We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hillingd prince hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very good value for money, stayed here when visiting our son. Rooms were small but clean. there was tea and coffee provided in the room and our room also had a fridge. Full English breakfast included in price, which was freshly cooked to order. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the Hillingdon Prince and will come back next time. It had the qualities that I look for:
Large room (at least the one I got).
I particularly appreciated the possibility to eat in the room: fridge, microwave, boiling water, plate, knife, fork, plates, tea/coffee. They will even wash the dishes for you. Plenty of take away and shops just nearby.
The basin had a separate hot and cold tap... not practical but typically English!
The gym could have been called a sauna: it has large glass windows, so that it works as a greenhouse (>30 C). Unusable during summer, but possibly nice in wintertime.
Not completely in the city centre, but with the advantage that it is probably quieter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed for the football game @ Reading, local bus takes you near the ground (there's a special but couldn't work the times out). Anyway rooms were adequate, also had a fridge in ours. Plenty of car parking and a short walk to the centre of Reading which has several chain restaurants nicely located by the river. We found the staff very friendly and helpful (opened the bar early so we could enjoy a pre-match pint) and the breakfast was freshly prepared and nice. One grumble about breakfast was the tea and coffee was on a percolator and in flasks and was lukewarm at the time we breakfasted. That said it is a hotel we would come to again should the occasion arise.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Leedsfansontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

There is obviously a variety of standard of room at the hillingdon the room which I stayed was terrible, as a field engineer I have stayed in hundreds of hotels throughout the uk and this is the worst I have ever stayed in. The window, walls and curtains were covered in mould, the wardrobe was falling apart and was only held up by the support of the bed, the electrical fixings were exposed. The bathroom was terrible and the room smelt so bad I nearly went to sleep in the car. The room had a massive flat screen tv which was the only good thing about the room, the priorities are obviously all wrong. I contacted the hotel with photos and I was offered another stay, but decided against it. I would rather stay awake all night than revisit that room again.

Room Tip: If you are offered room 510 turn around and sleep in the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James_Wxm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed in August, 6 nights in the first week and another 5 nights at the end. All staff were friendly and helpful. Our rooms were all we needed; a couple of items needed attention - the phone, the light above the mirror in the bathroom, but these were attended to as soon as we mentioned them. The room was too hot to sleep and the fan too noisy, although great when relaxing in the evenings; we asked for and got a double bed sheet and abandoned the duvet, problem sorted. We heard the bells of the church but actually enjoyed hearing them. Having a fridge and microwave was a selling point for us, as having been out all day it was great to be able to have a late meal heated in our room. The Continental breakfast provided as much as one wanted to eat and endless coffee, and the cooked option also had a good selection. The cost of the room was very reasonable; we booked early as Priority Club Members - got a discount, a free drink and a gift. The location is great; just along the street, in Whitely Rd, one can catch a bus to the CBD or station for just one pound, saves what for us was a 20 min walk. We will recommend this hotel to others and will return should we get back to England again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Booked my husband in initially for two nights but plans changed and it turned out to be for just one night. On arrival there was a slight misunderstanding with the booking but this was quickly sorted and at no point did they try to blame anyone. Ensuring that even though all single rooms were allocated a solution would be found. The person on reception was very polite and kind and sorted the problem out very quickly, with no fuss and resulting in my husband being given a large two bedroom apartment for the night. This was clean, comfortable and as next to the hotel very quiet, he had a very good nights sleep.
Breakfast was very good as we have found on previous stays. Being replenished all the time and table cleared of all debris as soon as finished.
Ok the shower had a few problems with temperature control but for the price of the stay was not an issue.
We have used the Hillingdon Prince before and would not hesitate to use again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The rooms were basic but pleasant, and had everything I needed for my stay. It was good to have a lounge and the thing that made my stay more pleasant were the genuinely kind and helpful staff who always greeted us with a smile. They were very helpful as we didn't know the area.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazza196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.2 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,906 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillingdon Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Address: 39 Christchurch Road, Reading RG2 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range: £42 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillingdon Prince Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us for clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our rooms offer microwaves and fridges and some with mini kitchens. Ideal for the cost conscious traveller as you are the able to cater for yourself. We can also arrange free delivery and discounts at our local restaurants. We offer FREE secure wifi, gym and 24 hour reception. We serve breakfast daily. Located just a short walk to the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading University, the Town Centre and a short drive to all the local Business Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hillingdon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing