We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We got an amazing last minute deal to stay at this hotel, and after parking down the road and walking to the hotel we thought we'd made a mistake...but on walking through the hotel doors we were amazed at the decor, staff, rooms- everything!
The reception is modern and you check in along side the bar area. Staff were friendly and we really appreciated being given a 3pm check out time the following day!
The room was modern, clean and spacious and we were given very cool toiletries. Our room view wasn't great but we had no noise disturbances and had a lovely nights sleep in the big comfy bed. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hecls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
You can’t beat a pleasant surprise! Thanks so much for your lovely review. Glad to see you would definitely stay with us again and we look forward to when that happens!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    789
    327
    132
    62
See reviews for
159
638
111
973
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We really enjoied staying at the hotel me and my family. Special thanks to the reciption team, "Carmen" for her assaistante. The staff are very helpful, as well as thier freindlly attitude. The hotel have a good location, near to resturante and lots of activities. A speical thanks again to "Sweet" Carmen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Abdullah. Thanks for your lovely review. It’s great to hear that we looked after you so well and lovely feedback about Carmen and her team! Hope to see you and the family again soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a really nice hotel. Even better, now that the lifts are working again. Parking is off site but this is at a greatly reduced rate. The bottled beer is a bit pricey, but then its a hotel. Great rooms and food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Steven. Thank you for your review and for always choosing the right place to stay in Reading! It’s great that you like what we do and I’m glad we continue to hit the mark for you. See you next time.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with my girlfriend, and I must say we loved it! We have stayed the Hilton and Novotel in reading, as we much prefer this hotel to them two. A very stylish reception/lounge is very different to any other hotel we have stayed at but also very nice. The room was great, massive bed had room for five of us, free sky sports (play off final was on when I stayed, so was very pleased) and free box office movies was a bonus. We really liked the lighting, you can turn off different lights around the room to suit your mood! The decor is very modern and bright but also soothing to look at. Shower was amazing, the head of the shower is massive! Only thing that did let it down is the sound of the motorway next to out room.. Was very noisy at times but we didn't let it ruin our stay. Breakfast was decent, a good choice available. To top things off as we were leaving on a Sunday we were allowed to check out at 3pm, this was great and allowed us to watch 'The Wolf Of Wall Street' which was available on the tv. Thanks pentahotel, we will be returning!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akightley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you very much for your glowing review. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Here for a 3-night meeting on business. One of my colleagues changed rooms as there was blood on the floor!

Otherwise, the room seemed clean and the beds are large and comfortable. There are no tea& coffee making facilities, no fridge/minibar and no bathroom extras provided so it's pretty basic.

The staff were wearing football strips (low rent) but one must presume this is in deference to a game somewhere? However, as a professional business traveller and not a 20 year old lad on a Stag Do, I found it unprofessional. The rooms are garishly decorated with strip lighting.

Breakfast was standard breakfast buffet which was ok, but if you like a more comfortable and traditional hotel with good facilities, then go elsewhere.

This hotel would probably suit Hen Dos or those who require nothing but a bed.

Room Tip: Road noise on first level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elfiemarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear elfiemarden. Thanks very much for your review. I am very sorry to see that we didn’t score so high with you. To answer your points I am sorry to hear that your colleague had to move rooms. Our housekeeping standards are extremely high and it is incredibly unlikely that there could have been an issue as described. However this is being investigated and I forward my apologies to your colleague. I’m glad you liked our luxurious beds! Every room has a tea and coffee facility stored away in the cool shelving and wardrobe areas. If you’d like a fridge we have many so please just ask! We also have fabulously funky Anatomical toiletries in our bathrooms which our guests tend to always love! With reference to the t-shirts the team are wearing, we are of course gearing up to the World Cup! It’s going to be a totally exciting time to be in our hotel with games being shown on large screen, really exciting food and drink offers and interactive challenges for everyone to win some fab prizes! Every room has a selection of lamps, reading lights and general room lighting to suit all tastes; it’s just worth trying a few settings to see what really works well for you. I am very sorry to see that all the cool things we are doing here at pentahotel Reading aren’t quite for you however we are infinitely flexible so why not give us a try again and tell us in person what really works for you and I am sure we will do everything we can to deliver.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to this hotel. It's a lovely modern, boutique style hotel with ultra low lighting in reception and super cool bedrooms. The shower is a rainfall type and is luxurious. The beds are huge and the rooms light and Airy.

The hotel is central and with parking at a discounted rate over the road (q car parks) it is great for leaving the car and exploring Reading with it's many shops and restaurants.

The breakfast in the morning was plentiful with lots of choice and very laid back and chilled. Also with a late checkout Of 12..

My husband and I love this hotel and will be returning that's for sure.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank catlee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. I am delighted that we continue to deliver a great experience for you and thank you for your loyalty. Looking forward to seeing you again next time!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had a good offer on this hotel last minute.Great size bedrooms with funky and bright decoration. Staff at reception very helpful. Great location, near all main street shopping. This is the second time I've stayed and enjoyed both visits.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Philip. Thanks for you fab review and coming back to see us again. Looking forward to next time!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Property: pentahotel Reading
Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing