We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for rugby or football at the Madejski Stadium” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Guildford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent for rugby or football at the Madejski Stadium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed the night following a game of rugby. We were amazingly able to check in soon after 11am the morning before the game started. As we were staying at the hotel it also mean that we were able to park free of charge right in the stadium complex.

Although the hotel is built into the side of the stadium, so fantastic for the sporting events, there is nothing else around it so you are a bit isolated. It is also with 2 minutes of the M4 so very easy to get to.

The staff were excellent, the room was well equiped with a very high quality bed and pillows. The room as clean and wireless WiFi was free throughout the hotel. My only slight moan is that I felt the TV was small for the size of the room and it was not easy to watch from the bed.

Some of the rooms overlook the atrium that contain the main bar. If you want a quiet room after the game then do not get one of these rooms as it was very rowdy. Personally I enjoyed the atmosphere and the noise only lasted a few hours before the crowd drifted away.

The evening meal in the restuarant was excellent with attentive staff and a good menu but was a little pricey for what we got. A couple of burgers with fries and two small glasses of water cost 40 quid (we had no starters or puddings)

Breakfast was included in my rate and was excellent with a large selection of hot and cold food and drinks. my advice would be go steady on the evening meal and blow out on the excellent breakfast.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and one that I would definitely do again.

Room Tip: to avoid the noise before and after a game of football or rugby avoid the rooms that overlook the at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philguildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
The Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading thanks you for your review.

We are very pleased to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and enjoyed the complimentary WiFi.

Thank you again for all your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    327
    120
    34
    7
See reviews for
118
181
32
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed in a Club Junior Suite - the decor hadn't been updated since a previous stay a few years earlier, but the room was clean and tidy and furnishings were in good order.

All staff we encountered were friendly and efficient.

We visited the Club Lounge for complimentary aperitifs. The choice available was very, very limited. We were advised by a member of staff that they didn't usually have anyone use the lounge at the weekend and were taken by surprise that it was crowded on this occasion. There were some hot canapes - literally one each, and a bottle of red and white wine. A continental breakfast was served in the lounge the following morning. It is fine for light eaters, but again, pretty basic in terms of the choice available.

We dined in the Cilantro restaurant, and sampled the taster menu. We were impressed by service throughout and thought the food was fabulous. Highly recommended.

Would stay at the Millennium again and think it represents good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerefordshireSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We thank you for your comments and are pleased you found our staff friendly and efficient.

We have reviewed our Club facilities and we hope next time you stay at the Millennium Madejski Hotel that you find an improvement in our Club services.

Thank you again for you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel last year, and spent 4 nights last week as business traveler. Room I had stayed last year was larger I guess, and had european plug. I didn't use an adapter last year, but the room I stayed this time I needed to use it. Even though room service forget to renew water bottles in the fridge once, I had positive experience again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for your review.

The Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading has a range of room facilities to cater for a variety of guests needs.

Should you require a room with European plug sockets please advise on booking and we will try our best to accommodate your request. Alternatively the hotel does hire our Plug adaptors should you require these.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed here during the recent attack of snow with my children. Was delighted to find a huge room with two double beds.

Rooms are modern- nice big TV, very spacious, seemed very clean. Bathroom is not quite on par with the rest of the room but still clean.

Parking was a bit confusing especially in the snow!

Breakfast was reasonably priced- lots of choice.

Staff were fine- the Asian gentleman at check-in was particularly helpful and clearly ITK and very experienced at helping customers. On check-out though, a trainee was struggling a little with English and even though the room was pre-paid she wouldn't let me leave until she had spoken to her manager, who was in conversation with a colleague. She wouldn't interrupt the conversation, which didn't seem like it was earth-shatteringly important, and kept us waiting quite some time. As a result we were late for the christening we were attending. A tip- put the customer first.

Overall I was pretty happy. Hotels are generally overpriced in Reading, which is a pretty uneventful place best known for being a junction on the M4 as the clubs former manager Steve Coppell once famously said. This room was not unreasonable in the context of the competition.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for your review.
I have spoken with the Front Office Manager in response to your delayed check out experience. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you and further training will be carried out with our reception team

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stay here fairly regularly for business and it makes the trip to Reading that little bit easier. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable, the food is very good and the bar area is excellent. It's not cheap but you do get what you pay for and it's certainly a lot better than the Holiday Inn just down the road. Whether it's 60% better (the price difference) is debatable though.

It's nowhere near the town centre if that's what you're looking for but it's perfect for the M4, Green Park and the other business parks round and about. And of course it's in the Madejski stadium if football's your thing.

All in all, friendly and polite service, good location for what I need (business), pretty good food (not amazing but certainly ok), very clean and modern but a little on the expensive side - to be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
We are pleased that you find our rooms luxurious and comfortable.

Thank you for your lovely review, we do hope to see you back in our Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed for one night during half term with my wife and two children aged 12&10. We booked at very short notice (1hour) after the premier inn cocked up our family room and had no alternative. Delighted with the room, two large beds, lovely walk in shower, twin sinks, flat screen, lots of extras to make it feel luxury too. Easy free parking and close to reading centre and M4. Very nice bar area, but we didn't try breakfast as it was £12.50 each.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beergander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you found our family rooms to meet with your requirements.

The Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading hopes to see you return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Hotel on the outskirts of Reading with good dual carriageway access to Centre only 10-15 mins drive. The rooms are fine, but I have experienced too cold, too hot and noisy rattling in rooms so end up turning the heating off as it doesnt appear to work very well if at all. The bar has the atmosphere of a very large squash court and isnt very welcoming, functional or fun to unwind in. The restaurant is fine for breakfast, but for dinner it is generally like sitting in an airport terminal walkway, cold and impersonnal. Fine for a one night business trip, but for longer stays look for hotels closer to city centre so you have better evening entertainment/ dining options.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billyiever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Reservations Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for the review on the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading.

We are sorry to read that you experienced problems with the air conditioning in the bedroom. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned, which should provide a comfortable temperature in the bedrooms, whether it be hot or cold outside.

With regards dining options at the hotel, we have 2 restaurants an informal brasserie style restaurant Le Cafe and a fine dining restaurant Cilantro, bar snacks are also served in the Atrium Bar and we have 24 Hour Room Service. If you are looking for entertainment The Jazz Cafe is situated at the Madejski Stadium and open on the weekends with live entertainment (www.thejazzcafe.co.uk)

Thank you again for you review

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
2.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#7 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Property: Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Address: Madejski Stadium | Junction 11, M4, Reading RG2 0FL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Business Hotel in Reading
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the M4 motorway at junction 11, the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading is ideally located for those who want to visit the wonderful countryside within Royal Berkshire. The hotel also forms part of the impressive Madejski Stadium Complex, incorporating the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre, and home to both Reading Football Club and London Irish RFC. Nearby we have Legoland, Windsor Castle and for those who enjoy the races, Ascot, Windsor and Newbury are all within easy reach. Other areas of interest include, Henley, Oxford and London is only 20 minutes away by train.The hotel has leisure facilities which include a swimming pool and gym. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Madejski Reading
Reading Millennium Madejski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing