We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good fun place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The first hotel I've ever stayed in where they provide microwaves AND fridges in the room and provide dinner plates and cutlery ha ha . The building itself look a smidge dated but the rooms very clean and spacious, and the staff were really helpful. Excellent off road secure parking, some excellent low price restaurants less than a 5 min walk and easy access to the city centre. A s my daughter lives in reading I'll definitely be staying in this quaint hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philbridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Me and my best mates went on a night out in reading for the bank holiday. We got a 3 bedroom room for great value here. We were delighted and when we turned up there was plenty of free parking, we were only 15 mins walk from reading town centre. The room was clean and tidy and there was even a microwave! very handy when your on a girls night out and want some quick meals whilst getting ready! There was plenty of plug sockets for chargers and hair straighteners and there was already a hair dryer that was good enough to use. The staff were all very friendly even when we came in early a.m and asked if they did room service the member of staff on the reception found it amusing and politely told us they didnt do any. You get what you pay for here its cheap and basic but there was nothing to complain about. Given the price for many hotels for one night and the standards you would expect for the prices this was not a let down, it was much better than we expected. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Fantastic I am glad you had such a good weekend at our hotel, dont forget if you book through our priority club using PCLUB you will get great savings for your next stay. Hope to see you again soon and thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Me and a mate decided to stay here as we were having a work function in Reading that night. We chose a twin room. It was cheap, clean with plenty of free parking and walking distance to the centre of Reading. Check in was quick with no hassle. They let us check in early for no extra charge. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayden P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thanks for your review and I am glad that you had a great stay, come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Hotel is not in a good area of Reading I thought. I tried to walk to the centre and after 15mins of walking past a poor area of town (too many hoodies for my liking hanging around) I reached a tesco metro where I bought my dinner, which i was allowed to microwave in the room. Being given the ability to do this made me feel like the hotel name was spelt wrong - should have been 'hostel'.

My view was a high brick wall 2 meters away with manky milk crates littered about. The bed sheets had some stains. The room and throughout the hotel needed a paint job. The clientele seemed to be workmen as they were all traipsing around in dirty boots and high vis suits.
Breakfast mediocre. Staff friendly enough and helpful.

Wouldn't recommend. Ill be going for Prem Inn in the centre next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveLawrence2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel.
We are just a 10-15 minute walk to the town but also there is a bus stop at the end of the road that runs every 5 minutes into the town centre and train station. It sounds as if you took a long route if you found Tesco express; if you had walked down Kendrick Road instead it would not have taken so long. My staff are always happy to help with directions, I am sorry we did not get the opportunity to give you directions during your stay. I hope you do try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We decided to book the Hillingdon as were moving to Reading so decided to stay here until we found somewhere to live. As we booked for a week we got a special rate and this was by far one of the best deals we found online.

For the price the room was very good, although a bit of a squeeze especially with all of our luggage. The en suite was pretty spacious though. The kitchenette was very basic but very useful for cooking basic meals. Although the kitchenette doesn't come with much in the way of kitchen equipment, when we contacted the staff for things we needed they were very helpful in finding them for us!

Staff were very helpful on check in, helping us out with our luggage! They were also happy to extend check out for us to give us time to go and sign our lease as well as help with some of our other requests.

The only problem we had was the wi-fi could sometimes be a bit temperamental. Also the decor is a bit dated which might bother some people, but we didn't care!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirsten87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Hi, Thank you for writing us such a nice honest review it is much appreciated.
Our studio rooms are very popular for guests wish to stay longer than just a few nights, being able to cook is always an advantage. Also our studio rates are very low, it would be very hard to beat these prices in Reading.
Glad you had such a good stay and I hope you are happy in your new home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed overnight after a shattering day at work in the Reading area, because I was working there the next day as well. The evening shift, Rena I think her name was and a lovely young African man could not have been more welcoming and friendly. He even carried my bag to my room for me which was much appreciated. They also provided a 'microwave' meal, not the regular tasteless type of meal either, it was a delicious chilli and plenty of it -- as it was 9:30pm at night.

It was nice to be able to have a drink in the bar in the evening to wind down after my day at work and prices were reasonable. Room was quiet.

The room was large, with fridge/microwave to be able to self cater, tv, desk large very comfortable bed and another table alongside the fridge. The decor was somewhat dated, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large, shower was hot, but the showerguard did not stop water going all over the floor, which accounts for the bubbly floorcovering. Still it was clean.

For the price I paid, I felt this was great. The morning was not so great, a new man on reception who informed me that breakfast didn't start until 8am (Saturday), but since I started work at 8am, this was not good for me. He refused to give me a refund saying I had to get that from booking.com - I explained that I didn't give money to the website, the hotel takes the money and he still refused, but then did provide me with cereal, tea and two slices of bread to toast and a cold croissant.

He was the only negative thing really about my stay, so not too bad.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charmaine_chugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Previously stayed here about two years ago so had no hesitation rebooking. My stay was for work in the Reading area. Upon arrival late at night staff very friendly and my room clean and tidy. This was the case for every day of my stay. I had to extend my stay to 12 days and every effort was made to make this possible. My experience of staying here was pleasant and would have no hesitation of booking again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

THANK YOU for writing such a nice review about our hotel. People are always quick to write a negative review but tend not to take the time if they have had a good stay, so thank you once again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,886 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
1.0 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,413 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillingdon Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Address: 39 Christchurch Road, Reading RG2 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range: £44 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillingdon Prince Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us for clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our rooms offer microwaves and fridges and some with mini kitchens. Ideal for the cost conscious traveller as you are the able to cater for yourself. We can also arrange free delivery and discounts at our local restaurants. We offer FREE secure wifi, gym and 24 hour reception. We serve breakfast daily. Located just a short walk to the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading University, the Town Centre and a short drive to all the local Business Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hillingdon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing