We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sandwich from the 1980s”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Tollard Royal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sandwich from the 1980s”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I had a business meeting in Le cafe and we both had the chicken mayo sandwich, which was a throwback to the 80s, sliced white bread that was almost stale....not great value and pretty poor when nice bread is so easily available.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for the Trip Advisor Review.

I have forwarded your comments on to our Food & Beverage manager and they will investigate this further.

We do hope on your return visit you find the Bar Menu and sandwiches more to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    337
    122
    36
    7
See reviews for
120
189
32
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last weekend whilst visiting Reading to watch the Doncaster v Reading game. The hotel is joined to the football ground so you can be in the ground in a couple of minutes. We enjoyed a drink and a curry in the supporters bar having given the buffet downstairs a miss at £32 a head! You can park your car right outside the hotel. The hotel was excellent. The meal at night and breakfast were very good. Hoping Doncaster might win next year!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review.

The Millennium Madejski Hotel is ideal for guests who are attending Football & Rugby Matches and we are pleased you found our close proximity to the stadium of use for your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for the next match.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I enjoyed a very comfortable stay here and the room and bed were comfortable and clean as I would expect from any business hotel of this callibre. However, the hotel itself is quite cold and clinical, the bar is utterly devoid of atmosphere and outside the bedrooms feels rather like visiting a hospital. Convenient location, and amazingly helpful and friendly staff however.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read you had a comfortable stay at the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading.
Our Atrium Bar is a very spacious area to accommodate the many events we host, such as Match Days, Party nights and large leisure occasions.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Good quality hotel ideal for any football fan visiting Reading. Booked a suite for my partner and daughter. Complimentary drinks 5-7pm
Room well maintained and does what it says on the tin
Would recommend as a great value for money hotel.
Great value for money

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bramley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

We are so pleased you had a pleasant stay at the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading. I am especially pleased to hear you enjoyed the complimentary glass of wine or beer in the club lounge between 6.30pm & 7.30pm as part of your Suite booking.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Hotel is located just off M4 so it is an ideal location if you want a hotel away from the busy city centre. My partner and I booked via secret escapes and feel we had value for money for our stay.

Reception staff were not only very polite and professional but also very friendly and informative and you would feel comfortable approaching them if you needed help. As hotel is situated next to football stadium we were warned in advance and advised to book dinner before the end of the match to make sure it wouldn't get too busy. We weren't planning on eating but appreciated the advice.

Room was basic but was clean and had everything you would need and was pleasant enough. Bed was comfortable and it was quiet in the hotel so easy to get a decent nights sleep. Breakfast was also included in room price and was very tasty and service from all members of staff was brilliant.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to stay in a nice, comfortable and clean hotel-it's not the best and most fancy hotel around but it served it's purpose and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franmc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

It is a pleasure to read such a lovely review and we are so happy to hear our staff were informative, courteous and helpful.

Our bedrooms are the largest in the Reading area and we have a variety of rooms to cater for a number of guest requirements.

Thank you again for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on a business event and the hotel was ideal...nice room (we were lucky enough to have a corner room, 2 king size beds and walk in shower room), very clean and comfortable but the bathroom needed hooks for hanging towels after use. The toilet was a bit uncomfortable..a bit too round for my bottom! The bar area catered for large groups of people, open and airy although this made it lack atmosphere. Good breakfast, buffet style. Ideal for business travellers and events.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SmartN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your Review.

We are happy to read you had a comfortable stay and found the Buffet Breakfast of a good standard.

We do hope you will come back to the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights mid-week.
My only real grump was putting me in a room with an adjoining door for no reason; the hotel was not busy. It means no soundproofing - if I can hear their hairdryer as if it was in my room at 6.30 am, goodness knows what they hear from me! I've made my comments to the hotel and that's what drops a star from my review.
The good stuff - excellent customer service: responsive staff without exception.
Lovely pool and little hot tub.
Very good food at breakfast and in the Atrium bar - the latter is pricey, but on a par with other hotels of this type and a pleasant place to be in the evenings, so I accept it!
I can image it would be noisy and hectic on match days as it is integral to the football stadium. On which topic: I haven't been to a match here, but the boxes are put to use for big meetings as break-out rooms so that's quite fun. Lastly, there's loads of parking and an efficient park and ride into town. But then again a taxi is only £8 one-way, so this is a good place to stay and shop! Recommended.

Room Tip: 217 if you want an adjoining door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshirePhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

We are pleased your had an excellent stay here at the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading.

We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
2.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
2.5 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Property: Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Address: Madejski Stadium | Junction 11, M4, Reading RG2 0FL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Reading
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#7 Business Hotel in Reading
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the M4 motorway at junction 11, the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading is ideally located for those who want to visit the wonderful countryside within Royal Berkshire. The hotel also forms part of the impressive Madejski Stadium Complex, incorporating the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre, and home to both Reading Football Club and London Irish RFC. Nearby we have Legoland, Windsor Castle and for those who enjoy the races, Ascot, Windsor and Newbury are all within easy reach. Other areas of interest include, Henley, Oxford and London is only 20 minutes away by train.The hotel has leisure facilities which include a swimming pool and gym. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Madejski Reading
Reading Millennium Madejski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing