to our room. The morning after we woke up to have a shower and discovered it was blocked and therefore we were unable to shower for the day. On checking out that morning and advising the staff of the blockage, we got a simple glare. No apology or offer of another room to have a shower. We then decided to have a few drinks in the bar before leaving to go home. Stood at the bar for 15 minutes before the unbusy receptionist came over. The staff are clearly unhappy and not once do you get a smile. What was to be a nice weekend away in a hotel we normally enjoy, it was ruined. We will not be returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leehalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Lee. Thank you for your feedback and my sincere apologies that you visit to us did not meet your expectations. We have indeed hosted an event which occupied just a small portion of our lovely, big pentalounge. I am also pleased to say it was a busy night in our bar with a fantastic buzz but I am sorry you couldn’t find a seat when you popped down. I am surprised with the way you have described how your maintenance concern was addressed. This is not the way we deal with things and I can only apologise if there was a misunderstanding there. I am however investigating this point to see if we need to carry out some re-training with one of our team members. I am also very surprised that you waited an entire quarter of an hour to get served a drink. Our bar and reception is one, integral structure as part of our centre-piece pentalounge meaning you can check-in and out in the same place you can order a crisp beer or one of our outstanding bar meals. Our teams are trained to facilitate this happening and I can assure you they are a happy bunch! I am sorry to hear you will not be returning and do hope you change your mind as I am sure with a few actions from your valuable feedback and with the fantastic things we are doing at the hotel we can give you a pretty awesome experience again.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#7 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Property: pentahotel Reading
Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the city centre, pentahotel Reading is the perfect choice no matter if you are travelling for leisure or for business. The four-star hotel has 11 meeting and event spaces for up to 250 people. European cuisine is served in the onsite restaurant which is open for breakfast lunch and dinner. Your room has air conditioning free on-demand pay TV and a private bathroom. Free Wifi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing