We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypridd
2 reviews
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A very nice, welcoming and comfortable hotel. The staff were very polite and the room was one of the best we have stayed in. The bed is massive, easily the biggest we have slept in, and soooo comfy. THe quiet room we booked was just that, even though the hotel was busy we didn't hear a peep. Breakfast was delicious, and all in all it was a wonderful stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Gareth. Thanks so much for your wonderful review! Really pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    808
    338
    134
    63
See reviews for
162
651
111
1,002
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I made a short notice booking the same day, bookings.com, when I arrived the booking took a little while to find but all good in the end, 10 minutes maximum, room was very clean and tidy, TV ok, I don't tend to watch anything but the news when in hotels, Location was OK, not the best part of town but for one night it was fine, breakfast was a bit pricey at £15 for a hot plate breakfast but quality wasn't bad, check out was all good and easy, one thing lacking was hotel parking, but 5 minutes away the Q-Park was fine and only £5 for overnight with the hotels discount was good value, all in all not a bad hotel for a business stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ainsley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Ainsley. Thanks very much for your review. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Try our early booker option for breakfast next time if you don’t already have it included – outstanding value! See you again soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

- did not like the hospitality
- the room was not up to my expectation
- the staff was ignorant at times and did not give enough importance to my requests and needs
- was not satisfied with the level of service

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Himanshu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Himanshu. Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am very keen to learn more with regards your feedback so have sent you a message off-line to hopefully connect, discuss further and provide a resolution.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballinrobe
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

............................................................................................................................Disappointed that there was no bath tub.
over all was a great stay, great location and service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Nicole. Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have some rooms with bath’s in so please just let us know if you would like one of those when you stay with us again and we will let you have one subject to our availability! If we don’t you can still enjoy the same rainforest shower and fabulous toiletries! Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedge End
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hotel was clean. Great bar & good location. One receptionist was very rude to my group & other guests. There was abit of confusion with my booking & one member of staff was extreemly rude & unhelpful. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hayley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Hayley. Thank you for your review and feedback. I am pleased to see you liked our hotel. I am however extremely sorry about the confusion with your booking (that you wanted to reserve three rooms but in fact only two had been reserved) and of course that you felt that one of the team came across as rude. I have of course fully investigated this and the team member in question was devastated to have received this feedback. They have asked me to forward their sincere, personal apologies. Their intention was to resolve your issue as quickly and efficiently as possible and I am very sorry if this haste to resolve your requirements came across in any way as rude. Completely not what we are about as a team or hotel. I have sent you an email directly and hope to speak to you in person to fully resolve your concerns to your full satisfaction. Thank you again and hope to catch up soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a great stay, just a couple things that would have been better. Wish there had been more plugs, mirrors and milk with the coffees/teas
Also would have preferred an independent light in the bathroom as was too dark in there without it but didnt want to wake my friend up
Apart from that was a great stay and would stay again and recommend you

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Samantha. Thank you for your review and feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your suggestions which we will review as a team for action where possible. Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretton
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Awesome hotel to stay at price was good the beds so comfy and the bathrooms are smart very stylish hotel right in town close to all network links I recommend this hotel to stay in
For couples and family

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Tom. Thanks for your awesome review! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
987 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,002 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Property: pentahotel Reading
Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing