We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and noisy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Abbey House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty and noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over the Reading Festival weekend.

Firstly, they had doubled their prices to £80 a room; fair enough, except the rooms were still very low quality.

A note on the hygiene of the hotel – very, very bad! There were duvets on the beds; and as far as I could make out – due to the heavy staining – theses were not changed as customers changed. Revolting.

The bathrooms were covered in stray hairs.

In the first room we stayed in we were kept up all night by pipes clanking. We complained and on our third night were moved to a different room. In this room the boiler made horrendous noises all night. When I complained yet again, the manager shrugged.

Avoid this place unless you are absolutely desperate.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNWBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    26
    20
    0
    12
See reviews for
22
24
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

If money is not your concern I guess you can find something better, but for that price you cannot have more anywhere in UK. It is not a place to impress anybody at all. It is just one guy doing everything, so, sometimes you have to be patient. I've got rooms 8 and 9 and were very comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

Was left waiting at a locked entrance for 10mins when I arrived. Was asked to pay upfront (overpriced)

The room was damp, dusty, the door would not stay locked and bath had cigarette burns on it.

As a single woman I did not feel safe staying there so left........

Stay at this Hotel at your peril...

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing!
  • Disliked — condition of the room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2008

This was not a pleasent experience, Faulty towers was run better

The location was in the middle of a housing estate and hotel is a glorified B&B

When room upstairs ran water it flowed down pipe with surgess of water and dripping sounds for more than 1 hour

The rooms were not the best and dinner was not what you would call a meal - same person in receiption, kitchen , bar,

My sink and bath has cigarete burns on it and lights kept flickering off and on, Breakfast was created in a microwave oven (Suspect meal was as well)

There was a lot more problems but I think I have said enough

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank magumba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2007

I was concerned after seeing some of the reviews that this might not be a good place to stay. However, I was a woman staying on my own for business and the staff were very helpful, yet discrete. The room was basic but clean and the breakfast was fine. Overall a good base for much lower price than some heavily overpriced hotels in Reading.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank loobylooLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2007

Everything works here, highly recommended to those who are looking for wifi, comfortable accommodation, and the best Indian food in UK. Plenty of parking, very high tec.

  • Liked — lay out of rooms, and wifi
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jim65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2007

Friendly staff, nice english breakfast, and cheap price as well....will be back again in next month over the weekend

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Mikejohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 32 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House Hotel

Property: Abbey House Hotel
Address: 118 Connaught Road, Reading RG30 2UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey House Hotel is ideally located in Reading City, Situated just a short cab ride away from Reading Train stationn and only 15 mins walk from the city center. Reading West Train station is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Our hotel is situated within easy Access to Rail and Road Networks,Hotel also provides Free Wifi access throughout the building and free onsite car parking facilities(first come first serve basis).The licensed restaurant and bar, is open for breakfast and dinner offering evening meals (dinner service is temporarily suspended). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Abbey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing