We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Bexhill, England
1 review
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Clean rooms, good breakfast, friendly and helpful. For the price, this hotel is excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teapot45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for your kind comments they are really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    333
    123
    75
    107
See reviews for
139
217
89
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I chose this hotel because it was by far the cheapest option for a group of 5 for us for a Friday night stay near Reading town centre. I found it clean and comfortable which is everything I expected for the price, infact one of our rooms was enormous and actually had 4 single beds in it and if we'd have known this we wouldn't have needed a second. There was plently of free parking, only slight grumble is we still needed taxis to and from town, it is walking distance but not for a group of girls in high heels!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire_loves_shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review I am glad you had such a good stay, I hope you come again soon.
Just to update everyone, we have now put flatscreen tv's in all our hotel rooms with freeview.
Also Wifi is free in all rooms and public areas, we also have a computer available for guests to use that dont have their own laptop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

the location is excellent and the ambiance ok. rate was very expensive for 1 night. room fell short of expectations. Carpet was dirty with hairs from previous guests. we spent the time picking up hairs and washing our hands. there were so much of them which made us uncomfortable and uneasy. the TV was broken and not functioning. As we were there only for 1 night, we deceided to cope. the microwave was noisy and wobbly and needs changing. the wall papers were peeling off the walls and the windows will benefit from modern double glazing style of windows.

Room Tip: none. first time stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chichi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, it is such a shame to hear that you were unhappy after your stay rather than whilst you were here enabling us the oportunity to put things right.
We have just upgraded all our tv's as previously guests had a seperate tv and freeview box, I am sure that your tv was working but it confussed everyone having two seperate remote controls, this is why we have now changed all our tv's.
I do hope that you will try us again and hopefully we can put things right for next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Our daughter lives in Reading and so we have used the hotel many times because it's so close to Reading University (where she studied) as well as being very near the town centre. For location alone, I would highly recommend this hotel - but it is also very reasonably priced and serves a good full breakfast. We find the staff always most helpful and the premises are invariably clean - though, being an old building, the decor is inevitably a little dated; but its value-for-money is EXCELLENT!! We also find that in hot summer days it is extremely useful that there is a fridge AND a microwave in your room which, though customary in the USA and Canada, is relatively rare in the UK. We own Timeshares and have travelled extensively world-wide and used 4-star hotels but nevertheless we find this hotel a wonderfully convenient place to stay and the staff invariably provide a warm welcome and are extremely helpful. Finally, the free spacious parking facilities are a great bonus, so you can park safely and then walk the short way to Reading centre!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite (where we stay) is a spacious room with a lovely bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I've stayed in this hotel nearly ten times over the last few years and seen it go through a number of changes. The name itself changed a few years back also.

I always come down with a group of mates for the students union or a night out in town.

The location is perfect as it's close to the university and town but in a quiet and serene location on Christchurch Road.

Ample car parking space in the front and rear and its free.

All the rooms i've stayed in including the annex have been good. They are clean and tidy. I would recommend the annex however is it has a cottagey and more private appeal.

I highly recommend staying here and i would do so myself again without a shred of a doubt!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M7Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The first hotel I've ever stayed in where they provide microwaves AND fridges in the room and provide dinner plates and cutlery ha ha . The building itself look a smidge dated but the rooms very clean and spacious, and the staff were really helpful. Excellent off road secure parking, some excellent low price restaurants less than a 5 min walk and easy access to the city centre. A s my daughter lives in reading I'll definitely be staying in this quaint hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philbridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Me and my best mates went on a night out in reading for the bank holiday. We got a 3 bedroom room for great value here. We were delighted and when we turned up there was plenty of free parking, we were only 15 mins walk from reading town centre. The room was clean and tidy and there was even a microwave! very handy when your on a girls night out and want some quick meals whilst getting ready! There was plenty of plug sockets for chargers and hair straighteners and there was already a hair dryer that was good enough to use. The staff were all very friendly even when we came in early a.m and asked if they did room service the member of staff on the reception found it amusing and politely told us they didnt do any. You get what you pay for here its cheap and basic but there was nothing to complain about. Given the price for many hotels for one night and the standards you would expect for the prices this was not a let down, it was much better than we expected. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Fantastic I am glad you had such a good weekend at our hotel, dont forget if you book through our priority club using PCLUB you will get great savings for your next stay. Hope to see you again soon and thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,001 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,813 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,277 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
0.9 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillingdon Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Property: Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Address: 39 Christchurch Road, Reading RG2 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillingdon Prince Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us for clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our rooms offer microwaves and fridges and some with mini kitchens. Ideal for the cost conscious traveller as you are the able to cater for yourself. We can also arrange free delivery and discounts at our local restaurants. We offer FREE secure wifi, gym and 24 hour reception. We serve breakfast daily. Located just a short walk to the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading University, the Town Centre and a short drive to all the local Business Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillingdon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing