We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Legoland deal - good value - would go again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Reading
newcastle upon tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Legoland deal - good value - would go again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2009

We stayed two nights as part of a Legoland deal. We were 2 adults and 2 kids (11 & 14) - the room was fine and big enough for our short stay - liked the fact that you get two seperate beds for kids rather than double sofa bed. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Shower was great - very powerful. Swimming pool was good - kids enjoyed it. Breakfast was very good - lots of choice, staff were friendly and good with children. Would definately recommend - took us 20 minutes to get to legoland. Hotel easy to find and quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leg0lander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIReadingSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Thank you for your comments. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay on our Legoland Package. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    306
    181
    83
    23
See reviews for
224
158
46
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

This hotel is a decent, clean and an above average hotel, with good leisure facilities, and excellent, helpful staff. The room was comfortable and very clean as was the bathroom. The only complaint was the limited bar menu which was overpriced, try the fish and chip shop across the road.

  • Liked — Good clean comfortable hotel
  • Disliked — Overpriced and limited bar menu
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIReadingSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, 9 March 2009
Thank you for your comments, particularly those related to our team – it is important for them to be told that they are continuing to do a wonderful job. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the bar menu, we have now introduced different menus with varying price bands for our Restaurant, Lounge / Bar and Callaghans Pub, which we hope will bring enough variety to cater of all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2008

Stayed in a supposedly executive room for two days. The room was small perhaps more typical of a standard room with a few extra toiletries. Worse came when in the morning the shower was nothing but a trickle.

Internet wasn't working and the breakfast was satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank algray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIReadingSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, 9 March 2009
We were sorry to learn of your experiences at the hotel, and would like to assure you that we have replaced the aging showerheads to prevent further issues with water pressure. We also now check all internet equipment in the bedrooms on a daily basis to minimise any issues, and our Internet Service Provider – Ibahn – have a 24 hour helpline. Regarding your comments about the Executive Room, we would just like to clarify that whilst the size of the rooms do not differ from those of a Standard Room, the facilities, décor and toiletries are superior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

We stayed one night in an executive room in Dec 2008. Check in was smooth and efficient. Room was modern, cosy, quiet and well equipped (and the freebies were well appreciated too). Gym and pool etc. were clean and a welcome place to relax after a hard day's Christmas shopping. The breakfast could not be faulted and the staff were friendly and helpful.
All in all - highly recommended & good value for money.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — bathroom was quite small
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank helsh0ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIReadingSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, 9 March 2009
Thank you for your comments, we were happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

We had a fabulous time when we stayed at the Holiday Inn. We weren't sure what to expect, but from the moment you arrived you were made to feel welcome and the people were really helpful.
We stayed in an executive room and there were good complimentary products (renewed daily) and excellent robes and selection of bathroom products.
The breakfasts really were amazing - we have never had better. An extensive selection and very fresh too.
We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening, but we did have a drink in the bar, of which there is a choice, and even late on the bar staff were friendly and a good laugh.

Kirsten & Tony

  • Liked — The friendly staff & good food
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JowdDotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIReadingSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, 9 March 2009
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments, especially those about our staff and breakfast – were pleased to hear that we are getting them right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2008

I booked this hotel as part of a Legoland package for my family mid term break. I have to admit I was a little disapointed in the level of accomodation that this hotel offered. the rooms were clean enough but were in need of modernising. The pool was average as were the breakfasts. I was rather suprised that a member of the gym whom managed to complete a workout on her exercise bike whilst reading the times, entered the pool area to shout at children in the pool to be quiet, even though the noise wasn't excesive.

I also experienced some interesting smells in the corridors.

Would I recomend that you stay in this hotel?

Not really but you wont hate it either. The next time that I go to Lego Land, I will look for a Marriott.

  • Disliked — smells
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10sherrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip. Had previously stayed when the hotel was branded a PostHouse and it has been updated especially in the public areas but after a break of many years the bedrooms seemed lacking in an update. The bedrooms were clean and tidy though, noo problem with staying in them. Public facilities are good with a largish gym, restaurant and a small bar and a pub all attached. Key points from my trip were:

1) The hotel is only low rise at two floors so has no lifts that I noticed, therefore you have to use the stairs, not normally a problem unless you are in the one room that is attached to the staircase. Guess which room I was in? Yes if you are unlucky enough to get room 119 then your headboard is directly attached to the staircase and every single person that passes just inches from your head sounds like they are knocking a hole in the wall behind you making sleep for me difficult as each time someone passed I was awoken. I left the hotel tired and grumpy and with an apology and a free meal from the hotel to apologise.

2) The hotel is conveniently situated for the M4 motorway only a couple of minutes away, can't recommend it for the railway station - too far out.

3) Food quality for both breakfast and meals was excellent. However at breakfast (buffet style) there was no one available to get you coffee or tea, surely an oversight in a not particularly busy restaurant.

4) Always plenty of staff on who were proficient and polite.

5) Bathroom unbelievably small. You could use the shower and brush your teeth over the sink at the same time. Very little room to swing the proverbial cat.

I could recommend this hotel but if you get room 119 change it before you leave the desk!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
0.6 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
2.5 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11

Property: Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
Address: Basingstoke Road, Reading RG2 0SL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 provides the perfect base for your stay in Reading, whether you are visiting the Reading Festival, taking your children to Legoland, or visiting the nearby Business Parks. Click here to book you Legoland Break including Accommodation, Breakfast & 2 day passes to the Park for up to 2 adults & 2 children. The Hotel is situated just half a mile from M4 Junction 11 and 2 miles from the centre of Reading. We have 202 fully air-conditioned bedrooms with High-speed Internet access, iron & boards, complimentary car parking and children stay and eat for free*. We are located only minutes away from Readings major business parks, Reading International Business Park, Green Park and Thames Valley Park. We are walking distance from the Madejski Stadium home to football team Reading FC and the London Irish Rugby Club. Nearby facilities include Legoland, Windsor Castle, Thorpe Park, Ascot & Newbury Race Courses and the Oracle Shopping Centre. Holiday Inn Reading South provides extensive leisure facilities in our Spirit Health Club with indoor pool, gym, sauna, solarium. * = Terms & Conditions Apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading - South m4, Jct.11 Hotel Reading
Reading Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing