We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this one, stunning room, would stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this one, stunning room, would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed there as as a stopover for a special Legoland trip. We had booked the Ask Alfred Concierge for the children and wow it was fantastic, the children were greeted by name which they loved, we were taken to our room which was huge, beautiful, and immaculate with 2 kingsize beds, a table with funky chairs and massive floor to ceiling windows. In the room the children were given a Hamleys teddy each, a massive tube of jelly babies and fabulous fluffy dressing gowns and slippers, the porter then brought them ice cream. This service made our stay so magical. We then used the pool facilities, the pool was small but perfect for our kids, and we were luck enough to be the only ones in it, it had colour changing leds which made the pool look beautiful, there was also a jacuzzi and a sauna, the pool is one depth though so just be aware of this with the little ones. We were not expecting such a great stay but it was brilliant and I would definately stay again. We did not see a steam room and we did ask if they had one, after reading other reviews but we were told they did not, it definatly had a sauna though.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hohoho29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review.

We are pleased that your family had a fantastic stay and that your children enjoyed the amazing Ask Alfred Package.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    327
    120
    34
    7
See reviews for
118
181
32
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

As usual this hotel was very clean and good facilities including tea and coffee making. This time had the very pleasant surprise that free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel including the bedrooms.

The swimming pool was lovely and warm as was the jacuzzi. Also has a steam room.

Breakfast very nice. Usually a buffet but if it is quiet they will bring it out fresh to order.

Still has the park and ride opposite so you can leave your car in the hotel car park and get the bus into town. If you are of a certain age you can use your bus pass.....!
Staff as usual polite and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your review.

It is lovely to hear from regular guests and we are so pleased you found our staff polite & friendly as we are very proud of the level of service we provide.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I booked the hotel, very last minute, online, and could not have been happier.

we arrived at the hotel, checked in to our rather large room, which had a lovely bath, shower, fantastic tea and coffee facilities, a lovely fridge, which was stocked with complimentary water. We couldn't have asked for more.

The hotel was clean and tidy, and the staff at reception were more than helpful, especially when we asked for more tea and milk.

The pool was lovely, with a decent sized changing area, with lockers.

We didn't have food at the hotel, but if we were to stay again, would definitely consider it.

Great stay. Great Price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecksMcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

We are very happy to hear your comments on our Leisure Club and that you found our swimming pool lovely and the changing areas of a decent size.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed there just for the one night as the location was good for what we required. The hotel room was a spacious & tidy. Basic furnishings in the room & it's always good to have the ability to make your own cuppa which it did so that was a plus. Nice large comfy bed. Bathroom a little compact & didn't come with a separate shower which was disappointing, the shower was over the bath. Breakfast was good, my other half enjoyed his full english whilst I opted for sausage, beans & toast, again very nice. A nice choice to choose from despite our lazy morning start. Again basic furnishings in the restaurant. We had a discounted rate which included breakfast & would say it was good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EEE001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your review.

The Millennium Madejski Hotel are pleased to hear you found our Breakfast good value for money.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

The rooms in this hotel are spacious with good amenities, the reception staff were very efficient. I ate at the restaraunt on one occasion and it was ' curry night' ( although other food was available) I had the offered curry with all the trimmings, naan, poppadums etc, I found the lamb curry to be quite bland, but other people seated with me found it hot, I guess you can't please all of the people all of the time!! The hotel is situated very close to the center of Reading and right next to the football stadium and has ample free parking.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review. We are please you benefited from our ample free parking whilst staying at the Hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

stayed in the hotel Suite just few days ago and got very disappointed. as we booked the most expensive room in a 4* hotel we expected the service and rooms to be to very high standards..
the only good thing about it is location- very close to central Reading yet in a quite place, 5 mins by cab £7 one way or 10 mins by frequent buses from £3 return for 2 adults... Club lounge was quite nice, lovely view(what i cant say about our room), clean and empty during the day. tea/coffee making facilities and fruits available. if you are staying in club room and 'above' u will have access and between 6:30-9(not sure exactly) they promised hot and cold snacks and drinks. as we had quite a big and late lunch thought we will stick to that for dinner. got into club room 20 mins after it started serving the snacks and found it completely packed (it only has ~10 tables) and no more snacks/food left... there was a note left that waiteress will come back soon and she did but didnt restock anything,ignored us after we managed to get seated only served some very little trays of nuts to others..and thats about it. if thats what they call snacks...?! anyway, went back to our suite and ordered room service. and thats when the confusion started... the menu is ok prices average. ordered 8oz beef burger (£13.95) and few different sides to share (£3.50 each). guy who took order was very polite and said it will be around 30 mins for food to be delivered. fair enough but 30 mins turned into an hour and food was cold by the time we got it. as soon as we started eating we got a call from cafe saying they cant charge us for food as we didnt leave any details...? lady on our check in asked if we want your card to be charged £40 and IF we dont use it it will be refunded within few weeks, we said no as were not sure if we going to use anything at all(suite rooms have mini bar drinks complementary but hold on thats a different story) so we said to swipe our card and charge if anything. looks like she didnt really get that but its fine sorted on our check out.
talking about Suite do NOT book them in this hotel! its just not worth that money, we paid over £200pn and this night was a part of our relaxing break. unfortunately it wasnt so relaxing...
we had smoking room which was good for me but the smell in the corridors..was terrible carpets all smelled of ashes and cigarettes. so if you are not a smoker just dont go for it. the room was large with separate living room. looked ok..ish but again not for 4* hotel, 3 maybe.. it really needs some refreshment. confusing was the fact all suite are situated on 1st floor so you get delivery bay and bins view and see staff coming out for smoking breaks from your bedroom and a road from living room. Talking about living room window it was unbelievably dirty and dusty jusy like the whole room but what absolutely devastated me was the massive dirt staines on yellow curtains. terrible brown staines all over just like someone spilled tomatoe juice and never washed them...
toiletries were meant to be "luxorious" eeeerm... for two of us we had 1 each: shampoo, bath body gel and a moisturiser. tiny little sized toiletries that were very poor quality.
bathrobes and slippers provided are rock hard... just felt uncomfortable wearing bath robe should really either get new ones or use some softener when washing... just as hard was the cover on the bed old terrible color hard and stainy cover.
drinks in the minibar those that are complementary were... 4 cans of coke,sprite etc and a bottle of water. eeerm,ok how about some drinks?! better make it for an add. charge but hey its a suite?!
and the last and the most disappointing thing was the next morning... suites also benefit from a late check out 2pm unlike other rooms... we had a late night and after we put do not disturb sign outside went to sleep hoping to get proper sleep. guess what, cleaners came in 10am banging ona door and actually came in. didnt say anything at all just ran off when saw us still in bed woken up (couldnt she see the sign?!!!!). 10 mins after i just calmed down and tried to sleep again and... got woken up again by a stupidly loud call from reception, asking why are still in the room.....?!!!
i wont tell you what i felt like saying back because my manners just wouldnt let me. later we wanted to grab a coffee from Club room before we go but for some reason our access cards wouldnt work already after 11am...... angry,hungry and tired we checked out and didnt even hear sorry.
just do not waste your money on suites or even better avoid staying there at all....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Preciousfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, General Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for your review, although very disappointing, after your recent overnight stay at the Hotel.

I do so wish that you had brought some of these issues to our attention at the time, so that we could have tried to put some of them right.

Here at the Hotel we strive to deliver customer service and guest satisfaction to the highest level and although we have not been able to on this occasion we will review all the valuable observations and comments that you have made and work towards putting these right.

All of our customers are very valuable to us and should you wish to discuss this matter I would be more than happy to talk to you on 01189 253500.

Ruraigh Whitehead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

5 minutes from the M4, 10 minutes from Reading centre, and lots of parking. A new hotel built attached to the Reading Football Club ground, and designed by an architect who unusually, seems to know what he/she was doing. Large rooms, large public areas, big doors, big bar, big restaurant, large reception (get the drift?), and attractive and quality decor. The rooms are very well equipped - an ironing board AND a trouser press! - free wifi (everywhere), good food, an impresive wine list (Louis Jadot Beaujolais? - top result), leisure club, aircon, and as everyone else has mentioned, great service by attentive and engaging staff. OK it's not in a picturesque riverside location with Ducks wandering across the expansive lawns (there are no lawns - well, not if you don't count the really big one next door) but for a respite from a busy business day or a stop off on route into or out of London, it is hard to beat. I intend to return. Best thing? the bed was comfortable and I slept well....Hurrah.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldsSpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review.

We are pleased to hear you had a very comfortable stay and enjoyed the facilities at our Hotel.

The Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading looks forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
2.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Property: Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Address: Madejski Stadium | Junction 11, M4, Reading RG2 0FL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Business Hotel in Reading
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the M4 motorway at junction 11, the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading is ideally located for those who want to visit the wonderful countryside within Royal Berkshire. The hotel also forms part of the impressive Madejski Stadium Complex, incorporating the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre, and home to both Reading Football Club and London Irish RFC. Nearby we have Legoland, Windsor Castle and for those who enjoy the races, Ascot, Windsor and Newbury are all within easy reach. Other areas of interest include, Henley, Oxford and London is only 20 minutes away by train.The hotel has leisure facilities which include a swimming pool and gym. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Madejski Reading
Reading Millennium Madejski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing