We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Staying here at the moment for a second night unfortunatly, not impressed at all due to the location ie nothing close by you are obviously a captive audience and it shows you are definatly treated that way! Do you know any 4 star hotels who at 8.15pm tel you the restraunt is fully booked and they will not take even bar food orders as the kitchen is unable to cope? because thats what they did told to wait and if it got quiter in an hour they may take an order but it would then take an hour for food to available. Looked to order a pizza online to be delivered to the hotel even the staff said that would be quicker. This then followed by the statement we would not be allowed to eat a Pizza in the Bar are or antwhere else in the hotel apart from the room. Decided to order the pizza and eat it with 2 other colegues in the bar even if they made all three of us leave the hotel. Sudenly another member of staff arived and told us food could be ordered now and redy in 20 mins which it was. Food was expensive and fairly bland not recomended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joychr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for your review.

We apologise that the restaurant was fully booked at 8.15pm when you requested it.

We always try to accommodate our guests as much as possible, but it is advisable to pre-book in advance on busy times to avoid disappointment.

I am delighted that we managed to serve your food in 20 minutes.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    347
    128
    37
    7
See reviews for
122
198
32
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in March for a company meeting. This is my 2nd stay here and I am always pleased with it.

When I arrived check in I quick and simple, my room was spacious and had a king size bed nice bathroom, air con etc. very clean. Only down side is due to its design some rooms face insid of th hotel, so your window looks into the large central foyer, bar, conference area. Windows are one way so nobody can see in but still better having a view of outside which I had my first stay, much nicer.

Had room service on my first night and it was delicious, had the club sandwich, can highly recommend it. Drinks are also reasonably priced considering your in the "London" area.

Overall would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask or an external facing room on a high floor, these are much, much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaz1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback.

We are pleased you had another excellent stay at out hotel and enjoyed the club sandwich in your room service.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel last week for 3 nights for a work conference. Nice large room, comfortable bed, everything you could need in the room. Note, no minibar, but there is a fridge you can put your own things in.
The buffet breakfast was great, had dinner in the hotel 3 nights and had a good selection. Steak meal wasn't the best, but the fish and chips and Thai curry was good.
Nice bar area for relaxing, staff were friendly and helfpul.
Confernece ammenities were good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cellini03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay.

The Millennium Madejski Hotel is proud to have the largest standard bedrooms in the Reading area and we are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities of our large rooms.

We do hope you are able to come back and visit our hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed here on business, partly as wanted free parking. Was easy and friendly checking in. Room a nice nice, neat and clean.

Went out for dinner as restaurant seemed very pricey for Reading. Breakfast seemed expensive too so passed.

Overall a nice hotel, though location was too far out for my liking and the view of the carpark was pretty grim during the hurrendous wet weather that i had all weekend!

Would recommend overall though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beninbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the benefits of complimentary Car Parking.

As the Hotel is based at the Reading Football Club Stadium we have over 2000 car parking spaces making it very accessible for guests visiting Reading.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Nothing special about this place. In a good location but that is pretty much all. Overpriced menu abd room prices. Alot of people was seen taking take-away food back to the room. Staff very unprofessional and unexpirenced in hospitality. Value is acceptable for location, but would only recommend for that reason, we stayed as a family and would not recommend for family stays

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your comments on the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading.

We are sorry we have not met your expectations on this specific occasion.

With regards to your comments, we pride ourselves on the service we provide and we have received a number of reviews mentioning our professional & friendly service.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Was invited to stay here with friends - what a treat! As it was a match day we could only park in the overflow car park over the road but not really a bother. Check in was quick and efficient. Our room, on the third floor, had huge panoramic windows and overlooked the car parks so we weren't sure whether anyone could see in or not (I closed the curtains just in case)!! The room had two king-sized beds, his and hers wash-basins, walk-in shower with huge shower head and hand-held shower, I think shampoo and body wash by The White Company (lovely). Plenty of good-sized towels although we couldn't find anywhere to put them to air after we'd showered.... We had a meal in the Royal Suite, which was very good. The bar area was comfortable (well we stayed there till 1.30 a.m. so it must have been)! The bed was extremely comfy and the room just the right temperature with easy to use thermostat on the wall. We weren't advised at reception that we had to put our key card in the holder on the wall on entry to turn on the power nor where breakfast was the following morning. Breakfast was lovely - we had it pre-paid so I think a little cheaper than if you pay on the day. Everything from pastries to smoked salmon, fruit, cereals and a full cooked breakfast. Earl Grey wasn't a problem when requested. Toast brought to the table, much niceer than you having to do it yourself on an industrial toaster! All in all a very enjoyable experience and to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNottingham_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading.

I will forward on your comments to the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre with regards to your dinner and their comfortable bar, but I am pleased you enjoyed the event.

Thank you again for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here on business in March. We had a team meeting on the first day, before a dinner, over night stay and an all day conference on the following day. So I had a good chance to test the hotel's facilities!

Now, to explain my bias in favouring the location; I was born and grew up in Reading, before moving away when I was 19, but remained a supporter of my home football club. So "coming home" and having a monthly team meeting in a box over the pitch was a pretty damn good location for me! Without being bias though, you have to rate the location as pretty good in terms of it's ease of access from the M4. It's not close to the town the centre, but it's easy to reach central Reading by car, bus or taxi from there.

All the conferencing facilities were pretty smart and well maintained. Before dinner (and in the morning) I made use of the leisure facilities. The pool was a good enough size and fine for doing lengths. The water temperature was rather warm, though. There was a spa and sauna, but no steam room. Everything was clean and the staff friendly.

Food in the evening was okay and the breakfast was good; plenty to choose from and of a fairly decent quality. Public areas in the hotel are all very open, modern, clean and spacious. All staff seemed to be pleasant and helpful, especially at reception. Buffet lunch on both days was good, too.

The room was alright, with the standard business traveller facilities you would expect. There was nothing especially stand out about my twin room though, except for a funny shaped desk- sort of boomerang shaped- to encourage you to sit at it and gaze out of the window (at the empty match day over-flow car park!?). I would of rather had a double than a twin for a single occupancy room, but the single bed was comfortable enough. I found the deuvet a bit thin and the tea/coffee making facilities on the sliding ledge a bit awkward, but on the upside there was complimentary bottled water and the room was of a reasonable size.

Overall, a pleasant hotel with good leisure and conferencing facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank king_of_muffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to hear your event at the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre was a success and that you enjoyed the services they provided. I will forward on your comments to them shortly.

Thank you also for writing such a comprehensive review of the Hotel facilities.

We do hope to welcome you to the Hotel and Stadium again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,837 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
2.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,316 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
2.5 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Property: Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Address: Madejski Stadium | Junction 11, M4, Reading RG2 0FL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Business Hotel in Reading
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the M4 motorway at junction 11, the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading is ideally located for those who want to visit the wonderful countryside within Royal Berkshire. The hotel also forms part of the impressive Madejski Stadium Complex, incorporating the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre, and home to both Reading Football Club and London Irish RFC. Nearby we have Legoland, Windsor Castle and for those who enjoy the races, Ascot, Windsor and Newbury are all within easy reach. Other areas of interest include, Henley, Oxford and London is only 20 minutes away by train.The hotel has leisure facilities which include a swimming pool and gym. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Madejski Reading
Reading Millennium Madejski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing