We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Excellent, Hotel Expensive”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Reading
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A usual premier inn experience. Staff very good, hotel average -
BUT, I am noticing Premier inn prices are rising to the extent where it's worthwhile looking for a good centrally located hotel.
Maybe the average Premier inn user is paying for the £29 bargain rooms ?????

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we hope you enjoyed your stay. To take advantage of our cheapest rates please visit our website www.premierinn.com and book in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our first time at a Premier Inn, so I was a bit sceptical, but the room was surprisingly large and well equipped.

It was all there: a good quality bed, clean linen, strong shower, spotlessly clean room, large car park and friendly staff; everything you want in a hotel. I imagine the 24 hour reception is very handy for business travel, and if they'd clean the windows more often, there'd be a lovely view of the meadow and river Thames.

However, at £85 a night plus £16.50 for two (optional) breakfast buffets, it's not cheap. In general, I find it better value to book small family run B&Bs and hotels when possible. After all, if you check Tripadvisor, there's no longer the risk of accidently picking a doss house.

It's the nicest chain hotel I've stayed in, but to me, their full-price rate doesn't offer value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mojosbigstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you are happy with the service you received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed at the Premier Inn, Caversham Bridge becuase I wanted a central location to Reading in order for me to easily access the rail services. The Premier Inn was a 10 minute walk to Reading train station, felt very safe & well lit roads. The Premier Inn felt both warm & inviting upon arrival & the staff were welcoming.

Unfortunately, the Toby Carvery on the premises were very rude & unpleasant looking down at young adults. However, this didnt over shadow the overall experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for giving us some feedback in your detailed review of our hotel. We value your oppinion and we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Went to a wedding in Henley-on-Thames. Stayed here as we'd left it too late to book something closer. Arrived and staff were welcoming. Nice clean room. Toby Carvery on premises, didn't use but other guests says it was OK and obviously very convenient.
Clean, comfortable for one night head down.

Room Tip: Dont get put at end of hotel next to the back of the Toby Carvery, as noisy in the morning when bins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2dallies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here twice in May. It is a nice hotel close to the River Thames in Caversham. Very pleasant walks along the river are available. Next door is a Toby carvary. OK for one or two nights but then is boring. Real ale was not very good either. There are other places to eat nearby. The hotel cold breakfast is very good and if you want a hot breakfast you can pay extra for it at the hotel or pop next door to the Toby. The hotel is 10-15 mins walk to reading downtown or the station from where you can catch a high speed train to London. It takes 20-25 mins. Very convenient for a day in Londodn. Also about 45 mins drive to Oxford. And lots of other places too. The rooms are comfortable and OK for the price. We only had one room in Room 211 with a very smelly bathroom due to water leaking under the shower and stagnating I suspect. Fortunately my wife had some old prefume with her that she used to negate the odour.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be OK. Maybe higher is better though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Nice-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review of our hotel. I feel others will find your review very helpful as it is so informative. We value your oppinion and we are please you had a pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Upon arrival reception very friendly and helpful, room spotless. Arrived back at hotel from a party at 1.30am and unfortunately we were woken up at 7.15am by a refuse vehicle playing drums on some large skips! Spoke to brilliant receptionist who couldnt do enough, and we were subsequently refunded the room cost under the "Good Nights Sleep" promise. Refund processed within a few days and matched the excellent service received both at reception and breakfast. The two staff serving us at breakfast were absolutely fabulous despite the Hotel being full to capacity due to delays at Heathrow. Highly recommend staying mainly for the service.

Room Tip: Refuse vehicle problem being addressed but avoiding room 329 or any at very end of hotel by the pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAV8RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with such positive feedback. We are very pleased you were happy with the service you received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Myself and my sister stayed here one night this week arriving following our day at Nirvana Spa (short drive). Staff were very friendly and professional, the rooms were spotless and the breakfast was excellent. Staff very attentive at all times. Will be booking this particular Premier Inn again for next visit to spa. The staff deserve a pat on the back - I do not normally leave feedback, but felt they deserved a mention. The added advantage is that Toby Carvery is just across the car park and we enjoyed a fabulous roast dinner and bottle of wine for under £25.00 in the evening.

Room Tip: We were on the front overlooking the car park,but could not hear any noise from the pub or the car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magicdogwalk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really do appreciate the feedback and we value your oppinion. We're also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your and you would stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,957 reviews
1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 31 in Reading
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel

Address: Richfield Avenue, Reading, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Reading
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#2 Family Hotel in Reading
#5 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £49 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in peaceful Caversham, close to the banks of the River Thames and the marina ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing