We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean, Friendly and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean, Friendly and good value”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was our second visit here, and I have to admit to having formed a bit of an attachment to the hotel.
Superbly located on the banks of the river Thames in Caversham, it is a short walk from Caversham town centre which now has a good number of small quality restaurants, very close to Reading town centre for shopping and of course within easy striking distance of rural Berkshire and Oxfordshire with immediately accesible walks up and down the river Thames.

We went for a nice early run down the river on the Saturday morning to Sonning and back, a distance of about 7 miles with lovely views of the surrounding area.

The hotel was as previously spotlessly clean, and although a budget hotel there is definitely an excellent team spirit operating within. All of the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and seemed genuinely keen to make our stay more pleasant.

Obviously the facilities are not in the same league as more expensive and larger rivals, but don't let that put you off, booked in advance the cost was less than £60 including breakfast.

The breakfast was extremely good value, with a full English cooked as you want it with the quantity of food you desire - so if you want 6 hash browns and 6 rashers of bacon you just have to ask!!! There was also the option of porridge, which although a little runny was turned into a very nice meal with the addition of fruit and hunny fro the breakfast buffet bar.

My only complaint was the coffee which in theory is freshly ground and made from a "Costa" machine in the corner, my thoughts on that are any half-competent Costa Barista would not put his name to it - I like my coffee strong and flavourful and it was neither.

So, would we go back? Absolutely

Room Tip: River facing rooms are nicer, also there is a variety in room size - best to ask if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JokerUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback in you detailed review of our hotel. I think others will find your review very helpful. We are also pleased to hear you would stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    165
    31
    6
    9
See reviews for
145
194
23
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights as I was working in Reading. Room a little bit small as I have stayed in bigger rooms across the country with Premier. Staff were helpful and friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them. breakfast was good all food fresh and excellent service.
There was a slight mix up with ken of my booking but was sorted very quickly and efficiently. Good location close to centre and train station. I would defiantly stay here again

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We value your oppinion and we are thrilled you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A very clean and well organised hotel, I arrived early but was allowed to check in to my room.
The car park is free for guests but is shared with a nearby restaurant so can get busy.
The room had a shower but no bath, I was told this was because the hotel was originally built as a Holiday Inn Express and the specification for this was showers only.
The bed was a large double and was very comfortable, extra pillows were available in the room.
I had a continental buffet breakfast in the hotel’s own restaurant which was very good, there is an adjacent Toby Carvery, but I would recommend staying at the hotel for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear, this overlooks a field with a view towards the distant river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam-Chance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and would stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Spent Sunday night here. A very friendly young man greeted us at reception. Explained all of the Premier Inn's policies. Our room was on the third floor with a beautiful view of the Thames. Would love to visit in the summer. Room very clean and well decorated, a lovely comfortable bed and very efficient shower. If I had to be very picky then would say water not very nice for drinking ! There was a letter in room explaining water was being turned off at 10.30 so I will presume that the problem was being addressed. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugsybigteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the positive feedback you gave in your review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A good nights stay and staff were excellent - really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was cooked fresh on site and was the best we have had in a Premier Inn - all enjoyed it. The beds were not as comfortable as they usually are at Premier Inn but I was told that new mattresses were arriving within next two weeks. Location was a cheaper option for visiting Windsor and LEGOLAND.
A shame the Toby stopped serving food at 9pm on a Friday night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ccthw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the feedback you gave in the review of our hotel. We appreciate your oppinion and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Nice clean and pleasant staff. We had our wedding guests all booked in here and they managed to keep everyone happy and near each other. Helped make our day and tired guests visit that bit more special. Thankyou

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harcoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our aim is to make all our guests feel brilliant. We are very pleased that your stay here was special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and myself have stopped at this hotel before and also as frqent Premiere Inn user we were happy to stay tere again, it once again lived up the usual high Premiere Inn standard.
Just a pity that the bathroom did not have socket for an electic shaver.
I would certainly stop there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Caversham, Reception Team at Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We value your oppinion and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,792 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0.6 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
988 reviews
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
Address: Richfield Avenue, Reading, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Reading
#2 Family Hotel in Reading
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#5 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in peaceful Caversham, close to the banks of the River Thames and the marina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing