We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views of the dustbins” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich
2 reviews
“Views of the dustbins”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

This was a visit to our son studying at Reading University. The hotel was not located in the best part of town and the early morning dustbin emptying was not a good experience. The price of the room for one night was scandalous - I recall it was around £89. The room was very small although the designers had managed to squeeze a shower and WC into a very small space which worked pretty well. However, the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good. Our advice would be to look for an independent hotel close to Reading. We would not stay at this hotel again due to the cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the dustbins and the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback will help us to provide the best possible service. I'm very sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    158
    29
    6
    9
See reviews for
140
186
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Very clean and modern with really welcoming staff.
Rooms are very very basic but more than enough for a comfortable stay! Clean and equipt with a kettle etc and a fan.
Location is great, over looks the river behind which is lovely for a walk to feed the ducks. Shops just down the road over the bridge.
Didnt eat here so cant comment.
Would definitely return, excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fig1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the brilliant review you gave our hotel. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Excellent breakfast. Quality produce and cooked to order. Staff constantly there to help and meet your needs. Tobey Carvery a stones throw away so had sunday roast dinner there and childrens carvery also served. Stayed with wife, 3 week old son and daughters aged 3 and 5. Stress free stay - would recommend. Best premier inn breakfast we've sampled.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MayDayYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the glowing review you gave our hotel, we appreciate your oppinion and the positive feedback. We're also very pleased to hear our breakfast was one of the best you've sampled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed here with wife and two grandchildren and found it to be excellent, prompt efficient reception, helpful staff, well maintained quiet room and excellent breakfast both in quality and price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving us such positive feedback in your review of our hotel, we're very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I cannot quite understand the number of 5 star reviews for this hotel. It is not terrible; it is not exceptional, it just does exactly what it says on the tin!

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff were efficient and friendly (in that slightly robotic way that chain-hotels train their staff). However there is one major problem: not only does the hotel have no aircon (not, in itself, a problem) but the windows only open an inch. So the hotel combines no aircon, with virtually-closed windows. In hot weather, this leads to humid, stuffy, airless rooms. Of course the hotel's excuse is 'Health & Safety', to which my answer is FIX IT. Put some bars on the windows......or something, so I can open the windows!

Room Tip: Don't stay on a hot night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghYorkieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we value your oppinion. I'm very sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here for easy access to a local family wedding. It was easy to get to from the station, rooms were basic but clean - as you'd expect from the price. Breakfast was extra which I hadn't realised. We stayed in a room on the first floor directly above reception. There was a loud 'beat/bass' thumping sound in the room which at first we assumed was coming from a nightclub near by, but shutting the window didn't help - we then thought it must be an inconsiderate guest playing music too loud. There was no phone in the room to contact reception and my partner and myself were exhausted - we tried our best to ignore it, and eventually slept, only to be woken very early with the same noise. The following night we had the same problem and I couldn't stand it any longer - at 1.30am I got up and dressed and asked reception if they could track down the room that was playing loud music. It turns out this is a common problem and is actually caused by the hotel's own music being played in reception. I was staggered! They turned it off and the problem stopped. Bliss! Relief! However the problem started again with breakfast service at 7am (on a Sunday morning!) We were refunded the money from Saturday night (but not Friday because we didn't complain). Glad to have the money back but would much rather have had a decent night's sleep - I will avoid Premier Inns at all costs from now on!

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor, as the rooms above the lift are affected by the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tumbleweeds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Premier Inn Caversham Bridge. I'd also like to apologise the experience you had with us. Under the Good Night Guarantee we offer, if we're notified of a problem that we can not resolve then we will offer a refund. I hope you will consider staying with Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The strap line "Premier Hotel not premier prices" doesn't quite ring true any more. The hotel is tired and looking a bit shabby - for 30 pounds more I could have stayed next door at the Crowne Plazza which has a spa and somewhere to park.......BEWARE if you arrive at around five o'clock onwards - don't expect to be able to park on the carpark shared with the Toby Inn and there isn't anywhere else to park.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your oppinion is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#7 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
Address: Richfield Avenue, Reading, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Reading
#2 Family Hotel in Reading
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#5 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in peaceful Caversham, close to the banks of the River Thames and the marina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing