We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
pentahotels Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Beech House Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Reading Centre(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$146
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Reading Centre(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveller rating
317
358
133
78
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
358
133
78
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfridge and microwavebudget roomplates and cutleryreading universitytown centrefree wifiplenty of parkingbit datedfull englishdouble roombreakfast was excellentcomfortable staycooked breakfastcomfy bedstayed here for one nighthobgym
Filter
Updating list...
876 - 881 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

the location is excellent and the ambiance ok. rate was very expensive for 1 night. room fell short of expectations. Carpet was dirty with hairs from previous guests. we spent the time picking up hairs and washing our hands. there were so much of them which made us uncomfortable and uneasy. the TV was broken and not functioning. As we were there only for 1 night, we deceided to cope. the microwave was noisy and wobbly and needs changing. the wall papers were peeling off the walls and the windows will benefit from modern double glazing style of windows.

Room Tip: none. first time stay.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chichi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review.
I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, it is such a shame to hear that you were unhappy after your stay rather than whilst you were here enabling us the oportunity to put things right.
We have just upgraded all our tv's as previously guests had a seperate tv and freeview box, I am sure that your tv was working but it confussed everyone having two seperate remote controls, this is why we have now changed all our tv's.
I do hope that you will try us again and hopefully we can put things right for next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Our daughter lives in Reading and so we have used the hotel many times because it's so close to Reading University (where she studied) as well as being very near the town centre. For location alone, I would highly recommend this hotel - but it is also very reasonably priced and serves a good full breakfast. We find the staff always most helpful and the premises are invariably clean - though, being an old building, the decor is inevitably a little dated; but its value-for-money is EXCELLENT!! We also find that in hot summer days it is extremely useful that there is a fridge AND a microwave in your room which, though customary in the USA and Canada, is relatively rare in the UK. We own Timeshares and have travelled extensively world-wide and used 4-star hotels but nevertheless we find this hotel a wonderfully convenient place to stay and the staff invariably provide a warm welcome and are extremely helpful. Finally, the free spacious parking facilities are a great bonus, so you can park safely and then walk the short way to Reading centre!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite (where we stay) is a spacious room with a lovely bathroom!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I've stayed in this hotel nearly ten times over the last few years and seen it go through a number of changes. The name itself changed a few years back also.

I always come down with a group of mates for the students union or a night out in town.

The location is perfect as it's close to the university and town but in a quiet and serene location on Christchurch Road.

Ample car parking space in the front and rear and its free.

All the rooms i've stayed in including the annex have been good. They are clean and tidy. I would recommend the annex however is it has a cottagey and more private appeal.

I highly recommend staying here and i would do so myself again without a shred of a doubt!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M7Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The first hotel I've ever stayed in where they provide microwaves AND fridges in the room and provide dinner plates and cutlery ha ha . The building itself look a smidge dated but the rooms very clean and spacious, and the staff were really helpful. Excellent off road secure parking, some excellent low price restaurants less than a 5 min walk and easy access to the city centre. A s my daughter lives in reading I'll definitely be staying in this quaint hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philbridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Me and my best mates went on a night out in reading for the bank holiday. We got a 3 bedroom room for great value here. We were delighted and when we turned up there was plenty of free parking, we were only 15 mins walk from reading town centre. The room was clean and tidy and there was even a microwave! very handy when your on a girls night out and want some quick meals whilst getting ready! There was plenty of plug sockets for chargers and hair straighteners and there was already a hair dryer that was good enough to use. The staff were all very friendly even when we came in early a.m and asked if they did room service the member of staff on the reception found it amusing and politely told us they didnt do any. You get what you pay for here its cheap and basic but there was nothing to complain about. Given the price for many hotels for one night and the standards you would expect for the prices this was not a let down, it was much better than we expected. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Fantastic I am glad you had such a good weekend at our hotel, dont forget if you book through our priority club using PCLUB you will get great savings for your next stay. Hope to see you again soon and thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews