We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hope you like the heat..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Styles Reading Centre
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Reading
St albans
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I hope you like the heat..”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I turned up at 12pm and i was informed by the staff that my room would not be ready (That's was fine) but when I asked for a time that my room would be ready they didn't have a clue. They just informed me it depends how long it take the cleaners. No very helpful

When i did get in to my room it was hotter than hell. No AC just a window that backed on to a pigeon filled back yard. Even in the night the rooms were boiling, even with the windows open. The bed was fine, I kept being woken up my other guest going in and out there rooms. The doors don't keep out the noise at all.

Over all, Its a hotel that's just looks tired and the staff just need to care a little bit more about there guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at ibis Styles Reading Centre, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading. Please feel free to contact me personally should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    63
    95
    61
    50
See reviews for
16
46
40
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west mids
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Although the location is perfect for the city centre the staff are rude and the rooms and below average. Our 1st room had 2 broken windows one which wouldn't shut let alone lock! The other had obviously been smashed! When we spoke to the reception staff we were greeted with a rude and hostile attitude. We were told tough we couldn't move someone would be out to look at the windows but it would take ages. We said we would wait! Miraculously we were given another room which was completey different to the previous room. For starters we had towels and windows that shut! The noise outside the rooms is terrible, fighting and shouting both nights we stayed there! The hotel itself is not very clean and you are not made to feel welcome!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x-lil_lis-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at ibis Styles Reading Centre, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading.I treat all comments with the utmost seriousness and will look into the comments made.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel would be okay if it underwent some refurbishment. At the moment it is very shabby and smelly. The room is a fair size but somehow unpleasant because it feels very old and dark. I didn't feel like staying there for long, to be honest. The staff are doing their best to improve the experience, bless them. They are very courteous and helpful. Especially the porter is the sweetest porter I have ever seen! Also the breakfast is very nice, with a good variety and taste. I wish the hotel would invest in refurbishment!! It does need it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at ibis Styles Reading Centre, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to The Quality Hotel in Reading. I am pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and welcoming and will pass on your comments.
I have noted your comments which i will be personally looking into.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Worst hotel experience of my life. The rooms were stuffy and dated, staircase was creaky and noisey. Wifi was appallingly bad, charged 4 pounds a day and timed out about every 10 minutes and you have to log back in again. No air con in the rooms. Curtains weren't big enough for the windows so had light beaming in every night for the entire stay. TV not working for the final night. Breakfast service was a shambles. Completely overpriced. Appallingly bad. Do not stay here!

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank May0ro0se999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at ibis Styles Reading Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at The Quality Hotel Reading.
I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and will investigate your comments.
Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards
Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel stinks of curry. The rooms are clean but tired and dated. The receptionist could not have been more rude when we had an issue with room service payment. The location is good and central but I would rather stay somewhere pleasant and pay for the taxi!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at ibis Styles Reading Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not find the service at The Quality Hotel Reading up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on our staff training, so this is something i will be looking into personally.
Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss further

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Smells of curry everywhere, prob due to curry house being part of hotel. Dark, dated corridors, no life, dated dark rooms, no aircon, claustrophobic feeling. Really nowhere near holiday inn standards. Felt like I was in a sweaty dated Parisienne budget hotel....could not wait to leave. No water in room, cheap tea condiments, basic of basic.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MikesRealReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at ibis Styles Reading Centre, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading. I will look into the comments you have made.
Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

hot smelly stalethe worst hotel ive ever stayed in rooms was stuffy and dark long corridors no lift as the restaurant was an indian the smell of last nights curry at breakfast was awful even our bathroom stank of spices really cant say anything good except for its central location but so is the railway station and i wouldnt want to sleep there either really glad to check out

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeryljohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at ibis Styles Reading Centre, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading.

Please contact me should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure George Hotel Reading
0.1 mi away
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Reading Centre

Property: ibis Styles Reading Centre
Address: 4-8 Duke Street, Reading RG1 4RY, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Reading)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Reading Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the quaint riverside district of Reading and right in the centre close to the Oracle Shopping centre and Rail Station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Styles Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal County Reading
Hotel Royal County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing