We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Comfortable”
Review of Abbey House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The new owners of Abbey House Hotel are developing a first-class, family friendly hotel that is equally suitable for business overnights or long term stays for anyone relocating to the Reading area. It is very handy to have parking but its location in a quiet street off the Oxford Road means its only a 15-20 minute walk to the town centre and main station. Reading West station is only a 5 minute walk to connect to the main station. Thames Valley Park, although the other side of Reading, was only a 15 minute drive. The rooms are newly decorated, spacious, very comfortable. A well presented cooked breakfast of your choice is available. Arshad has years of experience managing branded hotel properties, and he and his wife are certain to make a success of this 20 bedroomed property whilst maintaining a home from home feel.

Room Tip: The web site shows many of the rooms, each individually decorated. Always worth asking for a particu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

The hotel is clean, welcoming and professionally run. The new owners go out of the way to ensure that guests are comfortable and enjoy a positive stay. Rooms are extremely pleasant and well equipped and the breakfast offers choice, quality and quantity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontyVaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Abbey House Hotel was our last overnight stop on the British island after a trip by train and bus in the UK ( 1 week of holiday in Wales ) in August 2013. From there we headed by train to London. And there we took a bus back home to Germany.
So we had chosen the place because it's so comfortably located, in easy walking distance to both train stations, especially Reading West, even not too far away from Reading Central. And from there we easily got to London-Paddington.
Nevertheless, the hotel is situated in an obviously very calm neighbourhood: we had a very good night's sleep there, in a very clean, practical and beautiful room.

The persons working at the hotel were really very friendly and so helpful, also in indicating us the shortest ways to the station, to a nice path to walk along the River Thames and to the town center of Reading.

We'll keep a very positive memory of this appreciable stay, especially of the friendly owner who was ready to give us so helpful advice and interesting information about the city and such.

Room Tip: We've got to know no. 16 only, because we just stayed for one night.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannelore R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We are from Holland and we were travelling bij train througt the UK. It is a very nice place to be. It is in a peaceful area and the service was very good.
We had a lovely room and everything was clean. Breakfast was included , in our stay, and is was good. Nothing was too much to help us.
It is very easy to get to the hotel by train. There is a station nearby the hotel. Also is a busstation nearby to get to the centre of Reading.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our first night in England. We chose the hotel from the picture - wanted an English looking house - and it worked out great. Very friendly service. Free Wireless. Everything ok at a very reasonable price.
. . .
. . !!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Christoph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Abbey Hotel recently and it was a very pleasant experience. My room was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean and more than adequate for my needs. The proprietors were extremely nice and welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble for them...It is quite near to the town center so that is a plus but also had local shops near by. A lovely warm and friendly place to stay... highly recommended..

Room Tip: I am sure that if you rang them first they would be only too pleased to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The service at the hotel was excellent with a very personal touch. Breasfast is also provided. The price is equally very reasonable for a hotel in the heart of Reading.the room was very well decorated in a morden style, however the kitchen and dinner area was notef to have old chairs and table but very classic and beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.5 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
981 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 31 in Reading
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
1 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House Hotel

Address: 118 Connaught Road, Reading RG30 2UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £48 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey House Hotel is ideally located in Reading City, Situated just a short cab ride away from Reading Train stationn and only 15 mins walk from the city center. Reading West Train station is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Our hotel is situated within easy Access to Rail and Road Networks,Hotel also provides Free Wifi access throughout the building and free onsite car parking facilities(first come first serve basis).The licensed restaurant and bar, is open for breakfast and dinner offering evening meals (dinner service is temporarily suspended). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing