We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“festival weekend - two rooms 4 people”
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“festival weekend - two rooms 4 people”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Rooms very comfortable , We all slept well. Reception and bar very friendly. Big gap at the bottom of the window which let noise and draft in. Reported to staff but no repair or reply. Still we were tired from the festival so didn't cause to much of a problem . All in all a very good stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hi Kevin. Thanks very much for the review. My apologies for the issue with the window – I will get that looked into immediately. Great to hear you had a good stay overall and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    803
    338
    134
    65
See reviews for
161
650
113
997
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed from Thursday until Monday, and thought the hotel was really good value. Friendly service, nice rooms (modern and basic but nice decor), and very large comfortable beds. It would be good to have a mix of non feather and feather pillows though, and not just feather, as they are not that firm. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels were replenished, which was great, as we were quite dusty from the festival dirt, so these got dirty quickly. They also replenished the toiletries, which doesn't always happen and was welcome. We didn't eat at the hotel or drink at the bar as we we at the festival for the whole day, but when we returned in the evening, the bar seemed to have a nice vibe and the bar and the lobby are open plan as you walk in, which I thought was really nice. I also heard from friends that on the Monday, that they did not need to check out until 3pm, which I thought would have been a nice treat after an exhausting festival, had we had the time to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AndieL0wingsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks very much for your review. Glad to hear you had a great stay with us! We do have alternative pillows available so just let us know next time and we’ll get those in place for you. Hope you get chance to stay with us again and try our delicious menu and make the most of our luxurious check-out times!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We used to live in Reading but since moving away a few years ago we've spent Reading Festival weekend in several of the town's hotels: the Ibis, the Malmaison and, this year, the Penta Hotel.

We arrived on Friday afternoon at about 12.30pm. The hotel is an easy ten-minute walk from the train station and although it's not at the nicest end of the town centre, it's only moments from lots of shops and the Oracle shopping centre.

Although we arrived before the scheduled check-in time, a room was available and the staff had us checked in quickly. Our standard room was on the fifth floor, with an enormous, comfortable bed and a view of Reading's inner ring road.

The room seemed pretty well-insulated from the noise and it didn't bother us, but if you're a lighter sleeper you might want to request a room on the side away from this main road. The air-con seemed effective at keeping us cool, although it wasn't exactly the hottest weekend of the year. We were comfortable and slept very well.

The only minor drawback in the room was the shower. Although a monsoon shower, the cubicle didn't seem quite big enough for it. It was all-too-easy to splash water on the floor while showering, and the showerhead felt quite low.

But overall, the room was clean, quiet comfortable and modern. The nice toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities were a bonus, too.

However, probably the best thing about this hotel was the breakfast. Although the breakfast room is somewhat dark, the food itself was excellent. There's a really good range of cereals, muesli, cooked options, cold meats, pastries, breads, toast, juice, coffee - and even Prosecco and smoked salmon.

During the festival, breakfast was available till 11.30am every day, and check-out was extended until 3pm - both gestures which were really appreciated and suggested the hotel thinks about what its guests actually want.

The bar and lobby was nice too, and it was good to stop for a late-night drink after returning from the festival. Only one lift was in service during our stay, which was irritating at busy times, but this didn't detract from the overall experience, which was excellent.

The only other negative point was the free Wi-Fi. This was, frankly, rubbish. In an effort to get you to upgrade to an extortionately-priced paid option, speed is artificially restricted and the network kicks you off every 30 minutes, requiring you to reconnect. Not good enough - I find it amazing hotels still think this is acceptable.

But Wi-Fi aside, an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Book well ahead to get decent rates during the festival. Request a room away from the main road if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hi John. Thank you very much for your review. I was delighted to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your comments on the couple of points you felt could have been better. Certainly with the wifi I believe our super-fast option is great value for money in the market but we will review again. I hope you choose to stay with us for the festival again next year, if not before!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Second year to stay at the Hotel great rooms,great beds slept very well. Excellent location close to all amenities. great service very comfortable lobby and bar. Staff go out if there way to be helpful

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosaleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hi Rosaleen. Thanks for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. See you for year three!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

10 minutes from the station makes it ideal for train friendly trippers.
Welcoming reception area and staff.
Room clean and everything you could need (except a bath i guess) including
good selection of free tv.
Breakfast very good.
Major downside would be : only one lift working, and no clear
signage to alternative stair routes

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sands007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thanks very much for your review. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us. We do have rooms with bath’s; just ask the team if you’d like one next time and if we have one available, it’s yours! We are working with a highly reputable, international lift company to restore service to one of our lifts. In the meantime we’ve put up some more funky signage to our alternative lift and main staircase! Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Inspecting hotels for a living I wasn't expecting a huge amount from this hotel but was really wowed by it. The hotel has clearly been recently refurbished and the rooms were well thought out, spacious and with great lighting. The bathrooms had a great rain shower, good quality bathroom amenities and automatic de-misting mirror. Whilst the views are not great it was very quiet. The public areas were funky but also comfortable, although the only thing that could be improved was that the breakfast room/restaurant was a bit dark for breakfast time. The breakfast was outstanding. Having eaten 150 hotel buffet breakfasts in the last 12 months, this has got to be one of the best. It was a great selection with good quality food which was continually topped up and the staff were regularly replacing food that had been there for a while. The pastry selection was so fresh with the croissants still hot. I have to give 10 out of 10 for a breakfast really well done. The only thing missing was an egg chef, but I am sure if you wanted anything other than scrambled or fried eggs they would have happily obliged.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Darren. Wow, you’re an actual hotel inspector! Thank you for staying with us and giving such fabulous and credible feedback. Delighted you like what we do and hope to see you again soon for another stay / inspection!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I booked this hotel for my boyfriend's birthday and this was our first trip to Reading. When we arrived, we were greeted and checked in instantly and given all of the information we would need to know. Breakfast was included which was a bonus! Parking is just across the street and Pentahotel give you an additional ticket which gives you a discount, brilliant! Our room was immaculate, a lovely size and very creatively decorated! Very modern and such huge and very comfy beds. I had read the reviews previously which mentioned the comfy beds, and was so pleased when we saw them. Also a lovely and modern bathroom, with a brilliant shower. A TV which worked and had lots of channels to choose from. The bar area downstairs is very nice and spacious, and has a lovely atmosphere for an evening drink. The hotel is located very close to all of the shops and restaurants which was perfect for us. In the evening we ordered some room service, and the food was delicious, very worthwhile. Breakfast in the morning was lovely, lots of variety and all delicious. Upon checking out, again we received a lovely service from the friendly receptionist. All in all, I couldn't have been happier with our stay and we were both very impressed with the hotel and the service that we received. We will definitely be back, and if we ever visit Reading again we will be staying here. I would recommend this hotel and hope that you have the same experience as we did. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Carley. Thanks for your fabulous review! Totally pleased you had such a great time with us. We can’t wait to welcome you back next time!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
998 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Property: pentahotel Reading
Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing