We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Comfortable but a little tired”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have stayed at this Hotel many times in part due to its perfect location (2 minute drive from the M4, and 10 minutes from the centre of Reading) and the fact it is friendly, clean and "does the job" of allowing a regular traveller to get their head down for a night.

It is an OK hotel but clearly no longer the newest - sure the rooms are clean and usual branded features exist but the infrastructure is old - single glazing windows (or poor double glazing!), old chipped bathroom, slighlty tatty corridors. Its not bad enough to need to go elsewhere, but its now no longer enough to want to write and award any more than an "average" as this is exactly what this hotel is.

Oh, and to have to pay for wireless in this day and age is not acceptable!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwatkinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Dwatkinsuk,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I'm truly delighted you liked our convenient hotel location. I am sorry that the condition of the property and internet policy did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us improve further the service and facilities that we have to offer.

Please be assured that your feedback is greatly appreciated. Shall your travels bring you to the area again we hope for the opportunity to provide you a quality stay with us all around.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    308
    186
    84
    28
See reviews for
231
159
46
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I've stayed here twice before for a total of about 3 weeks. Staff are friendly and go out of their way to help you. Rooms are decent. Food tends to be on the expensive side but there's a supermarket across the road if you want something small to eat. Gym and spa within the hotel are also good.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a fridge in your room on check in as not all of them ave one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outback_Australian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

What makes this hotel stand out is not the pool/gym, or bar, or restaurant or rooms...it is the consistent high quality of service from every single member of staff. From check in, to bar, to breakfast staff there seems to be a real understanding of the meaning of good service. Apart from that the food is of a high quality, rooms have ironing board/iron, trouser press, coffee/tea making, everything you need.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davebedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

From the moment we arrived we were greeted warmly by the chap on reception and from then on the great customer service continued, nothing was too much trouble, everybody had a smile and a friendly greeting or time to chat. From housekeeping to the young guy in the leisure centre to the waiting staff. Our room was warm and comfortable with everything you would expect of a 4 star establishment. Breakfast was fresh with plenty of choice. Location convenient as just off the M4. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

On arrival the reception team were very friendly and polite and even thanking me for my loyalty. The reception area, bar and restaurant are in good condition and the staff again polite and helpful.
The rooms however are looking a bit old and in this particular visit I found that the double bed was smaller than usual. The bathroom are however in desperate need of renewal - toilet flush struggling to operate correctly, bath looked dirty so opted for shower but there was little water pressure. The bathroom really lets the hotel down as there are several other hotels in the area at the same cost but more modern. Thankfully I was told that HI will start refurbishing the bathrooms next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BearInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I spent 2 nights here and was quite happy with the hotel. The only things I could pick up on were slightly slow service at dinner and our bathroom. It was a little dated, very small, the bathroom door was almost impossible to shut and the lock was hanging off it although this wasn't really an issue for us. On the 2nd morning my partner warned me that the shower wasn't very hot and by the time I showered it was basically cold.

The breakfast was very good. Loved the pancakes!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lil_vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIReadingSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you were happy with your stay, but I would like to offer my sincere apologies with the issues with your room, this is certainly not the level of service with which we are normally associated. Please be assured that these matters will be investigated.

Thank you again for your feedback, and should you wish to discuss any matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me on 0118 987 0491, or email reading@ihg.com.

Kind Regards,


Mark Ind
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel whilst on a business trip from 9th to 13th December 2013. The location was quite convenient since I was going to work nearby and it didn't take me long to get to the office.

Having worked in the hospitality industry myself for quite some time, I was appalled with the welcome I received upon my arrival at the hotel. Marion (the front desk member of staff who checked me in) was extremely rude to me, giving me orders and bossing me around in a way that I have never seen before in my life. She talked to me in a highly disdainful and condescending way, something which I would never have expected from a Holiday Inn. She spoke down to me with a patronising smirk on her face which I thought was a million miles away from what a receptionist should do when welcoming a new client.

Later on in the week (and with a very heavy heart), I had to return to reception once more to buy a one hour internet access card. Again, Marion was on the front desk and again, she was extremely rude to me when I asked her whether it would be possible to give me the change back in banknotes (and not coins). Once more, she spoke to me in a condescending tone of voice and with a sarcastic, aggressive and confrontational attitude - hardly the refined and well-mannered behaviour a receptionist at the Holiday Inn should have. The upshot of all of this was that Marion's behaviour ended up overshadowing my entire stay at the Holiday Inn, as each evening I was dreading returning to the hotel, hoping that I would not have to see her again.

What Marion should do is to learn from her colleague Laetitia, who I also had various dealings with and whose behavious was the polar opposite of that of Marion's. I found Laetitia to be extremely helpful, courteous and polite. THAT is a good example of how a front desk member of staff should behave. I believe that Marion should retrain, shadowing Laetitia for quite some time, in order for her to learn what excellent customer service should look like. Either that or the management should find her a back office job, where she won't be able to bully and harass the guests. That way, she will no longer be able to ruin the excellent work being carried out the rest of the team.

Moving on to other areas, the room was dated but welcoming, comfortable and clean. I particularly liked and appreciated the tea/coffee making facilities in the foyer, very handy to be able to make a hot drink to take away, especially for business travellers like myself. The quality of the breakfast was very good and I would like especially like to single Fernando and Elena out for special praise, since they were particularly attentive and helpful.

My only comment in terms of the breakfast service is regarding the fact that, despite an obvious (and rather exaggerated) attempt by one of the senior female members of staff to be courteous, this unfortunately comes across as rather phoney. Rather than putting the clients as their ease (which I'm sure was her intention), this behaviour actually has the opposite effect and causes uneasiness. My advice here would be to ask this member of staff to relax a little, as their bustling about, insistence on seating the clients (rather than letting them sit where they would like) and so on, could make people feel harrassed and stressed. Loud and constant "thank yous" and "sorries" just make people feel uncomfortable and are not necessary.

I am expecting to make further business-related trips to Reading in the future, but if I'm honest, I would be hard pushed to return to the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Avoid a receptionist called Marion. The rest are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UK2013J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIReadingSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I was very sorry to read your comments, and would very much like to discuss this matter further. Please contact me on 0118 987 0491, at your convenience.

Kind Regards,


Mark Ind
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
0.6 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
2.5 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11

Property: Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
Address: Basingstoke Road, Reading RG2 0SL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 provides the perfect base for your stay in Reading, whether you are visiting the Reading Festival, taking your children to Legoland, or visiting the nearby Business Parks. Click here to book you Legoland Break including Accommodation, Breakfast & 2 day passes to the Park for up to 2 adults & 2 children. The Hotel is situated just half a mile from M4 Junction 11 and 2 miles from the centre of Reading. We have 202 fully air-conditioned bedrooms with High-speed Internet access, iron & boards, complimentary car parking and children stay and eat for free*. We are located only minutes away from Readings major business parks, Reading International Business Park, Green Park and Thames Valley Park. We are walking distance from the Madejski Stadium home to football team Reading FC and the London Irish Rugby Club. Nearby facilities include Legoland, Windsor Castle, Thorpe Park, Ascot & Newbury Race Courses and the Oracle Shopping Centre. Holiday Inn Reading South provides extensive leisure facilities in our Spirit Health Club with indoor pool, gym, sauna, solarium. * = Terms & Conditions Apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading - South m4, Jct.11 Hotel Reading
Reading Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing