We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel in a Car Park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a Car Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel is part of the Madejski stadium, and in some ways it feels like it is part of stadium. Clean, tidy and well laid out, it's functional. Rooms are fine for the price, but my room looked out over the car park, but how important is the view. However the down side is that there is nowhere to walk to. You'd need to take a taxi to get into town

The bar is huge will take two rugby teams plus supporters, with TV's in each corner. Breakfast buffet is good, but they have a couple of specials which are worth looking at.

Rooms are expensive, but I found a better price on one of the hotel booking sites. Probably very busy when there is a match on at the stadium.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetUKJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    327
    120
    34
    7
See reviews for
118
181
32
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed with friends on a night out in Reading.
The hotel is very spacious and clean, the rooms are very comfortable.
Plenty of parking available, and only a short cab ride into town.
The bar area is very comfortable and reasonably priced.
Breakfast was included, and there was a large variety of hot cold options.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HG2000_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This Hotel is a fantastic location if you are going to Reading FC to see a game. We came down on 8.2.14 which coincided with my wife's birthday. Our room was on the 5th floor. It was very clean, comfortable and warm. I was most impressed how the Hotel dealt with the volume of people around the vicinity of the Hotel at the time of the game. Inside the Hotel it was peaceful and calm.
After the game we went out with friends for a meal. When we returned we had a drink in the bar. We noted a party in the function room but this was of no worry as it is set away from the bedrooms. At 1:30 in the morning I awoke to hear noise outside the Hotel entrance. It was loud enough on the 5th floor so I presume people in rooms below heard it too. People outside were laughing, screaming, chanting and obviously having a good time. I initially thought it was those leaving the party, however it continued on and off through to 4:00am. By this time I had given up on a good nights sleep.
I called at Reception the next morning to discover they had had problems with guests from the party who were served at the Bar until 3:00am. They kept going outside ( to smoke ) despite being encouraged to stay inside. The Hotel apologised for the disruption. They told me the people were particularly difficult despite being guests. So....why were they served alcohol until 3:00am, why were they allowed to make so much noise and what was the problem in dealing with these louts after dealing with a football crowd earlier that day? Reading fans were in the Hotel, Sheffield Wednesday fans were here too. We got along famously without disturbing anyone. I was disappointed the problem was allowed to continue. We will stay here again but next time we will ask for a room away from the Hotel entrance/ idiots smoking area of choice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MegansMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Birthday surprise weekend! Hubby booked club room and 7 course tater menu :-)
Check in gent said club lounge wasn't available at weekends :-(

Got to room, was nice & cosy, with a big window and comfy bed, bathroom had someone's leftover make up cotton wool under the loo :-(

Read the room info and club letter and it said that club lounge was available, so decided to explore, key wouldn't open the lounge, popped to reception to check and it appears that it wasn't coded correctly! 2nd try it let us in.

Went back before dinner for our glass of wine.. Lovely!

Continental breakfast next morning croissant, pain au chocolat, ryvita, cereal, yogurt, fruit & juice. Was nice.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaMcKrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

A soulless hotel with no atmosphere! In the room there was an alarm that kept going off as it was sensitive to aerosols - you were meant to use them in the bathroom! It was high pitched and deafening - unpleasant! Noisy and poor value for money!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank maklakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We recently had the good fortune to stay at the Millennium Madejski Hotel. Check in was quick & easy with the receptionist going through the requirements we asked for. The hotel room (Club Room) was large, with plenty of natural light and spotless. There was plenty of choice for the evening meal and there was an all you can eat breakfast the following morning. The bar area is large and comfortable. The staff were polite and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed on a few occasions, attached to Reading Football Club. Not close to the town center shopping, but close to the M4.

Food good, modern clean and efficient hotel. A little expensive, but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intcopiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
2.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#7 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Property: Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Address: Madejski Stadium | Junction 11, M4, Reading RG2 0FL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Business Hotel in Reading
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the M4 motorway at junction 11, the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading is ideally located for those who want to visit the wonderful countryside within Royal Berkshire. The hotel also forms part of the impressive Madejski Stadium Complex, incorporating the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre, and home to both Reading Football Club and London Irish RFC. Nearby we have Legoland, Windsor Castle and for those who enjoy the races, Ascot, Windsor and Newbury are all within easy reach. Other areas of interest include, Henley, Oxford and London is only 20 minutes away by train.The hotel has leisure facilities which include a swimming pool and gym. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Madejski Reading
Reading Millennium Madejski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing