We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late lunch”
Review of Bill's Restaurant

Bill's Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 622 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A very pretty location, Bill's Reading restaurant occupies St Mary's Church House. This elegant Georgian building makes a fabulous restaurant and has become a very popular destination, from breakfast time, all the way through to dinner.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Late lunch”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Popped in here for a late lunch with my teenage son whilst clothes shopping. We loved the ambience and the decor. We were seated quickly and whilst they were busy our food came promptly. We really enjoyed a delicious burger with lots of trimmings and a fabulous vegetarian alternative with humus and haloumi, the deserts were super also, we were just sorry that the lemon meringue cheesecake was not in the menu. I've eaten here before with work colleagues and the food is always interesting, delicious and good value. My son says he will return with his friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    354
    163
    60
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
93 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bill's Brilliant Breakfast”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Yet again a top breakfast from Bill's. The brand new waiter was good with a little coaching but the food was top notch as always, Coffee is always super tasty and served at a sensible temperature too. No complaints and the atmosphere was as good as ever. Highly recommended yet again!

Downside? Prices seem to have crept up a little (extras on the cooked breakfast really arent worth it.(£1.50 for a single thin slice of black pudding or a little deep fried potato cake'? really?)but quality vs value is good when compared with others in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retrophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pre-Wedding light bite...”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Took my parents and my brother and his girlfriend here for a light bite the night before our wedding. All were impressed with the quality of the food and loved the ambience too. Dad loved the home made look and taste of the burger, Mum loved the steak and the brother and his girlfriend really enjoyed the bacon and spinach salad.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“works do”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Its been a while since we visited. Bills. A simple place serving really good fresh tastingfood one of the nicest butgersi have had . Also. Great cocktails will definatley return. Good town centre location

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank furrypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hot and tasty”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Contrary to some experiences ours was pretty much exemplary. Busy Sunday lunch but got seated quickly, served with drinks immediately, order taken precisely when we were ready and both courses arrived with perfect timing. The crab cakes were delicious, not overfried and the mango salsa fresh and firm. Chicken liver nice and rich, with enough toast and chutney. The Chicken Caesar not served the conventional way but much the better for it, char-grilled, moist and tasty. Grilled Sea Bream piping hot, moist and firm. 10% service charge is added, though optional - I prefer to reward good service directly but that's just me.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bill's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bill's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing