We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed here for a couple of weeks on business. Best hotel I stayed in in Reading. Rooms were large with good specifications, flatscreen TV, free wi-fi. Food was very good, breakfast was superb, and the bar area was very nice. Staff were very good as well. Excellent stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry1con
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are very proud of our service and staff here at the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading and we are pleased to hear you had an excellent stay.

Thank you again for your review.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Upon entering the hotel we felt like we were in a scene from Pretty Woman! The receptionist looked us up and down as if to say we were not welcome! We were made to feel very unwelcome. Maybe we were not as stylish as the receptionist but we are certainly not scruffy. On top of this we were asked for our bank card to cover 40 pounds worth of extras - upon asking the same receptionist what the extras were we not given a straight answer - I explained that we had paid for our stay in full prior to check-in and therefore would not require 'extras' this again was very uncomfortable. The rooms were clean and comfortable but very cold. Following settling into our room we took our 14 and 9 year old to the pool, the changing rooms were dirty and my husband said the showers in the male changing rooms were disgusting. The pool itself is all one depth - too deep for many younger children to use safely - again a hint that this is not a child friendly hotel. After a cold nights sleep we went down for breakfast - there were only us and another family in the breakfast area - once again it felt like we were in the way and the staff could not really be bothered with us. The hotel felt very sterile and whilst stylish, lacked the warmth and welcome of other hotels we have stayed in. This may seem like a negative review, however we have not complained about a hotel before - we have stayed in Marriott hotels many times and fancied a change, however this particular hotel only serves to encourage us to remain loyal to the Marriott chain. This hotel is more couples and the more corporate clientele and I would not recommend it to families.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for your review, we are very proud of our service levels at the Millennium Madejski Hotel and we are disappointed that we have let both ourselves & you down on this occasion.

Should you wish to discuss any aspect of your stay please do not hesitate to contact myself on reservations.reading@millenniumhotels.co.uk

Kind regards
Suzanne Hatherly
Assistant Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here as we were having a night at the Jazz Cafe round the corner. We got a special rate of £60 for the night (room only) which is reasonable. We had a standard 1st floor room and found it to be well furnished and very spacious. There is also a fridge in the room which had complimentary bottled water in it. Drinks at the bar are not much more than average pub prices which is good. We did not eat food at the hotel as we did not want a full breakfast and were not interested in paying £13 for something we did not want. They offer meals in the restaurant and also some at the bar which were more reasonably priced and I would have eaten here if I had not been eating out. We found the room comfortable with two chairs, and the bed was big and comfortable. I would stay at this hotel again if I was needing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicandSteve2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay at the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

stayed 3 nights, we were with a coach party visiting Hampton court flower show and Kew gardens. The first night we were in a room with french windows onto a balcony, these would not open and we do not like air con, the next morning we spoke to the girl on reception and within 10-15minutes we were given another room with windows that would open. The bedroom was spacious and spotless, as was the bathfoom with lovely soft thick bathsheets. The evening and breakfast buffets had a good selection so always something we liked. All the staff from reception bar cafe and chambermaid were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased to hear you found the rooms spotless & spacious and that we could accommodate your requirements for a window opening room.

The Millennium Madejski hotel Reading are proud of the quality of staff we have and very pleased to hear you found them pleasant and helpful.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

Conference facilities good, food & drink ok, but the bedromm let the hotel down. My internal room was like a sauna. I asked for thr a/c to be checked and was given a fan! The duty manager did receive my complaint in an attentive and professional manner.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FR02JDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for your comments.

We do apologise one of our Air Conditioning units malfunctioned on 4th July and it was unable to be repaired on that night. We are sorry for any inconvenience that this caused and the issue has now been rectified.

Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed the weekend (2 nights) and got a very good rate via Hotels.com web site. £72 @ night for a standard double room only. The room was on the fourth floor facing away from the stadium, which was fine. There was a good flatscreen tv on the wall directly at the end of the bed. There was a large wardrobe with plenty of wooden hangers as well as an ironing board and iron. The mini bar, kettle and tea making equipment were in a small cupboard with slide out surfaces to make the tea/coffee. A fair size desk to work from with table lamps and ethernet cable if your pc does not have wifi. The bathroom was a good size with very clean basin, toilet and bath. A few complimentary gels and soaps were provided. The only complaint I have about the room was that the extractor fan in the bathroom appeared to be continually running, so to get a good nights sleep it's best to keep the bathroom door shut.
The breakfast was paid for at the time, it has an excellent choice of fresh fruits, pastries, cold meats as well as a buffet style hot fried breakfast - teas and coffee and a newspaper to read. Service was excellent from being seated to bringing the tea/coffee and topping up the cooked food.
The hotel is on the outskirts of Reading but near to the M4, so is easily accessible by car. Other places such as restaurants in Reading will all require a cab - there is nothing really accessible by foot.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashforth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased you found our bedrooms satisfactorily equipped for all your needs.

Here at the Millennium Madejski Hotel we are proud of the facilities and service we provide here and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel services over your 2 night stay.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel whilst going to an evening wedding reception. Check in was smooth and easy and they offered to book our cab for the evening which was very helpful. Our room was a good size and had all the facilities you would expect, the free wifi was excellent and easy to use. My only slight negatives would be that the pillows weren't that comfortable and the towels slightly hard (this is me being super picky)! Breakfast was excellent great choice and high quality and quick to be seated. If in the area again we would definitely stay again, the room was excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natashaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for your review.
We are please you had a pleasant stay and found our reception desk helpful.
Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,941 reviews
3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
2.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,063 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 31 in Reading
573 reviews
2.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#8 of 31 in Reading
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Address: Madejski Stadium | Junction 11, M4, Reading RG2 0FL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#5 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Business Hotel in Reading
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £57 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the M4 motorway at junction 11, the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading is ideally located for those who want to visit the wonderful countryside within Royal Berkshire. The hotel also forms part of the impressive Madejski Stadium Complex, incorporating the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre, and home to both Reading Football Club and London Irish RFC. Nearby we have Legoland, Windsor Castle and for those who enjoy the races, Ascot, Windsor and Newbury are all within easy reach. Other areas of interest include, Henley, Oxford and London is only 20 minutes away by train.The hotel has leisure facilities which include a swimming pool and gym. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Madejski Reading
Reading Millennium Madejski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing