We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, we will be back!”
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I booked this hotel for my boyfriend's birthday and this was our first trip to Reading. When we arrived, we were greeted and checked in instantly and given all of the information we would need to know. Breakfast was included which was a bonus! Parking is just across the street and Pentahotel give you an additional ticket which gives you a discount, brilliant! Our room was immaculate, a lovely size and very creatively decorated! Very modern and such huge and very comfy beds. I had read the reviews previously which mentioned the comfy beds, and was so pleased when we saw them. Also a lovely and modern bathroom, with a brilliant shower. A TV which worked and had lots of channels to choose from. The bar area downstairs is very nice and spacious, and has a lovely atmosphere for an evening drink. The hotel is located very close to all of the shops and restaurants which was perfect for us. In the evening we ordered some room service, and the food was delicious, very worthwhile. Breakfast in the morning was lovely, lots of variety and all delicious. Upon checking out, again we received a lovely service from the friendly receptionist. All in all, I couldn't have been happier with our stay and we were both very impressed with the hotel and the service that we received. We will definitely be back, and if we ever visit Reading again we will be staying here. I would recommend this hotel and hope that you have the same experience as we did. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Carley. Thanks for your fabulous review! Totally pleased you had such a great time with us. We can’t wait to welcome you back next time!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,985 - 1,991 of 2,588 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great hotel for position and very friendly daytime reception staff. Breakfast was too expensive at £15 each and although they advised we could have a discount if we booked on arrival this was refused on our second night by unhelpful night receptionist.Hotel has a great boutique feel and very clean and rooms comfy with great beds. Wifi was poor unless you paid to upgrade and no safe in room. Reasonable value for money

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alan19091957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Alan. Thanks very much for your review. I am pleased to see that overall you had a great time with us. I can only apologise that one of the team was not as accommodating as they should have been. From your feedback this has now been addressed and I thank you for mentioning to us. It’s all about fantastic hospitality here at pentahotel Reading and both myself and the team here are passionate about that. See you next time for a 100% perfect and again great value stay!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A little research on tridadvisor went a long way in enjoying a very nice stay at this property for six nights.
I had asked for a 'quiet' room in advance. I was given a room overlooking the lane next door and it was very peaceful. The room and the toilet was immaculately clean and were attended to every day. Everything in the room worked. The bed was comfortable to sleep in.
The breakfast spread was superb. The gym was adequate. The location very convenient and the front-desk never missed a request.
The free wi-fi disconnects every 30 minutes and the paid wi-fi was steep.
I felt a 'team' attitude among the staff members and they were a happy and eager bunch.
Would love to go back and stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'quiet' room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chotothera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback, particularly about the team. That’s great to hear! I am delighted you had a great time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hotel was lovely inside. Reception were miserable and could have at least given a smile. Room was fine but extremely noisy from the outside traffic so difficulty in sleeping. Would have been nice to have had a double bed rather than 2 singles. Breakfast was average, they had run out of hot water and croissants which was very disappointing. Good location in Reading. 10 mins walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hulagirlSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear hulagirl. Thank you for your review. I have made contact to hopefully understand a little more about your feedback and hope to hear from you. My apologies for the team not being as welcoming as they should have been; I am keen to understand who you may have been in contact with so they can have corrective training. Sorry about the hot water and croissants too. The team are constantly topping up our fabulous breakfast buffet so it’s as fresh and appealing as possible. I can only imagine that more delicious croissants were on their way but sorry for them not being there for you. Hope you get to give us another chance and am sure you’ll have a great experience on your next visit.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hotel standard better than expected, well located for station, Oxford & London visits. Breakfast very good, room large & comfortable. Would recommend rooms at the rear where more quiet. All in all good value for money


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shearer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review! Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

By KH: Was very happy with this hotel - staff were friendly and helpful. But paying £150.00 for the night i would of expected free wifi. The only other thing was i couldn't have breakfast in my room. Would stay again though

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We do have free wifi for all! Just extra speed and duration can be purchased for extremely competitive rates. Looking into your comment on breakfast. Delighted you’d stay again though and look forward to whenever that is!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A very nice, welcoming and comfortable hotel. The staff were very polite and the room was one of the best we have stayed in. The bed is massive, easily the biggest we have slept in, and soooo comfy. THe quiet room we booked was just that, even though the hotel was busy we didn't hear a peep. Breakfast was delicious, and all in all it was a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Gareth. Thanks so much for your wonderful review! Really pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,956 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 31 in Reading
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £53 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Penta Hotels Germany GmbH, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing