We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Quality”
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
1 review
“Low Quality”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Elevator / Lift is a pain. Out of 2 main lifts only 1 works and you have to wait for ages for it to arrive at your floor. Alternative lift is so smelly that you wonder if it is a hotel or a workshop. Reception(ists) too are not so cordial. Rooms are okay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rohan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Rohan. Thanks very much for your review. I am sorry that your stay with us was marred by one of our lifts being out of order. We are currently working on this. I am sorry that our alternative lift wasn’t the pleasant experience it should’ve been. We have taken immediate action on this. Thank you also for the feedback on our Reception team which is being investigated. I hope these points wouldn’t deter you from staying with us again and I hope we get the chance in the future to WOW you.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    793
    332
    133
    63
See reviews for
160
644
111
982
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My husband was staying at The Penta Hotel for a week while on a course in Reading. I decided to join him for a night at the hotel and was sorry to have to leave as the Penta and it's staff are excellent. It is in close proximity to the shops and restaurants. Also the room was a good size, great bed and shower room. The breakfast was also excellent and I have to say the fruit salad was the best ever - fresh raspberries, blackberries, blueberries included! The staff were also really helpful. Well done Penta - hope to be back soon.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Nicola. Thanks very much for your lovely review. I am delighted you had a great stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This Hotel with its good location and quite fair breakfast has gained some positive rates. I've stayed here twice and my opinion is based on these two occasions.
Good;
This hotel is quite decent, beds are comfortable and it's location is good.

Bad;
During peak hours, waiting time for check in or check out is painful.
During both visits only one elevator was operational.
To get an iron to my room I had to wait over 40 minutes and when it finally arrived, the iron was broken.
Carpets in the rooms and corridors remember better times - they are stained and dirty.
If you fancy a drink in the hotel bar, just don't expect the bartender to know anything about wine or drinks - just get the beer and be happy.
Finally don't ever, ever agree to stay in the smoking room, if the hotel is fully booked, find another one or if the weather is nice stay outside.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RafaelGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Raphael. Thank you very much for your review and feedback. I was disappointed to see that there were certain elements that meant you didn’t have as fantastic a time as you should’ve done with us. Needless to say you have my sincere apologies and assurance that your points are being looked at for resolution. Hope to see you again for an all-round great time.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner have stayed here twice, once in December 2013 and again in March 2014 both visits were amazing we love this hotel, the location is perfect walking distance from all the shops, bars, restaurants and clubs, the hotel itself is beautiful, very clean and the rooms are very modern and beds are huge!! And very comfortable..staff are very friendly and bar area is a very relaxing place to have a few drinks before you venture out. We can't wait to go back and stay again. Highly recommend this hotel it's such good value for money.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Kayla. Thank you so much for your great review. I am delighted we have amazed you on your visits and you love what we do. We look forward to doing the same on the next one!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel - perfect location 2 mins from the centre, walking distance from the station, a huge breakfast (!), and the rooms were clean, modern and felt very new.
The reception is quite funny being a bar as you walk but it's quite refreshing for a hotel to be so laid back. We also had an area reserved and nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonpig77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks very much for your lovely review. I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our location really worked for you. Looking forward to seeing you again next time.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night mid-week. I had a cheery welcome, efficient check-in and a quiet room with a huuuuuge luxurious bed. Most comfy bed and pillows I've had in a long time. My evening meal of spaghetti with fresh spinach and asparagus was cooked to perfection; the waitress was charming and the service second to none. Breakfast was very good with an excellent selection. This was much improved from a previous visit. Highly recommended with excellent customer service.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank WiltshirePhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Philippa. Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted you had such a great stay with us and experienced how we do things. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had been to Reading before and have stayed at three other hotels in town but this time we decided to try this hotel. It looked very good from it's website and reviews online, location was quite good and prices we got seemed very reasonable - at around the same level as another very well known budget hotel chain. We were staying for an extended weekend and arrived on Saturday, which was also my birthday. We arrived very early and were very happy to be able to get our room even though it was only 11:00. We had been up most, or all night, so needed a shower and a quick nap. Check in was handled fairly quickly and we headed to the lift, as we entered it we both noticed it felt like we had walked into a sauna. But we were quickly at the fourth floor, exited and headed to our room, room 434. There I had problems getting either of our key cards to unlock the door, but after several attempts it unlocked and we walked into a nice sized room, clean and comfortable with plenty of space for putting up clothes and stuff. The bathroom was quite acceptable, with a shower, toilet, sink and plenty of space for toiletries. A nice feature is the “gadgets panel” at the desk. It allowed you to connect all sorts of gadgets to the TV and also had a UK, a EU and a USB socket. It was quite nice to see this in a hotel room, for a change.
The room was quite warm though, but we opened the window. We then quickly took our showers and proceeded to take a quick nap for an hour or two. When we woke up we felt warm and slightly uncomfortable but headed out quickly to get a little shopping done as well as have a birthday dinner.
As we returned in the evening we again noticed that the lift still was hot as a sauna. As we entered our room we were met by a wall of warm air and this prompted me to turn on the air circulation system, or a/c, whichever it was. But after a while we realized that even though it was set to the lowest temperature the air that came from it felt heated. We decided to turn it off and try to go to sleep and then mention it the next morning. It did take a while to fall asleep though. Unfortunately we were awoken at 04:11 by the fire alarm. We were quickly fully awake and went downstairs and outside to the assembly area, which was quickly filling with guests, some in nightgowns others fully dressed. But no staff to be seen anywhere. After a while people started moving around towards the hotel reception and started walking inside. Inside there was some staff but no information, but people had started using the lifts to return to their rooms. After a while a staff member told us someone had started the fire alarm and that it was perfectly safe to return to our rooms. We returned to our warm room and it took ages before we managed to fall asleep again, partly due to the experience with the fire alarm and partly due to the room just being too hot.
We woke up late in the morning, not feeling the least bit rested and feeling warm and uncomfortable and with slight headaches. We quickly showered and headed down to the front desk where we complained about the heat in our room. We were told that no maintenance staff was on hand since it was Sunday but were offered to have a fan put in our room, which we accepted, being informed that maintenance would be sent to our room Monday.
But our Sunday, one of only two full days we had in Reading, was a bit ruined by the lack of sleep we had gotten.
As we returned to our room in the evening it was still very warm and it was quite apparent that even though we had indeed gotten a fan, housekeeping had not been to our room this day and so some of our towels were still wet and the bins full. We started the fan, at full speed, the temperature wasn’t really reduced but at least we could feel air actually moving inside our room now. We went to bed, but again it did take a while to fall asleep as the room still felt uncomfortably hot.
Monday morning we woke up and quickly got ready to head out and get the most out of the day. Feeling a little better, though perhaps not really well rested, this morning, than what we had felt the previous morning.
As we returned to our room in the evening we found our room cleaned and that we had now gotten fresh, dry towels. We did not see, or feel any evidence that maintenance had fixed anything or even had been to the room, but as it was a bit late we decided to just go to bed and cope with the heat for one last night. Again it took a while to fall asleep. In the morning we woke up and as usual felt warm and uncomfortable but a cold shower helped freshen us up and we then proceeded to pack our stuff and head downstairs to check out.
At check out we again mentioned the heat in the room had made the stay quite uncomfortable and to top things up I was presented with a charge for some food we had definitely not had at the hotel. We had not even put a credit card on file because we weren’t going to eat or drink anything at the hotel, since I had plenty of work related dinners and lunches planned during our stay. Well that charge was removed from my bill and we left the hotel.

So to sum up the problems we experienced:
It was 13-15 degrees at night and not over 22-23 degrees during the day and still the temperature in our room was at 26 degrees even at night. Had we stayed at another, purple hotel, we would at least have gotten a refund for some, if not all of our nights, as per their “Good nights sleep guaranteed”-guarantee.
That no staff was at the assembly point when the fire alarm went off also has me worried about this hotel. I’ve experienced a fire alarm going off at a hotel before, but there we found staff waiting at the assembly points and there kept in touch with other staff using walkie-talkies and kept guests informed.
I was slightly baffled as to why our room wasn’t cleaned during one of the days we spent there. Never had that happen before unless I’ve especially asked for it.
The food bill that someone apparently had charged to our room was just another annoyance on top of all the other problems we had during our stays, but one that happens every now and then.

Soon after our stay management, who assured me that the issues with their air conditioning had been fixed, contacted me and made a reasonable offer of compensation. As I am usually a person who believes in second chances, when there is reason to expect things will be different, we will be staying at this location again, seeing for ourselves if things have indeed improved. Judging by reviews on here it could look like they have.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiclasAa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Niclas. Thank you for submitting your revised review. Following our various correspondence we really look forward to welcoming you back for an exceptionally good stay in September. Thank you again.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
972 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Property: pentahotel Reading
Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing