We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New orders have turned this place around”
Review of Abbey House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbey House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Based on the rate we paid as well as the old hit&miss reviews, we were not expecting much but we were very pleasantly surprised.
The staff were very welcoming, the rooms clean and neat and the breakfast was unexpectedly high quality.

Would be happy to go back again and I would advise those considering a stay here to ignore the old negative reviews and consider the more recent ones.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiresAndKnives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed at hotel for a week, whilst working in reading. The hotel was adequate for its purpose, no frills and basic room. But it was value for money as it was inexpensive to stay there for the week. The only negative was there were no meals provided in the evening, although the owner was happy for me to use the microwave fridge etc to cook my own meals.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aljones78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Our first choices were all booked up (due to Olympics?) We had no choice but to go here as our next option had double booked, they said. We found out that the owners are friends! One person said it was in the Red Light District although we didn't see evidence of this. No lift to the top floor. The room looked as though it was out of the 1950's; the bathroom was of caravan style/fixtures, no room in the bathroom to "swing a cat" although the shower was pretty powerful. No hairdrier. The double bed was more like a single! VERY flat pillow, had to ask for more which were delivered very quickly after our request. Carpets looked like they had seen better days and didn't look particularly clean. The cooked breakfast was freshly cooked to order but was cold before you'd got halfway through; the table cloths were dirty with tea stains. We walked in to the 'breakfast room' and the staff walked out...later back with a scrap of paper to take our order. Giving it one star is too good in my opinion. We will not be going back even if it was the last place on earth. No photo as did not warrant!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Myself and a business colleague stayed here during the week of the 9th July for 4 nights, an unfortunate choice forced upon us due to a shortage of accomodation
Despite the glossy photographs depicted, the place is less than adequate. It has seen a change of ownership which has certainly had a detrimental impact.
The rooms are not of a particularly high standard - probably adequate at best - we paid £85 / night, they are not particularly clean and the ensuite was riddled with mould and rusty and poorly-fitted bathroom fittings.
There is NO bar or Restaurant Dining facilities as advertised other than a pseudo-breakfast bar for the morning offerings. Breakfast was poorly administered by staff who were more suitably attired for serving a car - why could they not wear some suitable clothing / a white waiter jacket - tired jeans and a scruffy polo-neck jumper is not appropriate for serving food.
The car parking facilities are barely adequate given that it resembles a builders yard, and, there is NO roadside parking unless you have a permit you will get a parking ticket very quickly as we witnessed.
So if you like a hotel in the red-light district of Reading with poor service, barely adequate accomodation and parking, no bar or restaurant and like to get propositioned, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Don't choose one!
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank William601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The service and friendliness of the staff really made the stay feel hospitable and professional. The rooms were were large, clean and came with all the facilities expected. Breakfast was served with a wide variety of choice and to good standard. All in all I would really recommend this hotel, ignore the terrible ratings they are not representative of the excellent hospitality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wokod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed here on business in Feb 2012 mainly due to the location. On arrival, the hotel is not the most attractive and is in one of Readings less upmarket areas.

Reception was quick and efficient and I was shown to my room. The public areas in this hotel are tatty and I did start to think I had made a bad mistake but the room was really nice, newly decorated with a comfortable bed, flat screen TV and a good shower. The restaurant was closed for refurbishment so I had to go out to eat so I can't vouch for the dinner menu but breakfast was really good,hot and plentiful with friendly staff.

Overall, not bad but probably not worth what I paid for it so I would not return and I probably would not recommend it as I am sure there are better in the area for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

There is far too less space for a group of people to be sitting in the Lounge and the TV is far too small and does not have much channels on! Also i also realized there was the same staff managing everything in the hotel such as, Reception desk, room service help, kitchen, serving food, I found this service very slow and irratating.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank Smithy212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.5 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
972 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,063 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 31 in Reading
318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House Hotel

Address: 118 Connaught Road, Reading RG30 2UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range: £49 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey House Hotel is ideally located in Reading City, Situated just a short cab ride away from Reading Train stationn and only 15 mins walk from the city center. Reading West Train station is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Our hotel is situated within easy Access to Rail and Road Networks,Hotel also provides Free Wifi access throughout the building and free onsite car parking facilities(first come first serve basis).The licensed restaurant and bar, is open for breakfast and dinner offering evening meals (dinner service is temporarily suspended). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing