We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pentahotel Reading”
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Pentahotel Reading”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hotel was lovely inside. Reception were miserable and could have at least given a smile. Room was fine but extremely noisy from the outside traffic so difficulty in sleeping. Would have been nice to have had a double bed rather than 2 singles. Breakfast was average, they had run out of hot water and croissants which was very disappointing. Good location in Reading. 10 mins walk from the train station.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulagirlSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear hulagirl. Thank you for your review. I have made contact to hopefully understand a little more about your feedback and hope to hear from you. My apologies for the team not being as welcoming as they should have been; I am keen to understand who you may have been in contact with so they can have corrective training. Sorry about the hot water and croissants too. The team are constantly topping up our fabulous breakfast buffet so it’s as fresh and appealing as possible. I can only imagine that more delicious croissants were on their way but sorry for them not being there for you. Hope you get to give us another chance and am sure you’ll have a great experience on your next visit.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    804
    338
    134
    65
See reviews for
161
650
113
998
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hotel standard better than expected, well located for station, Oxford & London visits. Breakfast very good, room large & comfortable. Would recommend rooms at the rear where more quiet. All in all good value for money


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shearer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review! Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

By KH: Was very happy with this hotel - staff were friendly and helpful. But paying £150.00 for the night i would of expected free wifi. The only other thing was i couldn't have breakfast in my room. Would stay again though

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We do have free wifi for all! Just extra speed and duration can be purchased for extremely competitive rates. Looking into your comment on breakfast. Delighted you’d stay again though and look forward to whenever that is!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A very nice, welcoming and comfortable hotel. The staff were very polite and the room was one of the best we have stayed in. The bed is massive, easily the biggest we have slept in, and soooo comfy. THe quiet room we booked was just that, even though the hotel was busy we didn't hear a peep. Breakfast was delicious, and all in all it was a wonderful stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Gareth. Thanks so much for your wonderful review! Really pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I made a short notice booking the same day, bookings.com, when I arrived the booking took a little while to find but all good in the end, 10 minutes maximum, room was very clean and tidy, TV ok, I don't tend to watch anything but the news when in hotels, Location was OK, not the best part of town but for one night it was fine, breakfast was a bit pricey at £15 for a hot plate breakfast but quality wasn't bad, check out was all good and easy, one thing lacking was hotel parking, but 5 minutes away the Q-Park was fine and only £5 for overnight with the hotels discount was good value, all in all not a bad hotel for a business stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ainsley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Ainsley. Thanks very much for your review. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Try our early booker option for breakfast next time if you don’t already have it included – outstanding value! See you again soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

- did not like the hospitality
- the room was not up to my expectation
- the staff was ignorant at times and did not give enough importance to my requests and needs
- was not satisfied with the level of service

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Himanshu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Himanshu. Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am very keen to learn more with regards your feedback so have sent you a message off-line to hopefully connect, discuss further and provide a resolution.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballinrobe
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

............................................................................................................................Disappointed that there was no bath tub.
over all was a great stay, great location and service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Nicole. Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have some rooms with bath’s in so please just let us know if you would like one of those when you stay with us again and we will let you have one subject to our availability! If we don’t you can still enjoy the same rainforest shower and fabulous toiletries! Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
999 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Property: pentahotel Reading
Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing