We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The current problem in Reading is there insufficient hotel accommodation, but the Penta does NOT take advantage of this. It's well furnished, very comfortable and the staff friendly.

Food is excellent both in the restaurant and at the bar; although bar service is the major "let down", nevertheless I frequently use the Penta when in Reading, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Richard. Thank you for your lovely feedback. Sorry you feel we need to look at our bar service to bring in line with the standard of everything else – this will certainly be reviewed. See you next time!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    748
    315
    130
    61
See reviews for
151
610
109
935
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Arrived at Penta for a Back to love music event pleasantly surprised at the style an quality of the hotel. Friendly staff, lovely rooms, huge comfy kingsize bed, yummy breakfast and a bonus late checkout for a complete relaxing stay. Really nice evening atmosphere, awesome music, couldnt ask for more! Look forward to our next stay, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessa1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Nessa. Thanks for your awesome feedback. It is totally appreciated! Really pleased you had a great time with us and look forward to seeing you again next time!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the penta for a back to love d j night. Which was amazing. Everything about it was great. The room, the night, the staff, the service and the breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambersmum5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks very, very much for your great feedback! Hope to see you again soon for another great stay.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at the Penta on business for a month and a half. What makes the Penta great is their staff and their hard work. Always pleasant always willing to help. Great Rib Eye steak in the restaurant. Carmen and the team are very professional. Cleanliness of the Hotel is very good. Beds are fantastic. Great breakfast served in the mornings and they offer pretty much anything you could ask for. Thanks to James for considering the daily wifi costs which can be high. Overall I would highly recommend the Penta for a short or long stay. The quality of their staff makes the hotel a really great value. Thanks for making the Penta my home away from home!

Room Tip: Third floor is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Wow Robert – that’s such lovely feedback. Thank you! It was great to meet you and we all hope we see you again soon at ‘home’!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

On arrival this afternoon I was greeted and booked in by a young lady who was extremely helpful and polite. I am attending a music event function in the hotel. What can I say... the rooms are spotlessly clean.. The beds are huge... even the toiletries in the tropical shower bathroom left me feeling amazing... Definitely NOT cheap quality. The Sales Manager Ian is a great host and very professional. I would most definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Andrea. Thanks so much for your awesome review. I’m delighted you like what we do! Your feedback has been passed back to a very pleased Sales Manager too! Thank you.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My first stay at a Pentahotel. Conveniently located in walking distance to local shops and restaurants. Pleasant atmosphere in the lobby and lounge areas. Staff was personable and helpful. Full buffet breakfast was well stocked and made for a good start to the day. Room on the exterior near the thoroughfare was a little noisy but the interior rooms were fine according to my colleague. One negative, WiFi only connects for 30 mins at a time before you need to login again. It's frequently slow and saturated in the evenings.

Room Tip: Pick one on the interior away from the busy highway behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope this is the first of many! We have very competitively priced high-speed internet available which would be worth a try next time. Thanks again.
Best wishes.,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havant
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on sat 26th april. Hotel itself is very nice, clean and modern. Massive super king size bed, nice ensuite.

All was good till 3am when I tooka call from reception to tell me my Domino's had arrived!! Not strictly hotel fault mind but annoying yes, however worse to come.....at 5am the fire alarm went off, my partner and I chucked some clothes on and left down the fire exit, no real issues. Waited outside at the fire assembly point for about 10 minutes, no sign of any staff, so we headed round to reception where about 100 people were waiting. We overheard the staff say it was a false alarm so we headed back to the room. Staff organisation was poor, no one seemed to know what was going on or where their guests were. We spoke to reception on our check out, I feel there was not enough staff to deal with the situation only 2 were visable an there must have been 200 guests.

Couple of other points, room keys hardly worked, had to put it in about 10 times before the door opened. Breakfast was really good, location very good for shops and riverside restaurants.

Overall I would stay again and without the fire alarm and phone call would have been 4 stars. Fair price for a fair hotel.

Couple of

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bigcol218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Big Col. Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased that you liked our hotel. I am however very sorry for the disturbances on both counts. During the incident I believe the team worked quickly and safely to minimize the impact of a very unfortunate situation and did their very best to communicate to as many people as possible. I am sorry that you felt we could have done better in this area and can assure you that this has been reviewed and will feature as a key point in our next, regular evacuation test. I hope you get the chance to stay with us again and can assure you that it will be faultless.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#7 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Property: pentahotel Reading
Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the city centre, pentahotel Reading is the perfect choice no matter if you are travelling for leisure or for business. The four-star hotel has 11 meeting and event spaces for up to 250 people. European cuisine is served in the onsite restaurant which is open for breakfast lunch and dinner. Your room has air conditioning free on-demand pay TV and a private bathroom. Free Wifi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing